We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of France in Houston”

Brasserie Max & Julie
Ranked #615 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Cross street: Richmond
Transit: There is a Metro bus line stop in front of the restaurant.
Porter, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A bit of France in Houston”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Ate lunch here on Friday and was very impressed. Excellent food and service was good. We had the roast chicken and vegetables and the grilled trout with legumes. The sauce on the roasted chicken was incredible. Excellent French bread and a nice grenache wine. They have the same menu for lunch that they have for dinner just like a Parisian Brasserie.

I read the wine list sine we plan on coming back for dinner. Wines were reasonably priced; about $40 for a Mourchon cotes du Rhone and $81 for a nice Chateauneuf du Pape. Very reasonable indeed. Can't wait to get here for dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    41
    12
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uae
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A birthday let down”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

The food and service here were just ok. We wouldn't rush back.
We started with a goat cheese salad and mussels with apple soup. Both were delicious....
We wished we would have stopped at this point as the rest of our meal turned out to be a let down.

The Duck and Skate were ordered for our entrees. The presentation of both were ok but the duck leg tasted as if it had been sitting for the entire day and then reheated as the skin on the leg was not crispy and sweet as the traditional French honey duck usually is . We have eaten this dish several times in France and also in North America so we had a good idea of what to expect.
I had hoped the Breast of the duck would have been better as it appeared to be cooked correctly.Unfortunately, it was not . The breast was extreamly tough to cut and chew. Perhaps I should have known this when a steak knife was put in front of me.
When we informed the waitress about the duck we were given a look of surprise.
The Skate had potential but unfortunately the fish did not taste as fresh as it should have.

We ended our meal with what we were told was a heavenly chocolate soufflé that had to be ordered in advance. This too was a let down as the chef forgot to add the chocolate to the soufflé ,you could tell by merely looking at the color of the soufflé but the taste confirmed what we expected.. It was not added.The soufflé still had a nice taste but it was more like eating a bread pudding than than a chocolate soufflé . Again we informed the waitress. Rather than offering to make us a new one or remove it she simply brought us some melted chocolate . Pathetic ... Truely pathetic especially for a French resturant .
On a positive note the waitress knew the menu well and was friendly.
However , For $130.00 better food quality and service is expected than what we were given at Bistro Max and Julie.
If you are looking for decent French food in and around the Houston area .. Go to Humble Texas.




  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wke18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“French lunch = good lunch”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Simple lunch menu - sandwiches, a few hot dishes, desserts, wine and beer. Great prices, professional service. Small space with happy, smiling customers. Aspiring writer waiter. Hope to be back soon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank L C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
562 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Too Filthy for me...”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife was craving French cuisine this past weekend. Our first choice was booked up so I had heard of Max and Julies and thought we could try it. Made a reservation for 7:00 We arrived on time to find a mainly empty restaurant, and were shown to our table right away. In order to have more tables in they have a long booth type bench against a wall with "two top" tables and a chair on the outside. She squeezed in between two other people. I politely asked if there was something else and the hostess rudely said no. So one side are two ladies on their smart phone looking up airline flights and the other side was two fellas with roaming eyes. In fact the tables are so close together that when one of the men next to us got up to used the restroom his backside almost dragged out table cloth along with the dishes to the floor.
There is no intimacy, no romance and no privacy...it felt like we were at a Denny's or something. Makes me wonder why with a restaurant full of empty tables we had to be seated practically in someone's lap. I got up to use the restroom myself and was discussed of how dirty it was, I took pics but will spare you. I cam back and sat down and found a filthy menu laying on my dinner plate (see pics) it was a porous paper, stained, ripped and just plain disgusting. I looked down at my plate and it also was filthy (see pics). The kicker was as I was taking the photo the waitress looked right at me and I said.."Just taking a picture of this dirty plate for my review", ya know what she did? Nothing! Didn't appolige or even bring me a new one! At that point we decided that we were just going to leave...so we did.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Takes Themselves Entirely Too Seriously ~”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The atmosphere is supposed to mirror a French café, but I found it much more stuffy and puffed up without much to back it up. Sorry guys, the food was ok, but REALLY salty!!! Go to Paris and find out how it's really done!!! IF you are going to be pretentious, have the goods to back it up! ;-)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Max & Julie also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Brasserie Max & Julie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing