We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Houston
Ranked #32 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“great location and staff”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were pleased with our first stay, with great staff in all interactions such as check in, breakfast, desert, and check out. Our rooms were clean and spacious. The hotel is right across from the galleria and there are many restaurants in the area. My minor gripe, since I knew at booking, are extra fees for parking (mostly worth it) and Internet (too high) .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    301
    138
    36
    30
See reviews for
141
131
50
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I spend a lot of time in houston for work. My office isn't far from the hotel. It has a very good gym, smaller pool and the staff is always very friendly. When you go out for dinner, there are tons of options nearby.... Check with the concierge first as you can get free shuttle service to nearby restaurants and they quiet often have special coupons for free drinks, desert etc. the hotel is also conveniently located across from a very large mall.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank greaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very nice Marriott property. I am not a regular in Houston, so I found it a little difficult to navigate, but I am sure if you are use to the area it shouldn't be so bad. I parked in the garage - big mistake. The entrance to the under ground garage is hard to find around back. The spaces are VERY small. I am sure that many cars leave there with small dings and dents from others car doors. I highly recommend that you valet your car.
Front staff was excellent. Very friendly and actually quite funny. Good young group of people. Room was very nice, clean and bathroom was nice size. Very good concierge lounge. Nice spread fro breakfast.
As my travels will be taking me to Houston more often, I will return to this property. However, I will definitely be using the valet parking.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank syrsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotonou, Benin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Been in Texas on a pre wedding trip and stayed in Houston for a week. JW Marriott is just an excellent hotel, very quiet, comfortable and detailed rooms. View on the city is also worth the stay...
Across the road from the Galleria shopping mall and best buy is not far neither for the electronics fans on Richmond avenue...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon_boy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia T, Manager at JW Marriott Houston, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank your for your review!

I apologize for your initial experience, however, I am thrilled to see that our associates recovered quickly and that you enjoyed your stay at the JW Galleria.

We hope you allow us the opportunity host you again, when traveling to this area!

Warm Regards,

Julia Turcotte
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a night with some friends. First off, the hotel staff sent us to a room which hadn't finished being cleaned yet. They apologized and gave us a bigger room and some marriott points which was nice. The concierge lounge is nice, and the lobby is nice as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The location was excellent. It is located across the street from the Galleria Mall and within walking distance or a short drive to many restaurants within all price ranges. The self-parking spots are small and cramped so be aware if you are driving a large vehiclke or SUV. We decided to valet and it was excellent. It was also nice to have a Starbucks in the lobby. The only con is that it is small and doesnt carry all of the food items of a larger Starbucks. Also be aware that not all of the rooms have a mini-fridge although the cabinets in the room were built to hold one. We asked about having a fridge brought up to nour room but we were told that they ran out. We were informed that a fridge would only be provided if there was a medical need for one. We were also told that we needed to request a fridge in advance. However, we were not informed of this when we booked nor is it listed anywhere on the hotel website. In general, the hotel employees were very nice and attentive.

Room Tip: If you need a mini-fridge, request it at the time you book your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertSATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia T, Manager at JW Marriott Houston, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi RobertSATX!

Thank you for your review!

It was so nice to hear your positive comments about our location, the excellent valet experience and our staff service, I appreciate the great feedback!

You are correct, we do not have refrigerators in all guest rooms, however, I am excited to share that we are beginning a comprehensive renovation this year, and the scope of the project includes elevators, escalators, guest rooms with reconfigured bathrooms (which makes the room much larger), refrigerators in all rooms, new televisions, a new health club, and more.

As a native San Antonian myself, I warmly welcome you back to Houston, and hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again at the JW Marriott Galleria!

Warm Regards,

Julia Turcotte
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Location, service and rooms we good. Beds very comfortable.
The bar downstairs was a bit slow with the service and a bit pricy but you do not have to walk far to find other places to eat and drink
Right across from the Galleria mall with loads of shopping.
Starbucks on site but only open from 6-11am.
Breakfast was amazing full service very nice.

Room Tip: Request one away form the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
The St. Regis Houston
The St. Regis Houston
#29 of 517 in Houston
629 reviews
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Houston

Property: JW Marriott Houston
Address: 5150 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056-5506
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Houston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#51 Family Hotel in Houston
#61 Business Hotel in Houston
#63 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Houston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Houston Hotel Houston
Jw Marriott Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston
Houston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing