We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for business travel in the heart of River Oaks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Ranked #69 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Spot for business travel in the heart of River Oaks”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was a well maintained and manicured property. Despite being and older property, it has been well updated and appointed throughout. Our favorite experience here is the managers reception on the 18th floor on Wednesday nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello RudyN,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your story regarding your recent stay at CPRO! It's nice to hear that you attended our IHG reception that we offer on Wednesdays. It's a great time to relax after a long day and enjoy complimentary refreshments as well as raffle for IHG reward points. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your return!!
Take care,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    320
    170
    76
    62
See reviews for
253
192
106
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

How many times have you tried to recreate a great experience only to have it fall far short of expectations?! Well, not this time! Crowne Plaza River Oaks came through like four aces for me once again.

A friend of mine decided to have his wedding reception there (that's a whole different GREAT review!) and we decided to get rooms so we didn't have to drive afterwards! Could they do for an entire group what they did for a few? Could they maintain the same great service and warm hospitality? Would everyone leave happy with their experience? YOU BETCHA!

The rooms were great and comfortable. The staff was very accomodating (you know how wedding receptions can be) and Mandy, the concierge, was her usual best! She made herself available for the entire reception group, not just those of us that booked rooms for the night.

In short (although it may be too late for that), I have nothing but praise for the Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks and the staff. Great location. Great property. Great staff. Stay there when visiting Houston. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask Mandy, the concierge, or anyone at the front desk for any of your special needs. She's the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank General_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello General
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such fantastic feedback!! I am thrilled to hear that our hotel and staff exceeds your expectations every time!! We are honored that your buddy chose the CPRO for his wedding and we are even more thrilled to hear that our staff took such great care of y'all during such a special event! I will pass on your comments to our staff and I know they will appreciate you recognizing them for their superb service. We look forward to taking care of you so we can do it all again!!
Best Regards,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston Rier Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Have you ever walked up to a hotel front desk holding clothes on hangers? What do you do? You have to search around the room for a door knob to hang them in or attempt the difficult task of juggling out your ID/credit card while simultaneously keeping your clothes from falling off the hanger or touching the floor. It's terrible, right? We'll at the Crowne Plaza in River Oaks THEY HAVE GARMENT HOOKS ATTACHED TO THE DESK!!!!

That alone was enough for me to give this hotel a glowing review, but there's more.

Every Wednesday they have a managers party for rewards members on the top floor with complementary drinks and finger food. I ask you, What's better than getting tipsy with the IHG elite on someone else's tab? Very few things, in fact. There was cake.

You may be reading this thinking, "all that sounds awesome, but how about the room?" Let me tell you, they have beds, desk, televisions, phones, Sony Dream Machines (I wasn't brave enough to discover what those actually did) and even showers with hot water! Never, I repeat NEVER, assume your hotel room will come with hot water. They also had enough electrical outlets to handle even the most gadget-laden traveler's charging needs. Most importantly, everything was clean and appeared relatively new.

There is a popcorn machine in the bar. You have no idea how many servings of popcorn you are capable of consuming when 1.) they are free and fresh, and 2.) there is giant machine full of it next to a place that serves you booze and has televisions.

I'll say one last thing and then shut up. The staff at this hotel is ridiculously nice and attentive. I can honestly say that no other IHG property has ever done so much to make my stay as pleasant as this one, and I love IHG hotels. In all seriousness, they are phenomenal.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuervotheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello cuervotheone,
WOW!! Reviews don't get any better than yours..Thank you!! I am sure that the TA readers will appreciate such a detailed review! I am thrilled to hear how much you loved our hotel, staff & services. Mandy, our concierge noticed that most of the time our guest have their hands full and it was difficult to check in so we implemented having the hooks at the front desk. I know that she will be thrilled to hear that you appreciate them. Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback! We look forward to your return!!
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was my second visit to River Oaks, and it was as awesome as the first. Everyone went out of their way to help us make our stay incredible. There was an issue that needed to be addressed and it was handled instantly and very professionally. We had personal follow up from the manager and the concierge to make sure the issue was resolved to our satisfaction. We truly look forward to our next stay at River Oaks!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello Davis B,
Thank you for staying wit us at CPRO for the second time!! I am sorry to hear that an issue arose but I was thrilled to hear that you were well taken care of. Service recovery is very important to us and we strive to make sure all of our guests leave satisfied. We really appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to taking care of you again!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The staff goes the extra mile. When I needed some help with a reservation, they were very helpful. This hotel works out well for business travel and I plan to use in the future. Crowne plaza river oaks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel1000941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello travel100,
I am glad to hear that our staff went above and beyond for you and was able to help with your reservation. We have a great team and know they will appreciate you recognizing them for their hard work. We look forward to taking care of you the next time your travels brings you to Houston.
Safe travels,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

So we went for our 7 year wedding anniversary and we got the 17th floor and even a quiet zone area. The room was great and it was quite the services was wonderful.The location is great many places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask to be on on a quiet zone floor ( 17th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello Faye H,
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay!! We honored that you chose CPRO for to celebrate your 7th wedding anniversary! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your review and we hope to take care of you again soon!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. The lobby has lots of comfortable seating with free delicious coffee! The rooms are large, updated and well appointed. The bedding was very comfortable with 4 fluffy pillows and soft, soft sheets. Free shuttle to MD Anderson and to The Galleria. Safe area with wonderful shopping and dining within walking distance or an easy drive. In and out garage parking was very convenient. Front desk staff had the attitude of what can we do to help and make your stay more enjoyable - great team.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello Teresa R,
Thank you so much for sharing your candid comments on our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you love our hotel, staff & amenities! The complimentary shuttle is a very convenient way to get around to visit great restaurants and the nearby attractions. We have such a great staff that strives to make sure we help our guests have the best stay possible. I know our staff will be thrilled to read your review. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to your return!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Property: Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Address: 2712 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77098-4607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#49 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing