We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. Not too far from the city centre, plus they give you directions (printed or verbal) to get the bus to pretty much anywhere in town. There is a supermarket two blocks away, and loads of places to eat nearby too. I stayed in an 8 bed female dorm. It had a bathroom attached, which was super convenient. The breakfast is good, the people are friendly and the hostel is clean and quiet. I would definitely recommend this hostel - the nicest I've ever been to!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanorhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    27
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
11
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

this place is amazing for a hostel, quiet nice area of the city, large building with well kep grounds, pool, 24 tv room, friendly staff and a billiards room. Only stayed one night but was a great night hope to be back soon

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

From when you first approach the outside of this hostel you are immediately impressed. Situated in a large guest house this hostel doesn't feel like a hostel, more of a guest house.

We arrived early and our room wasn't ready however we were given some breakfast and a place to shower. The warmest welcome we experienced over our travels around the states was here.

Rooms were very clean and hostel was nice and quiet throughout the night.

Would recommend this hostel to anyone of all ages.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tree1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace D, Guest Relations Manager at HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! It was our pleasure to host you, and we would love to see you again if you are ever in Houston. Also, I personally enjoyed chatting with you both and hearing about your travels. Thank you again!
-Jessie
guest services supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Myself and my fiancee stayed over on multiple nights between Jan 30th 2013 - Feb 6th 2013.

We had an incident with a disgusting room-mate on our first night but the staff were quick on offering us another room.

Facilities are great. Pool table/board games (Trivial Pursuit Pool..try it!) aswell as a pool outside for the sunnier days.

We stayed over three times over the week (trips to NO's and Dallas inbetween) we experienced 4 rooms, including the private room on our last night. (Superb btw)

Beds were always comfortable and clean.

Location is great. Very close to shops and bus routes into downtown etc.

Highly recommend for anyone looking for cheaper accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 2 and Room 5 were my favourite rooms. Private room 9 was superb too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav3duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Hi Houston is a relatively new hostel located in an oldish home that has been converted. The accommodation is basic but comfortable. The hostel is well located not far frpm central Houston and very close to public ttansport.
The hostel is notable for the helpfulness and friendliness of the staffnwho seem to find nothing you ask too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

When I first saw the Hostel i was impressed of the nice Building. It is kind of a familiar atmosphere there but if you want to party a bunch of real good Bars are around the corner! The Beakfast is good and the even make warm dinner! The staffs are frendly and helpful and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeKidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

This was my first time at a hostel and it was a truely great stay. Fun atmosphere, super friendly people working there, and in a great location. I go to Houston a lot and will absolutely be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKayeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Modern B&B
#67 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#37 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel

Property: HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel
Address: 501 Lovett Blvd, Houston, TX 77006-4020 (Formerly Lovett Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best hostel in Houston! HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel is the only hostel to offer 24 check-in, outdoor swimming pool and a full-sized pool table. We also offer free WIFI, computers with free internet access, onsite laundry, free parking, 24 hour access to all common areas and the fully equipped kitchen and an extra special complimentary breakfast every morning from 7:30-10:00am!! HI-Houston is located on a beautiful tree lined boulevard in the diverse and funky neighborhood of Montrose. We are surrounded by some of the most popular restaurants, bars and coffee shops in Houston! We are also conveniently located just 2 blocks away from a 24 hour Walgreens and a 24 hour grocery store. Coming to Houston for a conference at the George R. Brown Convention Center. We are 1 block away from #81 & #82 bus lines that will drop you off in front of the convention center. Want to come shopping at the Galleria or get a visa in the Post Oak area, we are located just one block away from the buses that will get you there! HI-Houston is also conveniently located just 1 mile away from the famous Menil Collection and Rothko Chapel and just 2 miles away from Houston's amazing Museum District and Hermann Park! Whether you are coming to Houston to work, play or just relax...HI-Houston is the place for you! Never stayed at a hostel before! Hostels mainly consist of dormitory style rooms, where you will have the opportunity to interact with guests from all over the world. Hostels are a great place to make new friends and save a little money while your traveling. Come and try us out!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing