We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
America's Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$157
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
US$177
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston(Houston)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$209
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$269
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$294
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
US$140
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
0
5
4
4
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
5
4
4
14
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I travel to Houston a lot, and I make a point of staying in $50-and-under hotels. Independently-owned America's Inn is better than most in that range, especially compared to some in the southwest part of town. I am a repeat customer so that should tell you something. The lobby is attractive, the rooms are clean though nothing fancy, and the staff is friendly.

The complimentary breakfast is coffee, juice, cereal, and muffins, which is about par for the course at this price range. If you want more, Denny's is right next door. The pillows were kind of flat and lumpy. I happen to like rough washcloths, so that was fine for me. The AC worked fine. My toilet leaked all night and flooded the bathroom floor, but that kind of thing can happen anywhere, and they were quick to fix it when I reported it. The TV is the old tube style.

The hotel is on the northbound Southwest 59 feeder, and if you understand how Houston feeders work you shouldn't have a problem getting to it. Despite its proximity to the freeway, I didn't notice road noise. At one time, the neighborhood was a little dodgy, but it seems to have cleaned up its act since my first stay. The hotel has a night guard on duty.

My only complaint is the WiFi. As a network engineer I depend on decent WiFi, but theirs seems to be a bunch of Linksys routers daisy-chained together, connected to a Cbeyond T-1 which means you're sharing 1.5 Mbps with all the other guests plus whatever voice bandwidth their phone system demands. Months ago they told me they were upgrading to Comcast but that never happened. I've offered them free network consultation but I never hear back from the manager. I guess it's not a priority for them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed a year ago and it was ok. Stayed a Friday night recently and it was even better! Clerk was friendly and fast to check us in and out. Didn't try breakfast. Denny's is next door. Arrived around 8pm and was able to park in front of our room door. Room was a nice size. Kind bed was clean and comfortable with flat, thin pillows. Paint looked good, carpet vaccuumed, tile in bathroom area mopped and all of the appliances (micro, medium-sized fridge, coffee maker, tv) were clean and worked fine. Wifi good. Had a table with 2 mismatched chairs, a dresser, a reclining chair, 2 nightstands, 4 lamps and a closet. All were fine. Nothing modern. Shower was ok, but the plumbing was loud in the walls. Slept without noise in Room 112. Only negatives were rough towels, weak shower pressure and loud pipes. With the price, location and cleanliness...we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djz032070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed one night beginning of august 2012.
Good Points: Clean, Wifi, breakfast (ish- see below), one of the more secure parking we have come across, especially if you are round the back of the building. noise was minimal, fridge and microwave in room. cheap- only cost $50 inc tax, per night in peak season.

Bad Points: the lifts were not working, which is a problem when your on the second floor with multiple suitcases. the bedding was outdated (but clean). the room was a good size (we had a king room), old style tv, breakfast was unimpressive, no toaster, just an oven style grill to do your toast on (also if you use this be very careful, no glove to remove tray and get toast when done, even covered my hand with my sleeve doubled over and still burnt myself), no yoghurts, fruit and only two options of cereal.

overall it was a okay place to stop the night, wouldnt have been very happy if we had been there for a week or so, but for a night or 2 stop over it is suitable and clean (which personally is the most important thing).

Room Tip: lower floors if lifts are not working still, and round the back of the building for safer parking.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

No matter what the cost - it is NOT worth it. The place needs a major face-lift or a bulldozer (I vote for the bulldozer).

Don't let the photos on the web page fool you. this place is really bad - starting with the bad smell and going all the way to the very old beds.

The only 'funny' thing was what the served for their comp breakfast. It was a MAJOR JOKE.

Find another hotel to stay in - this place is just bad!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0calO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Terrible rooms,broken furniture, towels with stains, suspicious people around while security guard watches tv , people check what is inside the cars in parking lot , ladies fight for their #%% money,

Don't expect the rates to be the same! The manager try to rip you off as much as he can if you do not realize the rates but other staff is ok. If you want a proof call them and see how they change things around.

I was new to Houston and did not know this place.

Room Tip: Away from people who live in the hotel who yell and check what are in the car and never ever book on weekends.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AquaBlueBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews