We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #100 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We live in Houston, about 10 miles from downtown, where this DoubleTree Hotel is located. Every year we stay at a hotel downtown, to be within walking distance from the 4th of July Freedom Over Texas Festival. Music and Fireworks. July 4, 2014 was overcast and seemed about ready to be rained out - however it was not. If it had been, our room on the 17th floor would have given us a perfect view of the Fireworks. If we had not had a room with a Fireworks view, we know they have a special room where guests can view the fireworks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad the ran didn't take over the fireworks! Please keep us in mind for next year. The inventory will be available to book with in a few weeks. My e-mail address is Toya.berry@hilton.com. I would be happy to assist you with your reservations for next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

valet attendants were rude, No way to keep cold beverages cold in the room. Small ice bucket provided for mixed drink ice. Pillows were nice! The guests next door were terrible, children were loud and the mother screamed louder than the children.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I truly apologize that your stay didn't meet your satisfaction. I have shared your experience with our Valet Manager and we will be addressing his team engagement with guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I arrived on the afternoon of July 4th. I had booked the room for 2 nights quickly on the Expedia app because the HHonours app kept kicking me off. I was upset to find that we couldn't collect the points for the room because we had booked through a 3rd party!?! The staff were helpful enough but not really interested.
We waited till 3pm to go to our room, again everyone was helpful enough but you get the underlying feeling that everyone whom offers help is hanging on for a tip.
The room was nice and clean on first impressions but under closer inspection it was very tired, windows were smeared and we had to call a cleaner in to clean what looked like blood off the wall (we were told it was ketchup). There was also a roof tile hanging down in the bathroom and the vents were full of dust and fluff.
There were no coffee sachets in the room and when we called down for replacements the lady that arrived insisted on pulling the futon apart looking for a lost room key!?!
There is no self parking, you have to pay for valet parking, so make sure you take everything out of the vehicle you might need. Or be prepared to be escorted to your vehicle if you have forgotten something(another tip expected).
It's our second Double Tree this year and our last.
As long time Diamond Members we expect better and do not mind paying for it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank limar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations. When booking via a Third Party, The HHonors VIP Loyalty program is currently not designed to gain points via these channels. We however, offered you the continental breakfast and the HHonors water. That is what we have the flexibility to do at the hotel as long as the HHonors Tier is Diamond and or Gold and the guest present their HHonors card as you did. I have also shared your room cleanliness experience with our Director of Housekeeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our room was downright amazing. We had a suite with the triangular bedroom on the 16th floor. We had 2 bathrooms and the den was downright huge. We loved the views, and that triangular bedroom with glass from ceiling to floor exceptional. But it was not the cleanest hotel. There was a distinct odor in the hallway, and the doors to each room looked they hadn't been wiped down in years. There is no pool on premises, but we did thoroughly enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a suite with the triangular bedroom, you will not be disappointed!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandic1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations and have shared your room cleanliness with our Director of Housekeeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Excellent room - corner room on 19th floor. Excellent view. Bed quality and room quality were great. Everything we needed was there at the hotel. Had drinks at the bar. My wife ordered Bella Sera Moscato - it was fabulous. Even had bartender show us the bottle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Art A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent exeperience with us. We are glad to hear we met your expectations and hope you keep us in mind if travel take you back to Houston Downtown. The Bella Sera Moscato has become a hit in our Lobby Lounge Bar. I will share your feedabck with our bartender as well. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

room was fine. Odor in the hallway. Smelled very stale and rank. Cleaning crew started cleaning our suite before we checked out and we found items missing (liquor and wine). Was not happy. Also a missing laptop from the ballroom the night before. Poor staffing for the cash bar. Nice lady but could not make change and did not know the system. Had to step in and take over as our guests were angry and impatient. Dining room staff for breakfast was kind and accommodating to our large group. Nice to have comp coffee in the lobby in the am.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I truly apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I will have our Director of Housekeeping inspect the guest floors for the stale ordor. We have been in contact with the guest that laptop was taken and it was from whomever assisted him with the event. It wasn't in our possession.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

just an over night stay for 40th high school reunion. Great rooms, comfortable & spacious. Staff was very nice and helpful. Valet very efficient and quick. nice open lobby for drink, snack or visiting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bertram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad that we met your expectations and you enjoyed the room accommodations. We hope that you keep us in mind if you have any future events that we can assist with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 517 in Houston
1,937 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#118 of 517 in Houston
102 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £90 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing