We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not lively but very nice, clean and cozy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Houston
Ranked #32 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Cozy rooms with fantastic bedding, clean lobby with a great bar, coffee shop on sight, quick elevators, friendly staff, helpful front desk, great city skyline views, and amazingly spacious bathrooms with vanity area make this a great choice for any visit to downtown Houston. Went for a quick one night getaway with my husband, and we both loved it.

This is a very quiet, business friendly hotel. It is, however, near enough to plenty of downtowns best bars and eateries, and just a few minutes from all of the greatness of Midtown. Just a block from the metro-rail, and very near several of the Houston Bike Share stations, so it is a great location even if you do not have a car. If you do have a car plan to pay for Valet. At only $30 for the night it was well worth the price, especially when compared to the self-parking lot at $15, which was two blocks away and did not offer in-and-out privileges.

I definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to have a quiet date night, someone on business, a relaxing girls weekend (not talking bachelorette weekend here) or anyone who simply wants to rejuvenate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,428 of 2,080 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel sucks after the 1st floor. I was just a normal guest with an upgraded corner room. I checked in on Friday afternoon to leave Sunday morning... let me break it down for the 3 days.

Day 1. Room compressor breaks, the entire wall shakes, request a room change, its delayed a few hours/ all day! At 4am (same room) the one room next to me decides to rage out, banging walls and parting hard. I call the front desk - they handle it as they should, Houston PD makes arrests, pretty terrible night but I eventually got my room change confirmation after the all day loud buzzing noise and the rage party got shut down... not so bad ehh?

Day 2. just changed rooms, the A/C is not working.. refuse to believe it.. before the change I had simply requested (if possible) no neighbors.. I got little sleep, simple request for paying 135$ a night... they confirm that they will make sure that no one stays next to me for such a terrible night. Things are looking up ehh? Well my A/C kept defaulting to heater and was blowing heat.. in Houston... are you kidding me? I lost 10 lbs waiting for another room change. They spent a few hours fixing the problem and I decided to stay in the room due to the no neighbors next to me. Well at 430 am, the room next to me is worse than the night before. I call front desk, they confirm no one is next to me.. I tell them kindly (sarcasm) to please come stop the 430 am party b/c a lot of promises are being broken and its 430 am. well come to find out they gave that room to HYATT OFFICE STAFF TO PARTY IN. The front desk manager, and the staff in the room were yelling at each other at 5 am in front of my door. No communication at all between comp rooms and the front desk. I got 0 sleep that night, all the staff got in trouble by upper management.. Not a good night for them or myself.

Day 3 - checkout. Rooms are complimentary... ohhh that's great I appreciate the free rooms after 2 room changes, 0 sleep, 2 broken A/C's, and the one guarantee of no neighbors and you throw a staff party next to my room. Could it get worse? YUP.... MY VEHICLE THAT WAS AT THE HYATT VALET GOT BROKEN INTO!!! They stole everything. They broke into 5 cars. One of them was mine. They were parked below the hotel in the Hyatt Valet Garage. They have 0 liabilities for theft. They are refusing the help, and the only thing they are responsible for is damage to my car, not the stuff stolen out of my car. They are beyond rude, inconsiderate, do not explain that we need to remove valuable items, and kindly acknowledge my Cadillac door being broken. This is even possible to be an inside job, but they wont let me try to figure that out? They have 0 excuses of how it happened, refused to give security tapes, and not a SINGLE person (hotel manager or Director of valet operations) has called me back or been "available" to return my calls for over 48 hours now. 5 nice cars get broken into, alarms gong off, not a single report from them or effort to help. They are running scared in fear of me trying to prove a point. They will not look back in time. And hope I just grow tired of trying to salvage my weekend.

I live in Austin... have no idea how to handle a police report in Houston for a hotel that doesn't give 2 seconds about their clients. This valet service was the worst; the hotel is so slow to react. For the price, the only thing going for it is the Einstein Bagel in the lobby. If you don't have problems im sure it’s a great place, if you do have problems they are not good/ will not handle them correctly. There are many hotels to choose from in that area, DO NOT CHOOSE THIS ONE.

Room Tip: Do not choose a corner room. EVER
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Keith, please allow me to seize this opportunity to apologize again that your stay was anything less than perfect. We share your concern regarding the unfortunate break-in to your vehicle as the safety and security of our guests is a top concern. Even though this was an isolated incident, we sincerely empathize with your frustration on being a victim of a crime. I am glad we were able to speak personally after you wrote this review and were able to resolve all of your concerns to your satisfaction. Your honest and candid feedback is very important to us and I appreciated your positive comments on how our staff handled your situation. Thank you for giving us another opportunity to restore your confidence in Hyatt Regency Houston and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for work. Was the same week as the big oil and gas conference, and ended up paying a "discounted rate" of about $359.00. The hotel is nice, but not $359.00 nice. Because of the line at the check-in counter I was directed to check in using a kiosk, which worked fine and was quick, but was somewhat unique for what I was paying to stay at the hotel. I also checked out at the kiosk. The hotel has a bit of a self-service feel to it. It is a large hotel with about 30 floors. All of the floors open to an atrium as tall as the building. The only downside is a lot of the noise from the lobby bar filters up and could be heard in my room on the 23rd floor. The room was modern, nice, and clean, but again, not $359.00 worthy. All in all I have no complaints other than the fact I have stayed at other hotels in Houston, like the Four Seasons, for that price, which have a much more elegant feel, with a lot more staff available to assist.

Room Tip: Try to get on a high floor to escape the noise from the lobby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Definitely a business hotel geared toward business travelers.
The most pleasant surprise on this stay was an outdoor running trail spanning the riverfront area just a few blocks from the hotel.
http://www.buffalobayou.org/parks.html
Swimming pool is a good lap pool and was not used much while I was there.
Room was clean, staff was friendly. There were two errors on my bill that were immediately corrected. Concierge services were rudimentary.
I was on the 27th floor and I could still hear the lobby bar, as well as outside construction work.
Spindletop doesn't have a bar, just a little lounge seating area, so it wasn't necessarily great for a solo traveler.
Doubletree is right around the corner, so I would probably be price sensitive if I stayed in this section of downtown again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank withliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is nice and clean and what you would expect from a hotel that caters mainly to corporate guests. Actually, I would say ONLY corporate guests.

The design of the hotel is such that the lobby and hotel bar on the ground floor are at the bottom of a triangular tube structure. It's neat because when you are sipping away at your bud light along with your other corporate, pleated pant, square toe shoe donning energy folk, you can watch the fairly lit elevators glide up and down the walls of the tall structure.

This design also lends itself to an awful sound reverberation that originates in the bar area. As one would expect, the sound increases proportionally to the number of Buds or Millers the energy industry has been imbibing downstairs.

There are also a lot of call girls that seem to frequent the hotel. Not surprising given the clientele.

Room Tip: Away the middle of the building....if that's even possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dante341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have booked this hotel on March 10th for a conference stay in May, i got a special rate of 250.00 a day for 3 day stay. I am wondering how much does it cost for a non special rate. As i was checking they informed that only room left was near the elevator even though i requested away from the elevator. So yes my room is right next to the elevator on top of its its a handicap room there is NO SHELVING UNITS IN THE BATHROOM, please see the picture. i had to use night table to hold my bathroom necessities.
I wanted to schedule a wake up call for my morning meetings, and my telephone doesnt work so i called front desk from my cell phone it took them 25minutes to send an engineer to fix it, after twirling around it with it he said he has to go back downstairs and get a new phone because the replacement one isnt working. Now its 2.19am and i still dont have a phone so i just called front desk and told them to forget about fixing the phone and waking me up in the morning i just want to go to bed at this point.
I didnt even take a picture of old beds that are so low to the ground and definitely not comfortable
I AM REALLY GLAD I have been marriot gold member for a reason, HYATT houston unprofessional and definitely not equipped to handle needs of business people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businessivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to provide us with feedback on your stay. On behalf of the hotel, I'd like to sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. I do appreciate you sharing your observations as we are always looking for ways to improve; Guest satisfaction is a high priority to us. We hope to welcome you back in the future for an opportunity to restore your confidence in Hyatt Regency Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

30 story open atrium is hard to beat, the architecture has always been my first draw. I was there 40 odd years ago when it opened and it is just as good now. The staff is first class, good location, extremely clean, good bar, good food, quite room, good A/C. What else can you want in a hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CareyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Regency Houston and sharing your review. We are delighted to hear about your love for the amazing accommodations you had during your visit! We can't wait to show you more at all of our other locations worldwide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 517 in Houston
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#38 of 517 in Houston
2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Houston

Address: 1200 Louisiana St, In the Center of Downtown, Houston, TX 77002-5209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Houston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#47 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £125 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 955
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown’s thriving business and entertainment districts, the newly renovated Hyatt Regency Houston is connected to restaurants and services via the city’s famous seven-mile tunnel system. Walk to events at the nearby George R. Brown Convention Center. Take in a game at Minute Maid Park or Toyota Center. Be sure to save time to enjoy a show in downtown’s Theater District or explore the shops along Main Street. A quick ride on Houston’s METRO Light Rail, with stops just seconds from our hotel, will take you to the renowned Museum District, Children’s Museum, the Houston Zoo, the Texas Medical Center or Reliant Park. Enjoy 360-degree views of the city as you dine on award-winning cuisine at Spindletop, our iconic revolving restaurant. When it’s time to relax, retreat to your spacious accommodations and enjoy the plush Hyatt Grand BedTM, state-of-the-art technology and thoughtful amenities. Always the right choice; book your reservation now at our outstanding accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing