We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up to Four Seasons Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Ranked #19 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not Up to Four Seasons Standards”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I really wanted to love this hotel as I haven't been able to find a "great" hotel in Houston. This hotel is in a weird location--easy access to freeways and across the street from Toyota Center. So unless you are going to an event or trying to get out of town fast, this is not a tourist hotel.
When we had our travel agent who is a partner with Four Seasons book our reservation and are typically treated well at Four Seasons, but on this check-in, we were given a room that either was not cleaned yet or had someone already staying in it. The fold out couch was pulled out and the bed had been slept in. This is a rookie mistake for any hotel and definitely not normal Four Seasons quality.
When we finally got our room, I found it to be worn. Furniture from every decade of the last 30 years was the design scheme. There was traditional, modern and just plain weird furniture--nothing matched. The bathrooms in this hotel need to be totally torn out and redone. See Four Seasons Seattle for inspiration. No tub worth bathing in, no vent fans, chipping paint on the bottom of the door, weird vanity light that had crummy plastic cover over florescent bulb.
Service was good with the exception of being given an occupied or unclean room. 39.00/night for valet is excessive.
Also, when we checked in there was a huge group of high school volleyball players staying in the hotel for a tournament. Not that that's a problem, but what Four Seasons typically accommodates high school groups? One that is looking for business!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravelleraustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esutherland, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear happytravelleraustin,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us and sincerely apologize that it did not meet expectations. Checking in to a dirty room is unacceptable and I assure you that our upper management has been notified of this mistake. We certainly take your comments very seriously as we want to make adjustments where needed. We hope you give us another chance to make it up to you.
Sincerely,
Elysia Sutherland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    321
    110
    51
    26
See reviews for
244
326
72
659
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I stayed while our son was at a volleyball tournament. The hotel was spacious, the bedding so comfortable. I loved the gym. The complimentary coffee and water downstairs was great. Being able to go to the Phoenician (sp) market/bar across the street was a definite plus. Would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent my 40th birthday in luxury. We were treated so well. It was a fabulous break from reality! They even put cupcakes in our room for us to enjoy and gave my son a stuffed bull! Now that's true Texas hospitality!!!!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My fiancee and I visited several top tier hotels around Houston for our wedding night before we decided on the Four Seasons, and we couldn't be happier. The Ambassador Suite is simply amazing. She was able to get ready there with her entire bridal party before the wedding. There are two full bathrooms which helped immensely with their ability to get ready in time, plenty of seats and mirrors for the makeup and hair stylists, and our photographer fell in love with the beautiful, giant windows. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful, remembering our names and always congratulating us on our special occasion. Managers Steven Chou and Osvaldo Luna really went out of their way to make it the perfect hotel for our wedding night. It was a genuine pleasure to be able to start and end our most important day at the Four Seasons!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esutherland, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Adam H,
Congratulations on your recent wedding!
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review about your stay with us on the most important weekend of your life. We're thrilled you chose us at Four Seasons Hotel Houston to be a part of it. Your kind words have been shared with Steven and Osvaldo and of course the rest of the hotel team. Thank you again and we wish you and your wife a lifetime of happiness together!
Best,
Elysia Sutherland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Four Seasons for our 55th anniversary even though we live in Houston. We were treated like royalty by all staff members. We were given a special dessert by the Chef and two glasses of Roederer Champagne and dark chocolate lollipops in our room.

Room Tip: We were in a suite on the 7th floor overlooking the pool. Magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esutherland, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear HoustonElizabeth,
Congratulations on your 55th wedding anniversary!
Thank you for selecting Four Seasons Hotel Houston to celebrate this special occasion. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and glad you enjoyed the treats from chef. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Best,
Elysia Sutherland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomah, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Everyone was helpful and/or smiling. The rooms were quiet and a two year old child, they provided a crib. Nothing but the best! When using the pool, the employees set up the lounge chairs and cold water was waiting for us at the table.

Room Tip: If you need anything don't hesitate to ask. We needed an extra refrigerator, and they accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Four Seasons for three nights. Rooms were very quiet and beds comfortable. The service impeccable! It is in walking distance of many restaurants as well as the theater district and the aquarium. Lounge chairs at the pool area were comfortable and cold water was always on hand for you. Salt water pool was very refreshing. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 510 in Houston
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 510 in Houston
1,658 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 510 in Houston
1,465 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 510 in Houston
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Houston

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Address: 1300 Lamar St, Houston, TX 77010-3017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#5 Spa Hotel in Houston
#10 Business Hotel in Houston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#18 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown and just steps away from Houston's renowned cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Houston
Four Seasons Houston
Houston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing