We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doubletree One Allen Center” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #92 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Houston, United States
1 review
“Doubletree One Allen Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Overall hotel is Ok, good location if you need to do business in the Houston downtown area. Décor is outdated and a bit dingy in some places of the hotel. Room was just Ok. had a musty odor. No pay per view movies and limited channels on cable and HBO. Room service pricey and limited menu. Morning buffet breakfast also quite pricey if you do not do the package. Staff seemed friendly, but not really out of the way to make your stay better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations. I have shared with our Management Team to address your concerns. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    352
    197
    102
    63
See reviews for
149
232
79
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This used to be a great hotel. I've stayed here many times over the years and had fine experiences. Over the last two years the service has plummeted. Worst valet service I've ever seen. Mobs of unhappy guests at all times, trying to pick up and drop off their vehicles. Front desk, room service, maintenance, all slow to non-existent. The location is nice and clean but I've had enough of the terrible service here. I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations as it comes to service. I have shared your feedback with our Department Leaders to address. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
560 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here this past Saturday evening because we were seeing a show downtown. As mentioned the hotel is in dire need of an update if not a full remodel.
I had to call the hotel three times and every single time I got someone who was either rude, clueless or not doing their job. The one bright spot was upon check with the young lady that helped us was amazingly sweet and very helpful (I know I'm going to misspell her name) Shawmen, she was the one helpful friendly employee we encountered.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review on your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced in regards to your room assignment. At your earliest convenience, please feel free to contact us at toya.berry@hilton.com to further discuss the details of your stay. I will defintley inform Chermaine that you left a great comment in reference to your service during your stay. I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loved the warm cookies when we checked in! The double tree Houston really has awesome staff and the rooms were super comfy! highly recommended! It is close to everything down and the Valet service was also superb!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our chocolate chip and walnut cookie! Please keep us in mind if travel take you back to Downtown Houston. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed @ the Doubletree 2 weeks ago for the weekend and was extremely disappointed. First checked in they was out of cookies. So we asked when will some be ready, she said she wasn't certain. So we called 2 hours later and they still said they didn't have any. Ok next day came we called and she said they had some, but asked did we want to come get them. We said no...so an hour later 2 cookies was brought up. It wasn't about the cookies it was the customer service of it. The night we got in an took a shower the ceiling appeared molded and it was dust everywhere in the room including the pillows and head board. Just really disappointed with this Doubletree.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reschelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to comment on Trip Advisor. Comments from our guests help us to ensure the quality and comfort of our guests. I would like to apologize for your recent stay with us. I have forwarded these comments to our staff. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Was staying at another hotel, The Magnolia, on business and the hotel was awful - fingernails and weird hairs, smelly - mold and whatever they used to try to cover up the mold smell, heavy fabrics that were full of dust, dark and not near anything. I called the DoubleTree to inquire about their rates and availability. The rate was cheaper than The Magnolia and the shuttle bus even drove over to The Magnolia to pick me up! The DoubleTree was very clean, the lobby area spacious and full of light, in a great part of downtown and near where I was doing business. The room was very clean and large. Bed very comfortable. The workout facility was nicely maintained with up to date equipment. The buffet breakfast in the morning really was awesome with fresh fruit, hot and cold items. Every single person I encountered was very service oriented. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We truly appreciate your kind words and that the team engaged you throughout your stay. Your feedback will be shared with them. I will also share with our Chef that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet display. Please keep us in mind if travel take you back to Downtown Houston. We would love for you to stay with us again. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Good-The bed was comfortable The Bad-Staff were pleasantly phony The Ugly-Housekeeping was horrid, didn't vacuum, change towels, or fully clean bathroom. Insufficient lighting. electric receptacle wouldn't make contact with plugs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank JCTpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#37 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#101 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing