We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Einstein bagels in the lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Houston
Ranked #35 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved Einstein bagels in the lobby”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was here or a conference, room was nice and I slept great. Loved the fact that I was able to get a good espresso drink and fresh Einstein bagel any time of the day.
Also had breakfast one morning at the restaurant and the best part was the amazing friendly service.
The bar was nice and relaxing with the open air space annex the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Always remember to ask for room far from elevator, I do now and sleep much better.
See more room tips
Green Features: The one practice I noticed was having proper glasses for water in all the meeting rooms. That is all I noticed.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceci_Trovels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    625
    270
    67
    69
See reviews for
223
252
105
1,011
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here on business for 4 nights and was very satisfied on the whole. There were a few issues that affected my stay, but these are with regards to the food provision only and the service that accompanied this aspect.
The decor is of very high specification with the internal atrium providing a very contemporary setting.
My room was very comfortable and overlooked downtown.

BREAKFAST:
Compared with all other hotels I stay in, the buffet breakfast was disappointing in that it doesn't offer much choice. There is the usual fried egg and bacon or scrambled eggs and that's just about it.
The cold section is very basic with only 2-3 selection of fresh fruit, no tubs of yogurt - just a large pot which tends to be the same flavour every day. Apart from this, there are a few pastries but that's it!. I guess they try to make you order from the breakfast menu which is an additional charge if you're on a B & B basis.

LOBBIBAR MENU:
Very limited. This was VERY DISAPPOINTING. I have a special dietary issue and there was NO alternatives for me (gluten free). My meal eventually arrived with two spare ribs in the centre - Nothing else as they use gluten apparently in everything. The waitress was quite rude and failed to inform me that the price was still the same as the full meal consisting of fries etc. She was actually quite insulting when I questioned this meal.

SPINDLETOP RESTRAUNT:
Great place for sightseeing and a novelty way of dining. Very pleasant surrounding. Food quality very good - excellent and price reasonably good for the quality.
Service was ok, but felt a bit bothered by the constant checking of the waitress.

CONCIERGE:
These guys were FANTASTIC and a pleasure to be in their company.

CHECK - IN:
Pleasant staff, but made me wait 10 - 15 minutes whilst they went through all of the booking documents for my company booking (usually doesn't take this long anywhere else).

SWIMMING POOL:
Very nice and pleasant surroundings, but could be more relaxing if they turned down the music which they have almost full volume right beside the pool.

OVERALL:
Would stay here again and hope they have improved their food provision.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors and ask for a view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186430Seren7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with such a thorough review. We are so glad you were able to enjoy the food and view at Spindletop, and that the staff at our Concierge Desk delighted you during your time in Houston. We were disappointed to hear about your concerns regarding our breakfast buffet and LobbiBar menus, but we will be sure to discuss this with our Food and Beverage Director in order to provide great items to all of our guests. Again, thank you so much for your review, and we look forward to your next trip to the Hyatt Regency Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I had a room on the 9th floor. It was very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly. I found two sets of new, unused earplugs in the nightstand but had no need for them. I will stay here again if I have business in the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claytonj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hyatt Regency Houston. We are delighted to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and clean, as cleanliness is one of our biggest priorities. While we place earplugs in the room as a precaution, we are pleased that you didn't have a need for them. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to your next visit to Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Met my expectation of high quality, good sized gym and nicely appointed room. Innovative room service menu on the in room TV Monitor and far more extensive than I would expect.

But the best thing is being able to use the tunnels so he humidity does not destroy your hair!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are so happy to hear that you were able to use our fitness center and enjoy In-Room Dining; we will share your great comments with our Leadership Committee. We take advantage of the tunnels everyday, our associates love being safe from the Houston heat and humidity too! Again, thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here as part of a business conference and it was extremely convenient because of the sky bridge. The hotel was actually pretty cool, as you can see from other users’ photos. The staff was extremely nice and very helpful. The rooms were comfortable, the only complaint I had was paying for Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: There are only a few restaurants in the area that open past 4.
See more room tips
Green Features: I honestly didn't care or notice and I have to put something here for those people who care.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Location is perfect to travel from Downtown to Reliant by Metro Tram. Shula Restaurant still good quality. Hotel is always very noisy, even if rooms are comfortable, but earplugs should probably be part of the standard room amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agoefilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to learn that you liked Shula's, but are disappointed to hear that the noise level took away from your enjoyment of our hotel. We are currently working on a soundproofing project and hope to welcome you back soon so you can experience the enhancements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Here's a quick rundown from my recent stay for a business trip.
The good:
Location - in the heart of downtown Houston and within walking distance of my work building.
Food - I had room service one night which was delivered promptly and was delicious. I also bought coffee and egg and cheese bagels from the Einstein Brothers at the lobby. The mojito from the lobby bar was ok and during happy hour had free wonton snacks available.
Service - people at the front desk were nice and housekeeping replaced my towels everyday.
The bad and the ugly:
Room - it was a clean room in the tenth floor and five doors down from the elevator bank. I heard the constant ding of the elevators plus the noise from the lobby bar downstairs from my room. No wonder they provide earplugs in the room! I had to turn on the air to drown out the noise. Perhaps if my room was on a higher floor it wouldn't have bothered me.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators and choose a higher floor than 10th
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Houston

Property: Hyatt Regency Houston
Address: 1200 Louisiana St, In the Center of Downtown, Houston, TX 77002-5209
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Houston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#46 Family Hotel in Houston
#47 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 955
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown’s thriving business and entertainment districts, the newly renovated Hyatt Regency Houston is connected to restaurants and services via the city’s famous seven-mile tunnel system. Walk to events at the nearby George R. Brown Convention Center. Take in a game at Minute Maid Park or Toyota Center. Be sure to save time to enjoy a show in downtown’s Theater District or explore the shops along Main Street. A quick ride on Houston’s METRO Light Rail, with stops just seconds from our hotel, will take you to the renowned Museum District, Children’s Museum, the Houston Zoo, the Texas Medical Center or Reliant Park. Enjoy 360-degree views of the city as you dine on award-winning cuisine at Spindletop, our iconic revolving restaurant. When it’s time to relax, retreat to your spacious accommodations and enjoy the plush Hyatt Grand BedTM, state-of-the-art technology and thoughtful amenities. Always the right choice; book your reservation now at our outstanding accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing