We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More guest house than hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 April 2013

From when you first approach the outside of this hostel you are immediately impressed. Situated in a large guest house this hostel doesn't feel like a hostel, more of a guest house.

We arrived early and our room wasn't ready however we were given some breakfast and a place to shower. The warmest welcome we experienced over our travels around the states was here.

Rooms were very clean and hostel was nice and quiet throughout the night.

Would recommend this hostel to anyone of all ages.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tree1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace D, Guest Relations Manager at HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! It was our pleasure to host you, and we would love to see you again if you are ever in Houston. Also, I personally enjoyed chatting with you both and hearing about your travels. Thank you again!
-Jessie
guest services supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

Myself and my fiancee stayed over on multiple nights between Jan 30th 2013 - Feb 6th 2013.

We had an incident with a disgusting room-mate on our first night but the staff were quick on offering us another room.

Facilities are great. Pool table/board games (Trivial Pursuit Pool..try it!) aswell as a pool outside for the sunnier days.

We stayed over three times over the week (trips to NO's and Dallas inbetween) we experienced 4 rooms, including the private room on our last night. (Superb btw)

Beds were always comfortable and clean.

Location is great. Very close to shops and bus routes into downtown etc.

Highly recommend for anyone looking for cheaper accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 2 and Room 5 were my favourite rooms. Private room 9 was superb too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dav3duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Hi Houston is a relatively new hostel located in an oldish home that has been converted. The accommodation is basic but comfortable. The hostel is well located not far frpm central Houston and very close to public ttansport.
The hostel is notable for the helpfulness and friendliness of the staffnwho seem to find nothing you ask too much trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

When I first saw the Hostel i was impressed of the nice Building. It is kind of a familiar atmosphere there but if you want to party a bunch of real good Bars are around the corner! The Beakfast is good and the even make warm dinner! The staffs are frendly and helpful and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeKidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

This was my first time at a hostel and it was a truely great stay. Fun atmosphere, super friendly people working there, and in a great location. I go to Houston a lot and will absolutely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKayeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Seriously, I was overwhelmed by this hostel. It offers a lot more luxury and comfort than I am used to, compared to other hostels.
A nice international atmosphere gives the hostel its own flair, making you want to stay there!
Including the usage of a nice pool and a chill out area around it.
The price includes breakfast with rolls, bread, honey, fruits, cereals, coffee, tea, milk, etc.!
Our room was fully air-conditioned and absolutely clean - nothing to complain at all.

Room Tip: One of the 4-bed bedrooms in the first floor has its own balcony (I don't remember the room numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace D, Manager at HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Hi Fabian! Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on our hostel! We are so pleased that you had a great time with us! So glad you had a chance to check out the swimming pool and pool table. We are working to make the hostel better everyday! Please come back and see us the next time you are staying in Houston! Take care!

Grace Marie
General Manager HI-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

My first stay at a hostel and this was overall a pleasant one. About 28$ per bed per night for a bunk bed in a male dorm. The place used to b a luxury hotel but has taken on some ware with all the hostel boarders (many international travelers) a cool place and cheap price that to some degree sacrifices privacy and comfort. Ideal for the solo traveler or those with a group (like 4 or more). Has a pool.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gynandtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#9 of 518 in Houston
539 reviews
Great Uptown
Aloft Houston by the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel

Address: 501 Lovett Blvd, Houston, TX 77006-4020 (Formerly Lovett Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Houston
Price Range: £22 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best hostel in Houston! HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel is the only hostel to offer 24 check-in, outdoor swimming pool and a full-sized pool table. We also offer free WIFI, computers with free internet access, onsite laundry, free parking, 24 hour access to all common areas and the fully equipped kitchen and an extra special complimentary breakfast every morning from 7:30-10:00am!! HI-Houston is located on a beautiful tree lined boulevard in the diverse and funky neighborhood of Montrose. We are surrounded by some of the most popular restaurants, bars and coffee shops in Houston! We are also conveniently located just 2 blocks away from a 24 hour Walgreens and a 24 hour grocery store. Coming to Houston for a conference at the George R. Brown Convention Center. We are 1 block away from #81 & #82 bus lines that will drop you off in front of the convention center. Want to come shopping at the Galleria or get a visa in the Post Oak area, we are located just one block away from the buses that will get you there! HI-Houston is also conveniently located just 1 mile away from the famous Menil Collection and Rothko Chapel and just 2 miles away from Houston's amazing Museum District and Hermann Park! Whether you are coming to Houston to work, play or just relax...HI-Houston is the place for you! Never stayed at a hostel before! Hostels mainly consist of dormitory style rooms, where you will have the opportunity to interact with guests from all over the world. Hostels are a great place to make new friends and save a little money while your traveling. Come and try us out!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing