We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park
Ranked #165 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Staff very helpful, especially clerk Tish. Rooms are clean and offer what you need. The shuttle drivers to the Medical Center are very courteous. Drivers Ed, Gary, Mike and Henderson could not have been nicer.

Room Tip: All I have stayed in are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Ed, Michael and the entire staff who made us feel so special. we had a great stay! Its stressfull coming here for Dr. Apts and they made it so easy to get to the hospital, airport and back and always had a smile and welcome. Must visit!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lillie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Staff is one of the friendliest I have ever met at any hotel. My mother and I stayed here while my father was at MD Anderson Cancer Hospital undergoing brain surgery. The shuttle service to and from the various hospitals and Hobby Airport was wonderful and really helped during what was a stressful time. Shuttle drivers Gary and Ed are two of the nicest guys I know.

The entire staff always greeted us with a smile and some even asked about my dad and said they were putting him in their prayers.

The complimentary hot breakfast is a nice way to start the day.

I definitely recommend this hotel to those who have to be in Houston with loved ones who are in one of the Texas Medical Center hospitals. It is an older hotel and doesn't have a lot of higher-end hotel chain amenities, but the rooms are clean, and the smiles and friendliness of the staff was definitely appreciated.

The fitness center doesn't have a lot of machines, but they do have a couple of treadmills, an elliptical trainer and a stationary bike. I wasn't expecting a fitness center, and I was grateful for the opportunity to exercise away a little stress.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are convenient to breakfast area, laundry room and fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Many people stay at this hotel because of its proximity to the best medical centers. We were visiting family nearby. I was traveling with my elderly relatives and we needed a little extra TLC and we received it from managers Mary Anne and Elizabeth. Price also included shuttle to the airport and to the hospitals, and buffet breakfast. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparkySparks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed there several times over the last few years and have never run into the problems we have seen in reviews of other hotels in the Houston Medical District. Although the hotel has been there for a while, it has been well maintained. We have always found it to be clean and with a pleasant staff that shows concern for its guests, many of whom have serious medical problems. On our most recent stay, I had to keep changing my reservation because, although we came initially for a medical evaluation, we stayed through my wife's surgery and extended hospitalization for an infection. The staff was very pleasant working with my changes in reservation and, when she was released earlier than expected, they agreeably let me cancel the extended reservations. The only glitch we had was connection to the WiFi which appears to be an older system that could be updated. They have a tech support arrangement with a 24 hour tech support person who worked with me and tried many ways to solve the problem. When I apologized for so many calls to try to solve the problem and asked what time she went to bed, she told me not to hesitate to call anytime and that it was her job to be there 24 hours a day. When the problem could not be solved, they sent a technician who worked several hours on site and solved the problem that appeared to involve location in the building. I had stayed there before and had not had WiFi problems. Their excellent service extends to their shuttle service that runs to the major medical facilities on the hour within specified hours. The shuttle will also take guests to Hobby Airport, stores, and markets, restaurants, etc. within a geographical limit. When you want to return, you call the shuttle driver and he will pick you up on the next hourly run. All of the usual drivers are friendly and watch out for the guests, but Ed, the morning and early afternoon weekday driver deserves special mention. Besides being interesting to talk to and concerned about his passengers, he really watches out for them. For example on one of my rides there was a couple who were anxious on how to reach a particular building on the large VA medical complex. Ed explained the there was only one drop off place for outside shuttles and the VA ran its own shuttle within the property. He explained where the VA shuttle would pick them and what it looked like. After dropping them off, Ed noticed they headed in the wrong direction and a VA shuttle was coming. He dashed out of the van, asked the VA shuttle to wait a minute, caught the couple and escorted them to the VA shuttle so they could make their appointment.
For a long stay having a small kitchen area with a small but full sized refrigerator, 2 burner stove, dishwasher, and microwave is handy as well as a small sitting area for not any more than the price of a room in other hotels. As in most extended stay places, the housekeeping is a little lighter with the sheets not being changed every day, but with daily light cleaning and towel replacement. Dishes, flatware and pots and pans are limited. There is a guest pay laundry, fitness center, pool and business center with computer and printer. .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodLover100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I read the reviews and thought all would be fine. We arrived around 8pm. Check in was fine. We were given 413 & 415 as a double queen room. The hallway had a weird smell and the room were musty. The couch has stains and small holes. The carpet is brown and patterned and old. There was 2 inch long water bug upside down and presumably dying but my husband got some tissue and flushed him down the toilet. We always check the beds and headboard area for bugs. In room 415 between the mattresses were two DVDs in their cases. They were porn!! The cases had various pictures of black women doing all kinds of things. So I checked the bedding a bit closer. The mattress cover had a spot of dried blood on it. The other bed in 413 had a few long hairs and the flat sheet had 3 - 4 inch yellow stain. We wrapped the DVDs in a pillow case and took them to the front desk. The girl apologized emphatically and offered us rooms 213 & 215. The hallway smelled better than the 4th floor. We went to check that room and between the mattresses in 213 was hand towel with two tubes of lotion and part of wrapper, a pink travel toothbrush and something else pink. The bed in 215 had some kind of tobacco or herb like seeds all around the edges of the mattress and on the floor on the window side of the room. There were no other rooms available so we asked for sheets and blankets and went back to the 4th floor to strip the beds. The wash cloth on 413 side had makeup on it and the one on the 415 side had a big brownish stain. The a/c unit on 413 side does not work right. There is a vertical oscillating fan to help cool the room. The best asset this hotel has is the girl working the front desk. She seems very nice and even attempted to help someone find a room that came in without a reservation. We had no choice but to stay tonight but we will try to find another hotel. This hotel would be so much better if they just replaced stained items and hired good cleaning crew.

Room Tip: Perhaps single rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank texastraveler122009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful and easy to work with. The hotel shuttle takes me to MD Anderson, the airport and anywhere else I need to go. The drivers are very nice and go overboard to get me where I need to be when I need to be there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park

Address: 3134 Old Spanish Trl, Houston, TX 77054-2215
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#71 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £56 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park Hotel Houston
Houston Mainstay
Mainstay Suites Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing