We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply well all around.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #100 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My stay was pleasant. Staff were helpful, polite, and friendly. The only annoying thing about the inroom accomendations was that the tv/cable would reset to "channel 1" or the "beggining" every time you would turn off and on the t.v. again. I Would reccomend and re-visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Everett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We apologize that you were annoyed with the in room accommodations that of the tv/cable reset. We are glad you brought this to our attention and I have shared with our Director of Engineering to address with our cable provider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have stayed at several Doubletree Hotels and most were very good. My girlfriend and I were in town for a ballet which was just down the road. It was summer so we chose to have the hotel shuttle take us. Although the shuttle stops transfers after 10:45 pm we were able to have them pick us up at 10:40 pm which is when the ballet was over. The room was clean and the beds were so comfortable. The area is very good and although we saw a few homeless people about we did not feel like were in danger. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends. Our proximity to the theater and complimentary shuttle comes in handy when visiting for a ballet/play. Please keep us in mind when you return to Downtown Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Location is great. Nothing necessarily wrong with the Doubletree. Staff and room were average. Although, our room was a corner room surrounded by windows, which left the room extremely hot in the summer afternoon/early evening (A/C could not keep up). Also, you can stay a couple blocks away for less, at hotels that have nicer amenities, newer interior, and complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We apologize that we didn't meet your expectations and will take into consideration of our amenities that we have to offer as it relates to the near hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Exceptional hotel; however, feeling of un-safe during late dinner. Vagrant somehow entered dinning area and ask for money from dining guest. Additional staffing during dinner time would help into securing the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Troy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We would like to thank you sharing your recent experience with us. We apologize that you experience an un-safe dining experience. This is not the norm at our hotel. We have shared your experience with our Director of Security and met with our Outlets team to ensure if any vagrants are in the hotel, we are to immediately react and contact Security.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The customer service was horrible; the hotel staff is much too relaxed and just unprofessional; they were extremely loud having personal conversations loud enough for the guest to hear; when we checked in the keys to our room was sitting out due to a really late check-in, so I called and had them check me in; when we got there at almost 4am they were conducting a night audit and so we had to wait 20 minutes for no reason considering that we had already pre-checked and the guy that checked me in over the phone apparently did not communicate this to the night staff; total disarray. In addition, the hallway leading all the way to our room smelt of urine. it was so strong I felt that I was going to take ill.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Monsherra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We do apologize of your check in experience and assure you this is not the norm. I have shared your feedback with our staff to ensure we are conducting ourselves in a professional matter at all times. Again, we appreciate your feedback and I am addressing your experience with my team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here for a Microsoft convention recently, not by choice but because I wanted the conference rate & a Hilton property for the points (still about $200 per night). The hotel is 9 blocks from the convention center and Minute Maid Park and has a clean lobby and bar area. The staff were nice and elevators fast. The room I had, 1816, was on one of the HHonors floors - now I'm not sure what that means but it was quiet. I did receive breakfast vouchers because of my Gold status, but it's normally a charge and I'm not sure the Wifi is free either. The vanity and shower are in the same room, which is just an inconvenience for me since the mirror steams up and it's hard to dry my hair. I was able to run the room fan to create a white noise to help me sleep at night. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were all the same and not a variety of sizes like some.

All in all it was average, next time I would choose something a bit closer to the activities of the conference.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. As you mentioned you are a Gold HHonors Members so the upgrade to the HHonors floor and breakfast is all a part of being a loyal HHonors Member. I know you would like to be closer to the convention center however, keep us in mind if you do return to Houston Downtown. We can send you in our complimentary shuttle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I called the day of check in and was able to get both a mini-fridge and microwave right away. Check in/out is easy and quick. Roomservice is good for the price but there is food everyone Downtown. They only have Valet Parking and its not included in the room price, I think its $18-$20 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the complimentary amenities for your guest room. Please keep us in mind if travel takes you back to Houston Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#31 of 517 in Houston
1,958 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#130 of 517 in Houston
109 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £90 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing