We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always A Treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of REEF

REEF
Reserve with OpenTable
REEF is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: McGowen Street
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always A Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Love the food and service here. Only first dined there 3 months ago and have been back several times since. Servers are great and the menu changes with the best fish available at the time. I have not had the same dish twice and all were delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank adasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    95
    40
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loud but Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

*Disclaimer* My wife and I did not have a reservation, so we were sat in the lounge / bar area. All comments are about that area and not the main dining room.

The first thing we noticed walking in was the elegant environment. This is a very high end restaurant. The hostesses were cordial and seated us quickly. We were escorted into the lounge area and sat near a corner. It was dimly lit and directly under an A/C vent. (Probably the worst table in that area) None the less the light and the temperature were nothing compared to the noise of that area. The hard surfaces bounce noise all over the place. It was difficult to hear the server and to understand my wife who sat across from me.

The complaints stop there.

The food was incredible. I had the redfish, and my wife had the salmon. Both were incredible. We shared sides including; greens, fried mac and cheese, mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts. Everything was delicious. Please give my compliments to the chef!
This restaurant clearly prides itself in the food it serves. Thank you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank runge_sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food but not a place for dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have eaten at Reef off and on since it opened. We have largely given up. The food is great, the service is variable, but the noise is unbearable. We still occasionally go there for lunch at about 1:30 and can actually carry on a conversation. Going in the evening has become a non-starter. We can't hear to carry on a conversation and by the time the food arrives we just want to gobble it down and exit. The big part of the noise issue seems to be the hard surfaces. The other part is that Reef seems to have attracted a following of business travelers from the downtown hotels who come in large groups and scream from one end of their table to the other end. Screaming is necessary if you want to be heard. If you do go consider the simply grilled selection. Your choice of fish (or other protein) grilled with a simple salad. Order a veg side and you are set. A tasty health meal.

If the review were for the food it would be a 4 or maybe a little more. For the service a 3.5 to 4.5 depending on the wait person-they use a runner system so if there is a problem with your order be prepared to find a waiter (yours may be no where to be seen) or go up to the open kitchen counter and grab the manager. Don't wait for someone to notice you waving your hands. But as described above the noise ruins the whole experience for us so a generous three. If you like noise and commotion then this is the place. Just don't expect fine dining-its not here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherrifff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing array of fantastic seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal here. Tried cobia, a type of fish I've never had before, paired with a great red blend that I'd never heard of before, both on the recommendations of a great server. Great food, great service, great ambiance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarKris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We love good seafood,and Reef definitely came through. We let our waiter know that we were heading to a show after dinner, and he was wonderfully mindful about timing the meal to meet our schedule. We had a little of everything from appetizers to dessert, and it was all delicious. They have an outstanding wine selection as well. We'll definitely be making a return trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllaAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed REEF also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to REEF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing