We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great allocation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The hotel locates in a nice neighbourhood, quiet, beautiful, not far away from most sightseeing places, easy to access to museum, downtwon, etc through public transportation. (we walked to most museum actually), walking distance to many eating places. The staffs are friendly and willing to offer the assistance. There are lot of info available in the front desk, resturant info, walking maps, transportation info, etc. which make them different with other hotels. I stayed in the private room with my big boy and they were very considering and offered us an extra mattress. And people could meet in the living room to talk. if there is any slight complaint or remind, don't expect too much on breakfast, some stuff run out quickly if you are bit too late.

Anyhow, I love this place and will recommend it to my friend.

Room Tip: private room is upstair the little house in the backyard, bit seperated with dorm rooms. but very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weiweismile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

I got a group room and it seem I was only one from my group in the room
But I had roommates male or females either side I thought there was male room and female room it was neutral which I'm OK with but its a note to others nevet been
Price was cheap

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I was only passing through Houston for a night so I didn't get to stay very long but from what I saw morty rich is one of the best run places I've been. Rooms are clean, the house is beautiful. There's a fully functioning kitchen and dining room plus a living room and a tv room upstairs. The guy at the front desk was very super nice. They have this thing down there. A board with transportation info to anywhere of interest in Houston, lots of information about sights etc. another board with local events, night out specials etc. They even sell sewing kits, mini shampoos, toothbrushes etc. Two thumbs up.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This is a great Hostel , nice quiet location , clean great breakfast and friendly staff , take note Bus 181 does not operate on Sundays!!! I found out the hard way!!!! The pool and outside area are nice also!!!
If you are not a member sign up , there is a free night coupon in the packet.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Hartifacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What hostel has a swimming pool? A pool table? oh yeah - and a computer and a TV. The breakfast was not hearty enough for a busy day of sightseeing - but with a supermarket a block away provisions can easily be augmented. The only problem were the other guests - and there is nothing management can do about that! Bring a lock for valuables over night and during the day. The hostel is located in the heart of Montrose, a lovely residential neighborhood - close to museums and a block from a bus stop to town.

Room Tip: all female room - shower was unavailable at the time I was there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seggerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at this hostel in January with a group of coworkers. I was in a private dorm room with just my fellow coworkers and we were gone in meetings all day long. Upon returning to the hostel one evening after work I came to realize that someone (on the cleaning staff we later figured out), had stolen all my jewelry. One hostel staff member was very helpful, however I do not feel that the appropriate actions were taken. If you stay at this hostel, make sure you lock up all your stuff regardless if you are in a private or open/shared room. Aside from having some sentimental valuables belongings stolen and no real reparations made, this hostel is fairly clean and staff are nice. They need more bathrooms, but aside from that it is a good place to stay in a great location.

Room Tip: No suggestions on room choice just make sure to lock up EVERYTHING you own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I wish every city I went have this kind of Fantastic hostel. It is both cheap and interesting. You can talk to strangers and meet friends without considering whether they are good guys or drunk. The neighborhood is quite, clean and have a good traffic. It had a little swimming pool!!! I love this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
481 reviews
Modern B&B
#67 of 517 in Houston
207 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel

Address: 501 Lovett Blvd, Houston, TX 77006-4020 (Formerly Lovett Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Houston
Price Range: £24 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best hostel in Houston! HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel is the only hostel to offer 24 check-in, outdoor swimming pool and a full-sized pool table. We also offer free WIFI, computers with free internet access, onsite laundry, free parking, 24 hour access to all common areas and the fully equipped kitchen and an extra special complimentary breakfast every morning from 7:30-10:00am!! HI-Houston is located on a beautiful tree lined boulevard in the diverse and funky neighborhood of Montrose. We are surrounded by some of the most popular restaurants, bars and coffee shops in Houston! We are also conveniently located just 2 blocks away from a 24 hour Walgreens and a 24 hour grocery store. Coming to Houston for a conference at the George R. Brown Convention Center. We are 1 block away from #81 & #82 bus lines that will drop you off in front of the convention center. Want to come shopping at the Galleria or get a visa in the Post Oak area, we are located just one block away from the buses that will get you there! HI-Houston is also conveniently located just 1 mile away from the famous Menil Collection and Rothko Chapel and just 2 miles away from Houston's amazing Museum District and Hermann Park! Whether you are coming to Houston to work, play or just relax...HI-Houston is the place for you! Never stayed at a hostel before! Hostels mainly consist of dormitory style rooms, where you will have the opportunity to interact with guests from all over the world. Hostels are a great place to make new friends and save a little money while your traveling. Come and try us out!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing