We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, a little worn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #98 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing views, a little worn”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our room was downright amazing. We had a suite with the triangular bedroom on the 16th floor. We had 2 bathrooms and the den was downright huge. We loved the views, and that triangular bedroom with glass from ceiling to floor exceptional. But it was not the cleanest hotel. There was a distinct odor in the hallway, and the doors to each room looked they hadn't been wiped down in years. There is no pool on premises, but we did thoroughly enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a suite with the triangular bedroom, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandic1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations and have shared your room cleanliness with our Director of Housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    372
    219
    109
    70
See reviews for
166
251
82
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacinto City, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Excellent room - corner room on 19th floor. Excellent view. Bed quality and room quality were great. Everything we needed was there at the hotel. Had drinks at the bar. My wife ordered Bella Sera Moscato - it was fabulous. Even had bartender show us the bottle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Art A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent exeperience with us. We are glad to hear we met your expectations and hope you keep us in mind if travel take you back to Houston Downtown. The Bella Sera Moscato has become a hit in our Lobby Lounge Bar. I will share your feedabck with our bartender as well. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

room was fine. Odor in the hallway. Smelled very stale and rank. Cleaning crew started cleaning our suite before we checked out and we found items missing (liquor and wine). Was not happy. Also a missing laptop from the ballroom the night before. Poor staffing for the cash bar. Nice lady but could not make change and did not know the system. Had to step in and take over as our guests were angry and impatient. Dining room staff for breakfast was kind and accommodating to our large group. Nice to have comp coffee in the lobby in the am.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I truly apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I will have our Director of Housekeeping inspect the guest floors for the stale ordor. We have been in contact with the guest that laptop was taken and it was from whomever assisted him with the event. It wasn't in our possession.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

just an over night stay for 40th high school reunion. Great rooms, comfortable & spacious. Staff was very nice and helpful. Valet very efficient and quick. nice open lobby for drink, snack or visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bertram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad that we met your expectations and you enjoyed the room accommodations. We hope that you keep us in mind if you have any future events that we can assist with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree Houston Downtown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

When we booked the room, we were told that the rate came with complimentary parking and one free breakfast for being a Hilton Honors member. When we received out email confirmation of reservation it said parking was $28. We called back to reservations and told the person on the phone that we were told free parking at the time of reservation. They asked for the name of the customer service rep. We gave it, but the rep had only given us their first name. When we called back they wanted the first and last name. Finally we asked to speak with a supervisor and they agreed we would get complimentary parking. We asked for the supervisor first and last name. They refused to provide their last name. At the hotel, they refused to honor the complimentary parking. Also, they said the rate that we received would not receive a complimentary breakfast coupon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We apologize that we didn't provide the amenities you were promised. Although the reservation was booked with a quote of amenities, the actual confirmation letter will state the parking fee as it is a standard. If we didn't waive your parking, please e-mail me and I can do so. toya.berry@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I needed a relaxing moment with a friend that is taking chemo and needed to sleep. We had a ball sleeping, watching TV and more sleeping. The staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is quite. Room service was timely in bringing the food to the room. Plenty of hot water. The hotel is located in the downtown area and some venues are in walking Front desk was very helpful and assisting to our needs.distance, a plus. Downtown area is being renovated, so there are more and more places to eat, visit, shop and just hang out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Beverely G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear that our Downtown location met your needs and the staff met your expectations. Please keep us in mind if travel take you back to Houston Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Hotel was exactly what we needed while in Houston. Convenient to Main Street and transit, though easy to maneuver about in a vehicle. Only downsides were Concierge is not as all knowing, sent us to his favorite spot Mexican spot rather than the Seafood we requested. Shuttle is reluctant to go anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank mcg312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We apologize that the Concierge sent you to a destination that you didn't request. I will defintley follow up with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#35 of 517 in Houston
1,905 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 517 in Houston
455 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#122 of 517 in Houston
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing