We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Omni Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Houston Hotel
Ranked #23 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A beautiful hotel with wonderful service. This level of service is not the lip service you receive at many hotels. The staff at the Omni are truly invested in making your stay a great one. The grounds are extremely well kept as are all facets of the facility. I would certainly choose the Omni Houston on my next stay in that area of Texas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank marksG5396KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    464
    157
    80
    63
See reviews for
381
414
74
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came to the Omni for an evening away, and enjoyed our stay.

Pros-
easy access from freeway

Nice pool area

Great breakfast

Lovely room

Good value for the price

The ladies spa dry sauna was brand new and in immaculate condition

Annie & Ebony provided a spectacular couples massage

Cons-
Construction on new parking garage just outside our room
Water tasted of chemicals at breakfast and in room

No bellhop ever opened my (passenger side) car door--- upon returning from dinner on Sunday night, 4 bellmen were outside- one helping a guest, the other three just talking. It was a little insulting, honestly.

Not a great view from the room (but really, how many places in Houston have a great view?!)

Windows were filmy and need a good exterior cleaning-- though that could be partly due to the aforementioned construction :)

Spa seemed surprised we were coming. Doors were still locked for 15 min after we were told to arrive, so we waited in lobby & called front desk.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sweetbasil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMan, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have reviewed your comments with our management team so that we can improve on the areas that you suggested needed some attention. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Although we live close to Houston, we love to spend a special weekend at the Omni. It has a great location to visit the Galleria, Memorial Park, the museum district/ West U. Next to Buffalo Bayou, it is a green oasis to come back to after going out on the town. The hotel is very well-maintained and the staff is welcoming and provides great service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
562 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Well due to a beyond horrible experience at the hands of The Omni Westside's manager Jimmy Wong we basically wrote off ever going back to another Omni Hotel even tho they are one of our favorite hotel chains and we are Platinum Members . However I received an offer from the Omni Select Club that I couldn't pass up. To be honest I'm glad we received it and went to the main Houston Omni, we have always loved it here and had a great time...this was no exception except for one terrible employee. (more on him later).
Since we are Omni Platinum members we asked for an early check in on Saturday so we could enjoy the pool and make a reservation at the spa within the hotel itself. We actually arrived a bit earlier than the set early check in time but the room was ready and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful...whew. Jimmy Wong needs to take some lessons from the manager at this hotel.
We got one of the Superior corner rooms and it was as clean and well appointed as I remember. Apparently the hotel has recently undergone a multi million dollar renovation and it looks great. It was fine the last time we visited and I think its fantastic that the Omni will actually renovate a hotel before it gets worn out and antiquated.
We got dressed and went down to the pool...it was very busy and everyone looked as they were having a grand time. We went to the towel stand and asked for two towels each..Nope, they only allow one per guest! Come on Omni...get with it! People want more that one towel! In fact there used to be a cabinet with the towels available as self serve.
Anyway there was only a couple of loungers open way in the back and in the shade. We grabbed them and sat down...a little disappointed that we weren't in the sun and on the other side of the large pool area. Our waitress came over and introduced herself...Valerie. She was amazing (more on her later as well). We opened a tab with Valerie and asked to please keep an eye out for some spots on the other side in the sun. Within minutes she and another young lady were carrying our loungers to a spot that she "created" on the other side! Great customer service indeed. We hung at the pool for a few hours taking advantage of some liberations and a lot of the complementary frozen grapes...yum. Valerie never missed a beat even tho I know she and the other waitress' were slammed.
We went back to our room to relax before our dinner reservations at Noe'. The room as I mentioned was beautiful and the bathroom large. We decided to go down to the lounge for a predinner drink. We grabbed a couple and thought it would be nice to go out to the pool. We new not to take glassware out there so the bartender put them in plastic cups. We proceed to the pool it was much less crowded by this time...we hung out for a few but it was close to our reservation time so we headed back in. That's were we first encountered Moses, this young man just must not like his job because he has a terrible attitude. We still had our drinks in our hands and he proceeds to rudely tell us that "HE" isn't going to allow us to bring our drinks in. We explained that we got them from the adjacent lounge but he basically told us we were lying. Unbelievable and unacceptable. We just decided to not try and argue with someone like him. We went back up to the room and ordered room service...it was good but with all the fees it was indeed expensive. We were looking forward to a nice romantic dinner with wine at the restaurant but Moses ruined that.
We finished our dinner, watched some TV, then we decided to go down to The Black Swan which is the dance club/bar within the hotel. On our way down 5-6 young people got into the elevator and there obviously headed to the same spot. We arrived at the basement level and we allowed the others to exit first and head on in. They were greeted by the doorman and allowed to go right in. As we made our way in next...guess who the doorman is?! The same clown Moses from the restaurant. Again he begins to give us a hard time...wanting our ID's. Now mind you he didn't asked the young adults in front of us but we were stopped and asked. Im 50 years old and my wife 40 and she left her purse in the room as I didn't my wallet. So because of this power tripping minimum wage person we had to go back upstairs to get our ID's. Now allow me to explain...its wasn't the fact that they require ID's but it was painfully obviously that this employee was singling us out to harass while allowing in others (that actually look in their early 20's) without asking them!
Once finally past his harassing we walked into the club shaking our heads and hoping the night will recover...we make our way to the bar and guess who is one of the bartenders? Valerie! Awesome because we knew this girl is a true Omni employee and cares about her job. As expected she was great, the music was fun and we had a great time. This club always seems to cater to wedding parties so the DJ's play "fun" dance music, a lot of 80's, disco and some 90's mixed in as well. We ended the night fairly early and went to our room.
Its truly ashamed that such a great hotel can have such a destructive employee as Moses...so because of him and ONLY him they get three stars instead of the five. Sorry to bring down your average but clean up the staff and it will go back up. I saw on your website the list of employee guide lines...maybe he needs to go back to Omni School and learn them.
I would like to comment on Valerie some more...such a nice smiling and just "happy to be at work" attitude. I hope that Omni recognizes good staffers like her...she deserves a pat on the back!
One thing I would also like to note is...part of the renovation is building a new much needed parking garage. So while the old garage has been torn down they are using a garage in a office building. If you decide to self park be aware the walk to the hotel is a long way and not an easy stroll, lots of inclines, stairs and narrow sidewalks. Just a thought but it might be a good idea if the Omni would waive the $27.00 per night valet charge until their parking garage is complete...just a suggestion.

Room Tip: The corner Superior rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMan, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking some time to give us your feedback. We will take all of your comments under consideration and discuss the appropriate managers.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

No complaints, everything was great!
Would definitely stay here again.
Breakfast was excellent as was the wait staff.
Quiet and comfortable.
Grounds were pretty.
Loved the pillows and robes in room.
Concierge was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Excellent hotel in prime location. Extremely helpful staff and efficient. Rooms are spacious especially bathroom. Very clean. I've stayed here for business and pleasure trips and am always impressed with service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Excellent, I stay at this location quite often. The service has consistently been very good. We now have a corporate account so I intend to stay here more often. I look forward to the completion of the new garage. Walking from the current garage is kind of a hassle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 508 in Houston
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#7 of 508 in Houston
1,649 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Houston Hotel

Property: Omni Houston Hotel
Address: 4 Riverway, Houston, TX 77056-1915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Houston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#24 Family Hotel in Houston
#27 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Houston Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a luxurious oasis at the Omni Houston Hotel. Situated on impeccably manicured grounds, the Houston Galleria hotel features the finest in Houston accommodations with 378 spacious guest rooms, including 33 luxury suites, all with sensational views of the city or pool area. Enjoy the nightlife at Black Swan. The Omni Houston Hotel is centrally located in the prestigious Uptown Post Oak/Galleria area and is just minutes from all of the excitement that Houston, Texas has to offer. You are just 10 minutes by car from the central business district and 30 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport or 25 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport. Of course, our exceptional amenities and four-diamond service may make it hard to leave your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Prestigia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Houston
Omni Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing