We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District
Ranked #12 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my recent stay at the Marriott in the medical center. I'm not a big fan of hotels that nickel-and-dime you, like for internet and parking. The staff however are very warm and welcoming. They made me feel like I was their guest and they were happy I was there. Among the amenities they offer complimentary shuttle service to/from any destination within a 2 mile radius. That's perfect if you want to check out the shops at the Village. The room was nice. The bed and pillows in particular were very comfy! What a relaxing sleep!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank rudyv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek E, General Manager at Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Good day,

Thank you for your response and feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with our ladies and gentlemen.
We hope to see you back with us again soon.

Best,
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was a very nice hotel in a very convenient location. They allowed me to check in early so I could take my two early afternoon conference calls from my room. The room was very nice. As a gold member I would have had lounge access, but it is only open Mon-Thurs, but I was still offered free internet and breakfast in the restaurant. There was initially a bit of difficulty having our meeting planner personnel call me about setting up for our meeting, but after we talked with the front desk staff in person, they quickly accomodated us. The meeting facilities were very nice, the event representatives very accomodating, and food was good. The hotel is also located near many good restaurants with a complimentary shuttle. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ckckckckckck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek E, General Manager at Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Good day,

Thank you for your feedback and response regarding your stay with us. We appreciate and value the feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel the next time your travels bring you to Houston.
Best,
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel was not what one would expect from a Marriott. The front desk staff couldn't have been lovelier and more accommodating, but stepping into your room was like taking a step back in time or into a lower end hotel. Old, dated furniture, small bathroom, also dated, no room safe ( had to be bothered going a couple times a day with trips into the lobby with a bank vault-like procedure), and a very uninviting pool. The restaurant was fine, as was their very accommodating waitstaff, the location good especially if you need to be near the medical center, but if you are looking for a hotel worthy of its hefty rate, go elsewhere or wait another year when, we were told, the rooms will have had a big facelift. It certainly needs one.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4travelingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek E, General Manager at Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Good day,

I would like to thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay wtih us. I'm happy to hear that your encounters with our ladies and gentelmen was a wonderful experience. I apologize that we did not meet your expectation with regards to the guest rooms. We are indeed confirmed for a renovation in 2015 for the guest rooms and are very much looking forward to it. We hope that you wil be able to come back and expereience the renovated hotel once completed.
Thank you.
Best,
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very syrprising l nice hotel for a reasonal price near at the medical center. I would recommend to any one to stay here even if you have no business at the medical center. It is located in a nice quite area and close to other parts of Houston that have shopping and dinning out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek E, General Manager at Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Good day,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. i'm happy to hear the expereince was enjoyable and on behalf of the hotel we hope to be able to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Houston.

Best,
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I spent about a month at the Marriott when we first went to Houston. We had rooms which allowed us access to the concierge level so got breakfast and evening buffet included on week days. The food in both the club room and the restaurants was great - and great value if you ate at happy hour. We found the staff more than helpful, and they remembered names, likes and dislikes, etc. - and the young lady who ran the concierge lounge was a true treasure. It did get busy on weekends but apart from a wait for the elevators at busy times we had no complaints. The free shuttle was very useful to get out to Rice Village or some of the supermarkets. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard. The proximity to all the medical centers and hospitals was fantastic. Hermann Park was within walking distance and the metro stop was right outside. The rooms were quiet despite the transit and the traffic. I would stay there again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjsjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek E, General Manager at Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Good day,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear your experience was wonderful. I will be sure to share with our ladies and gentlemen. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Houston Marriott Medical Center for your next travels to Houston.

Best,
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Marriott Medical Center Hotel is very well located to be able to walk to doctors offices and hospitals, but they seem to take advantage of this fact. A room rate is around $300 then you have to add on taxes which makes it about $350 then parking per day about another $25 then internet charges for another $20 and since breakfast is not included you will be out another $25. So if you are willing to spend around $425 per night then it is a great place. In the future I will stay out and take the metro rail in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travels4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek E, General Manager at Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Good day,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm please to hear the experience was enjoyable. Please consider us for your next visit to Houston as hotel rates do change day by day.
Thank you.
Best,
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is a typical Marriott and we have to agree - this hotel has great, friendly, helpful staff. Everyone thanked us for choosing this hotel. Even the breakfast waitress made a special effort to thank us for staying with them. This hotel is within walking distance (1.2 miles) to the museums and zoo. The walk was easy along the park and very enjoyable. One thing we could not figure out is whether or not this hotel has a concierge floor. We would have stayed there if possible, but did not see that option on the reservation page. Yet the elevator had a concierge floor. Confusing. But still worth staying there. Only issue - parking is a bit expensive. $23 a day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek E, General Manager at Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Good day,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm thrilled to know you enjoyed the hotel, location and our ladies and gentlemen. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Houston Marriott Medical Center on your next visit to the Houston area.

Best,
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 518 in Houston
498 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 518 in Houston
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District

Address: 6580 Fannin St, Driveway Entrance on 1730 Dryden Road, Houston, TX 77030-2708
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#85 Business Hotel in Houston
#87 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £112 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly across from the largest medical center in the world, Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District provides incredible convenience to top health care institutions including MD Anderson Cancer Center, Texas Children's Hospital and Houston Methodist Hospital. Our hotel in Houston, Texas is the ultimate retreat, featuring sleek guest rooms with high-speed internet and luxury bedding. During free time in Houston, get your heart rate pumping at our nicely appointed fitness center, then cool down with a tranquil swim in our indoor pool. Explore the best of Houston on the MetroRail just outside our front door or take a quick ride to top Houston attractions such as the Hermann Park, Museum of Natural Science or the Children’s Museum, all less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Medical Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing