We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth the Points!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
Ranked #175 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Not Worth the Points!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Instead of staying with the crew at a host hotel during my last trip, I tried to earn some extra points with Hilton. Sadly, this was not a good experience for me.

The hotel is located in the medical district downtown and may have been attached to a medical facility of some kind. Location is good but parking- not so much. The first impression was the garage, where I assume, doctors and staff park; sheerly based on the makes and models of the 12 cars in total that occupied the entire first 3 "Reserved" floors.

The room wasn't anything to write home about. Bed was comfy but curtains were affixed to the track, so I couldn't close heavy ones when undressing (had to bring everything inside the bathroom), and couldn't open the sheers when I woke up.

Room service stops at 11pm on a Saturday and I was kind of hoping for it to run a bit later than that, so I ordered breakfast for the next morning instead.

They forgot to include the main part of the dish. Of course, I realized afterwards and the eggs weren't cooked all the way through so I couldn't eat those entirely either.

When I went down to the desk to request an updated bill, I mentioned that I didn't recieve what I ordered and the concierge didn't apologize or ackowledge my comment, printed a bill including the breakfast and asked me to turn in my key.

Next thing you know I am backing up in a parking garage with a line of two other cars because he forgot to mention I needed that to raise the gate.

Oy! Not impressed! Hope you have a better expeience than I did!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ln_spindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt U, Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
While we do share the garage with the professional building next door, the parking elevators provide easy access to the lobby from each floor. I will address with the department managers your particular comments regarding your food and beverage experience and departure. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    154
    110
    68
    54
See reviews for
159
72
44
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The hotel is a bit outdated but it is close to Rice and not far from MD Anderson. They have a car service that brings you to museums or hospitals every 30 minutes. Breakfast does not have many choices, but it is ok. The air conditioning is a bit noisy. You can easily listen to people of your next room if you have a communicating door. Service is fairly good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are constantly looking at ways to improve the guest experience throughout the hotel. We are in the process of making several changes to enhance our morning food and beverage experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stay here when visiting md Anderson. Very quiet room! Once when I did not feel well from chemo I called room service and they made me a sandwich I requested that wasn't on the menu. Great customer service!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k_branTulsa_Oklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send your response. I will make sure to pass along your comments to the team members. A great guest experience is the goal of each member of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center - good service for our college football team & families.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for your comments. We truly appreciate the opportunity to host you and your family and friends when you travel. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Houston Plaza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Checking in at the Hilton was a breeze once someone was nice enough to open the door at midnight. Security seems to be the key, but I was lucky that there was someone on the other side of the door who notice my presence. For my total surprise my online check in had stuck (the first time ever) and I even got to keep the room I've selected. I was upgraded to a suite (available for selection on the online check-in), not that it mattered for one night. When asking about breakfast coupons,I was just told to come down to the restaurant for breakfast and no coupon was given (more on that later).

The room itself is dated, but nice and big and would just do for one night. No view to speak off but this is about Houston not about the hotel. Unfortunately it seems it was not thoroughly cleaned as one of the trash can was not empty. I've discovered it only in the morning.

After consuming breakfast at the restaurant they have told me I should have gone to the "special room" and not the main restaurant. I was not charged though. So if you are here just pay attention.

All in all, a perfectly acceptable stay for one night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDDCFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed here on a Business trip right before Thanksgiving. It's on a quiet street (Travis st) just about 2 blocks from Texas Medical center. I had a suite overlooking Rice Univ. campus on a really high floor, I think 18th. Room service was good; the one-bedroom suite was very spacious and business rate was reasonable. There is a continuous shuttle to the medical center if that's your reason for visiting. Breakfast at restaurant in lobby is good. Really no complaints and it seemed the property was in good condition and very courteous staff. There is a business center which will work in a pinch (I forgot to bring my laptop!) but the computers are a bit slow. Internet access in the rooms would have been complimentary so bring your own computer.

Room Tip: The northwest side overlooks Rice campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestwoodTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Nice hotel with large rooms. Most rooms are large suites but there are some typical rooms if you're on a budget. There's also a free shuttle that runs twice an hour. Staff was helpful. Only issue was with the continental breakfast for gold members which was skimpy. I'll stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
University Place
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center

Property: Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
Address: 6633 Travis St, Houston, TX 77030-1308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#143 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center hotel is located in the heart of the Texas Medical Center, the largest medical facility in the world, and is on the doorstep of Rice University. We offer complimentary shuttle service around the extensive medical center complex and surrounding areas.Our rooms and 720-sq.ft. suites provide views of the Houston skyline, and we host two onsite dining options for your breakfast, lunch and dinner needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Plaza Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing