We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of REEF

REEF
Reserve with OpenTable
REEF is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: McGowen Street
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We love good seafood,and Reef definitely came through. We let our waiter know that we were heading to a show after dinner, and he was wonderfully mindful about timing the meal to meet our schedule. We had a little of everything from appetizers to dessert, and it was all delicious. They have an outstanding wine selection as well. We'll definitely be making a return trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllaAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    95
    40
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Some of the best seafood in Houston - and that's saying a lot! :)

Reef is delicious. The menu has so many tasty options, all of which are very creative and incorporate so many unique flavors and cooking techniques. The atmosphere is casual classy, with a great feel for date night or a celebration with friends. My husband and I were here with friends, and the atmosphere was lively and fun, just adding another level of greatness to our meal.

Food - our meal was outstanding! For appetizers we had a dozen oysters, ceviche (which had a Korean twist to it called Kinilaw), and snapper carpaccio. All were AMAZING!! The fish was all incredibly fresh, and the oysters perfectly briny and juicy, topped perfectly with the zesty cocktail sauce and a pinch of horseradish. Definitely recommend all three! For entrees, our table had the Redfish (the fried mac-n-cheese is RIDICULOUSLY GOOD), shrimp, Grouper special of the night, and I actually got a double portion of the Kinilaw as my meal because I loved it so much. Most of the entrees were cooked perfectly and we had a table full of clean plates by the time our meal was over, but the one entree that did not live up to the hype was the Redfish - it may just have been the piece we had, but it was slightly dry and lacked flavor. The mac-n-cheese served alongside of it was the only saving grace of the plate, as that was the only thing left at the end of the meal.

Drinks and wine list were extensive, and the mark up on wine was very reasonable. We let our waiter help recommend our wine, and his knowledge of not only the wine list but the menu itself was obvious.

Service - Our waiter was good, but not the friendliest. It was a Friday night so I know the restaurant was busy, but he was very slow every time we ordered another drink from the bar, a particular pet peeve of mine when he would walk by our table 14 times before acknowledging that the drink was even ordered or "on its way."

We will definitely visit this restaurant again, and recommend that anyone looking for a great seafood dinner in Houston do the same! (Note :: get a reservation for the weekends, this spot fills up fast!)

Cheers!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Reef is the best place in Houston for fresh seafood. Depending on your tastes, you can order both prepared entrees or simple grilled fish. Sometimes we just order 2 or 3 of the great appetizers or raw bar items with one of the interesting sides. Wait staff are very attentive; great atmosphere and interesting clientele. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank backporch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Fish, super waiter.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We enjoyed a lovely meal and wine, guided by a very personable waiter. It is rare to have wait staff who know the menu items so well, understand food well and connect with their clients well.

There was a substantial wine list; something else our waiter knew well. Wine was not heavily marked up.

Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brontetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Even my husband who doesn't like seafood enjoyed our visit! The ingredients are fresh and dishes are creative. We had the barrel fish and red fish and both were extremely flavorful and highly recommended. We had the blueberry franchise with limoncello curds and ginger ice cream-so good! Great ambiance and wonderful experience! Would recommend

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmcaudillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed REEF also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to REEF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing