We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel - has improved since recent bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston
Ranked #454 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 7 November 2011

we were also stuck here due to airline hassles. staff very nice - even cooked breakfast after cut-off time. rooms and hotel are old - slight musty smell still. bedding clean and no bugs noted. think they may have improved after recent bad reviews. I'd recommend as inexpensive lay-over option.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel32389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

If your stuck on a lay over in Houston stay someone else!! The rooms are dirty, needs updating and bug infested. The food is just off and on the verge of going bad. We got sick!! There is a reason the rooms are so darn cheap!! Stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yourwebgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This hotel is a health risk.
We were a party of 30+ guests. 2 members of our party were unable to check in since they were advised their rooms were still in the process of being fumigated.

When I turned the light on in my bathroom, insects ran for cover in the bath tub.
The bedsheets were worn and contained pubic hairs, where clearly the sheets had no been changed.
The pillow cases had stains. The telephone was ancient, which I could accept if it were functional, but keys were missing from it, so completely useless.
The air conditioning unit was so loud, you either kept it off, or suffered the warmth.

Breakfast was useless. There was nothing edible and the coffee was coloured water.

If it were possible to rate the hotel a minus that would be a fair review.
See photos.

The pool area was almost laughable, it looked like a set from a horror film.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ItalGrecoLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We has to stay here due to issues with our airline for our connecting flight. The only positive thing I can say is that it was free and that the shuttle to IAH was prompt. We had two rooms..one room was dirty with trash remaining from the previous occupant. The other room had a faulty air-co/heater unit that I had to turn off multiple times throughout the night because I was worried about it over-heating! The toilets were very slow to flush making us wonder if they were clogged. The lobby was nice and clean but the hallways to the rooms were old and filthy looking. The area is questionable as one of our rooms had a broken latch for the lock, which we had to call maintenance to fix as we were worried for our safety. Never again will we stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4our3girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Rooms were just okay. I requested a room with a balcony but you could not sit on them, standing room only. Sink drain was broken. AC was way too loud and didn't work properly, but I didn't know that until after my son was asleep, so I did nothing about it except open the door because it was cool out. Looks real nice when you walk in but rooms are average.
Outside pool area needs work, pool was not working when I was there. No hot tub.
Advertised they had happy hour, but there wasn't one. In fact, it stated it was 4:30-7:30 but I started going upstairs to it (at 5:30) and the bartender said "oh ...not open yet...give me 15 minutes" Didn't have the breakfast, early flight. So, I'd stay again to lay my head but wouldn't recommend a long stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We have stayed at Ramada hotels before so didn't expect any less this time. Room was big, with a comfy bed. There was no fridge/microwave in the room, but I know you can request those for an additional cost. Bathroom was quite small but shower was ok. Free wifi, which unfortunately didn't work in our room, no matter where I stood. Reception re-set the router but it didn't help, so we've used the computers in their 'Business Centre' (there is a printer there too). Was a bit disappointed with the breakfast, which was quite poor. I guess not many people were staying that night and they didn't bother (toast, muffin, cereal, coffee), or we came too late (8am) and everything had been eaten (breakfast served until 9am). Parking is outside of the rooms. There is a fitness room in this hotel, but I wouldn't get too excited!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

This hotel is not located in a safe area. The day I checked in, they changed my room three times. The heating system was antiquated and did not work properly. I was told by the on-site maintenance worker that it would be the same in every room because it was so cold outside...The last room they moved me into had a terrible ant problem around the bathroom and vanity area. When I called to report the problem I was told in frustration that I would not be moved again, they would see what they could do for me. The same on-site worker showed up with a gallon of bug spray – he sprayed liquid all over the room leaving it on the bathroom floor and all around the sink area. He sprayed the room while I was there because they refused to move me and the fumes were SO STRONG. There was no service recovery, apology or attempt to make any of these wrongs right. This was an awful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiswahili24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston

Address: 16510 North Fwy, Houston, TX 77090-5102 (Formerly Ramada Inn & Suites North Houston)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: £40 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in lobby, free deluxe continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Enjoy a swim in our seasonal outdoor pool. All guest rooms include microwave, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and alarm clock. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off North Freeway, 5 miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport, and are near to local attractions such as Mercer Botanic Gardens, Wet 'n' Wild Splash Town, and Screamworld. Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston is your best choice within the southeast region of Texas. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Austin or Galveston. At Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn North Houston Hotel Houston
Ramada Inn Houston
Ramada Houston
Houston Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing