We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ROOMS-BAD STAFF-BAD SERVICE-MEDICAL STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
Ranked #152 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Medical stay-skin cancer surgery at MD Anderson Mohs Clinic attached to Hilton. Great room. Great medical rate. Restaurant staff and the food were great. Front desk woman had bad attitude. Late check out time was changed from initial reservation by this woman to an earlier time.Room keys didn't work twice. Free Parking was promised and that was a lie. Sunday night stay for surgery early Monday morning. Very Few guests in hotel and a family with screaming kids were put right next to us. 19 floors in this hotel! Kids screamed until 11:30 pm when we called the front desk to ask for help. It should have never been booked that way!!!! Woman at front desk was not friendly or helpful...Shame on this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 82gregh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to mention both the positive experiences and challenges. I have reviewed your comments with the appropriate department managers and we will work hard to correct any deficiencies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We felt that this did not meet the Hilton Name, the service could have been better. They did not have are room type correct along with insisting that we where in the correct room. After another employee walked by and over heard the conversation, she new immediately which room that we had reserved. Are bath tub did not work correctly so we ended up having to give are one year old showers instead of baths. The bell service during the week was very good, over the weekend it was not that great. The bed was had a piece of foam underneath the sheets, this definitely could have been better. I kind of felt that we where staying at a motel for then anything else. The employees do smoke outside near the entrance, so if your looking for a completely smoke free facility, beware. Overall it served its purpose for the weekend, for the price I don't know if we will stay here again or not. It is close to the hospitals and within walking distance which was nice. I would also make sure you are very clear if eating in the restaurant, they do misinterpet sometimes. The elevators where a little confusing, we could not get one to work and when we told the maintenance guys they just kind of looked at us and kept going. Finally after it opened back up, they came over and said you need to use the card for room in order to go up, but not all of the elevators require this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit. I have shared your review with our staff as we continually look for ways to enhance the guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel a handful of times and it continues to be one of our favorite hotels in Houston. Reasonably priced for a nice size suite; perfect for our family of four, which includes a small child and teenager; clean pool; very friendly staff. The only complaint is not offering complimentary breakfast and the ages track/flooring by the pool. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Stephnrich25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I have to say one of the great things about this hotel is the friendly people. Not only was the staff friendly but so were the other guests that stayed there! The room was very clean and quaint. The view was great! Wish the room had a balconey. Working the thermostat was a lil hard but learned it. Room service was awesome! The pool was clean and blue. Track was a lil worn out though. Lots safety and security. You need to use your room key to work the elevator.Cameras on every floor and security guards around the parking garage. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trackstar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel suite that I stayed in was nicely sized and clean. I didn't use any of the amenities during my short stay but the distance from the hotel to Rice University was very convenient and made my trip a breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tf3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are fortunate to have a great location near Rice University as well as the Texas Medical Center and Museum district. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed at this Hilton location to attend our son's graduation from Rice University last weekend. What a great location. So close we noticed several families walking over to the campus even thought the hotel provided a shuttle bus service every half hour (note: only could accommodate 7 passengers per trip so reserve early). This is a great location if you are going to attend Rice football games or any athletic event also. Very clean, friendly staff. Note: parking was $9 for self-parking in their garage (in&out privileges were great).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for providing some great feedback about the property, location and amenities. The shuttle is great way to see some of the things in our area like the museums, the Village and the Texas Medical Center. We hope to see you for all the Rice home games.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This Hilton caught our attention because it was $100/night less expensive than the Marriott two blocks away. It still has kind of an '80s look, wallpaper in the bathroom and a phone jack there on the wall by the toilet; pool has plastic green turf around it, etc. Carpets in the halls need replacing. But the rooms are big and comfortable and very clean. The restaurant is fine and tries to keep up with the latest trends; an updated Starbuck's is close by, and a stroll over to Rice Village will provide a lot of places to eat. A walk through nearby Rice U campus with its many Live Oak trees and beautiful landscaping is a pleasant way to end a stressful day. The desk staff always was helpful, there is a shuttle to the Houston Med Center too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyEline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the staff and amenities. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I am happy to announce we are scheduled to begin a major renovation toward the end of the year that will transform the property. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center

Address: 6633 Travis St, Houston, TX 77030-1308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#143 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £87 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center hotel is located in the heart of the Texas Medical Center, the largest medical facility in the world, and is on the doorstep of Rice University. We offer complimentary shuttle service around the extensive medical center complex and surrounding areas.Our rooms and 720-sq.ft. suites provide views of the Houston skyline, and we host two onsite dining options for your breakfast, lunch and dinner needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Plaza Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing