We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ, Sliders and Guacamole”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District
Ranked #13 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is in a greeat location, close to museums, the zoo, out door park, Rice University. It is also on a metro line that will take you straight down town. Alos the hotell shuttle service will take you to any museum or restaurant with in a 2 mile radius -and mind you there are plenty. In addition to going to museums and the zoo, we paddle boated and eat out weekend away in Houston. What a fun place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1happytravele75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2011

mom and i stayed here because they allowed pets (with a small deposit), and because the location was near friends. there's not much to do in the general area except medical-related stuff, though. the hotel was your standard marriott - clean, streamlined design, good staff. the only negative was that we had to wait awhile for the elevators.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Set in the heart of the Texas Medical Centre, it is an excellent location for patients, relatives, visiting doctors etc. The local doctors and other staff too patronize the restaurants, so the place almost has an almost festive appearance with different coloured scrubs floating around. Must be comforting for the resident patients!

We had requested for an early check in and we were checked in by 10 AM. Good clean room, indoor heated swimming pool, free internet in lobby, complementary shuttle to neighbouring areas on request, good breakfast.......

Very solicitous staff - they get a lot of sick people and they give lots of TLC! The Houston Marriot, Texas Medical Centre USP is spreading good cheer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verinagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Marriott Medical Center during the Houston Rodeo and during the Final Four. The staff was great from the time I walked in the door, fast check-in experience, room service and house keeping personnel were extremely courteous and out going and the concierge lounge was fully stocked and ready to serve our needs. We were able to enjoy the bar when we returned from events due to it staying open late to accommodate guests. I have stayed here several times before these events and continue to return because of the consistently great experience I have every time. Keep it up and I look forward to visiting soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank extreme-traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed for the Rodeo Cook Off... The location was perfect and the staff was very friendly and accomadating. We wanted to stay another night but the hotel was full. The front desk agent said she would call me if a room came available. She called the next morning! Great service!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rantho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Marriott Medical Center for the Final Four weekend. The staff was extremely courteous and out going to ensure every guest had a positive experience. Check in and Check out was seamless. The room service wa very timely. Hot food was Hot and Cold Food was cold. The bar stayed open late to accomodate the guests after both games. i have already suggested this location for co workers and will be reserving rooms for upcoming Houston Texans football games. This location is only 40 miles from my house, however you feel like you are on vacation and not business when you stay there. Keep up the great service. I am a Marriott Platinum member and this property provides better than Platinum service.

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack_jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from March 31 to April 5, 2011. We were there for the Final Four. The hotel is very convenient if you are there to visit the medical center. The hotel is also adjacent to a light rail line which provides transportation to and from downtown and to and from Reliant stadium. However, Houston, is so spread out and car dependent that be prepared to spend a lot of money on taxi cabs if you want to go any where else but downtown. The hotel does provide a courtesy shuffle for any place within 2 miles of the hotel.

The hotel is very clean. The rooms are only average (not 4 star quality) and the bathrooms very small. The excerise room is also small with limited equipment. There is also a very small indoor pool.

The biggest problem that this hotel suffers from is poor service. Even though the hotel had more than one year's notice of the arrival of the Final Four, it was poorly prepared to handle the event. The only hotel bar was never fully staffed and there were excessively long waits for service. The food service was very poor. We ate breakfast several times at the hotel and every server we had either did not understand English or they were constantly confused. The food however was good once you finally got waited on and served the correct meal.

Management definitely needs to focus on better training for its staff who, while pleasant enough, simply did not appear to know how to do their jobs.

Until the service issues are resolved especially considering the rates this hotel charges I can not recommend this hotel. It is too expenseive to have these many deficiencies. I am a Marriott club member and this is the worst Marriott property we have visited.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derbycityvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 517 in Houston
485 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 517 in Houston
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District

Address: 6580 Fannin Street, Driveway Entrance on 1730 Dryden Road, Houston, TX 77030
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#85 Business Hotel in Houston
#87 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £131 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly across from the largest medical center in the world, Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District provides incredible convenience to top health care institutions including MD Anderson Cancer Center, Texas Children's Hospital and Houston Methodist Hospital. Our hotel in Houston, Texas is the ultimate retreat, featuring sleek guest rooms with high-speed internet and luxury bedding. During free time in Houston, get your heart rate pumping at our nicely appointed fitness center, then cool down with a tranquil swim in our indoor pool. Explore the best of Houston on the MetroRail just outside our front door or take a quick ride to top Houston attractions such as the Hermann Park, Museum of Natural Science or the Children’s Museum, all less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Medical Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing