We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty nice place. Older, but okay shape.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Ranked #101 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison
Level Contributor
220 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Pretty nice place. Older, but okay shape.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is an old place, but seems to be pretty clean. Suites are small, even with upgrade.

Very short on outlets for electrical things. Had to unplug lamps to make enough outlets.

Internet speeds very slow.

Very loud if on the freeway side of building.

Housekeeping good. Beds comfortable.

Room Tip: Get room on side away from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClickTheGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSHG, Director of Sales at Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the gift of feedback, it is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet up to your expectations. As a management team we take all comments seriously so that we may resolve any and all issues.

We will be completing a multi-million dollar renovation of the hotel over the course of summer 2013, in which our guest rooms will be getting completely refurbished. As we complete this renovation our new work desks as well as one of the night stands by the bed will come equipped with a power pack, to allow for the easy connection of multiple chargers.

Additionally we are in the process of performing an Internet upgrade and will have a 50Mbps Fiber Internet connection installed by the end of spring 2013. The restaurant and bar will also be getting a completely new look.

With the addition of the Sheraton Club on the 15th floor and the new look and feel in our 8,000 square feet of meeting space; we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
JamalM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    211
    85
    32
    29
See reviews for
109
82
46
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I like the idea of having all the rooms being a mini suite. The rooms were cozy and the bed was comfortable. But, the place could definitely use a remodeling. The place is definitely outdated. The building looks old, the rooms look old, the pool looks very plain, and the sheraton fitness center could definitely be at a better location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albert y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

If this were 1994 the hotel would look brand new and I would be happy. The rooms and facilities definitely need to be updated. Checkin process was quick and easy as a SPG Gold member. I really think as a guest, self parking should be included however costs $15/day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandydk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

The Sheraton Suites is in a great location, within blocks of the Galleria, excellent restuarant choices and plenty to do. Though the price for the hotel was more than I typically pay for a Sheraton the fact that I got an upgrade did help. All suite hotel was nice, had a few people over to watch the game and get some work done.

Didn't use the pool but it wasn't all that big...but enough for getting out of the sun. Omaha steak house and bar within the hotel.

Best thing about this hotel for this particular trip was the free shuttle service they offered. Our clients were less than a mile away but it was pouring....so the hotel was great about shuttling us there and picking us up when our meetings were over (just let the driver know when to pick you back up). The shuttle is free but is on first come first serve but worked for us (just tip well each trip $5-$10) to keep the driver coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms are all pretty much the same but since all are suites all are nice. Both bedroom and living a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed at this starwood property last week- 1/23 to 1/25. First off, beware- parking is $14 a night which is something you can't avoid. I had my company paying so it didn't bother me, but if that was coming out of my pocket, I'd be a bit perturbed. I found the rooms to be layed out incredibly well. I had a view overlooking the highway, yet my room was quiet, so it was never an issue. The bed was comfy, the linens were clean, I had 2 nice sized TVs etc.

Upon my arrival, I was informed that I picked a good time to visit. Wendesday was their monthly networking/ appreciation happy hour. I stopped by for a glass of wine, a few snacks, and some ideas of what to do in my spare time while I was in town for business. Everyone was very nice.

I went to the gym both days. It was modern, clean, and they had everything I needed, minus a fan. The stagnant air in there is pretty heavy. Be careful showering after the gym too. I'm a fairly fit 28 year old and i totally lost traction in the shower and fell face first. The hotel staff provided me some band-aids so i could get through the day.

I ordered room service for dinner one night. I'm not sure if it's a recurring thing amongst Starwood hotels, or if its a 'bigger in Texas', but my bowl of soup and a salad was far from the light meal i intended. The garden salad had cheese and nuts on it. I asked if the soup was vegetarian and I was assured 3 onion and cheese soup was. It came resembling French Onion soup which is absolutely not vegetarian, so to be safe, I didn't eat it. That stuff can make you feel so sick!

I also had to follow up to get my Starwood Green Points added back to my account. They forgot to add them. They were happy to do so when I reached out though.

All in all, for the price, it was decent. Not a bargain, but I don't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CohenLaurenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Hotel is old and unmodern, and needs a major clean up. The carpets at the room and in the corridors is dirty and smells like containing a lot of ship and dust. The whole establishment is no longer up to date, except the fitness room that was new and well quipped. Staff gave good service and does a great job.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stifinneren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Hotel is in a good location near the mall but careful of the traffic going in and out of the hotel. The room is roomy and clean but decoration and color kind of dull. Peoples around the hotel are very helpful and will accommodate you very quickly. I did not know about the extra charge of $14.00/day for self parking.... so be ware and know that there is extra to pay.

My last day at the hotel was not a pleasure one (I booked 7 days). There is totally no hot water for almost the whole day, can not get a good shower for the meeting. I ended up take the cold one (I have to) and get sick for the rest of my week (outside was cold in the30). When checked out, the hotel offered 2 free parking day for the inconvenient, I ask if they can do more..... they said the best they can do is 3 free parking days (I hope they can give me 1 day hotel rental free of charge - but they did not)

Well, after almost a week now, I am still sick (may be cold or flu from the cold shower)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thanh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria

Property: Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Address: 2400 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Houston
#31 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#133 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the glamour of uptown Houston, Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria is ready to greet you with a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our full service, all-suite hotel puts you close to the excitement at the George R. Brown Convention Center, Reliant Park, Minute Maid Park, Toyota Center, BBVA Compass Stadium, Museum District, downtown Houston, and the world renowned Texas Medical Center.Spend the day browsing Galleria Mall's extravagant shops and day spas, just two blocks away, and then return for a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool. After, share in some delightful food and conversation at our restaurant or lounge.Fully unwind in one of 281 spacious suites, beautifully appointed and full of all of the ingredients for a memorable stay. Find a great hotel convenient to Houston’s major airports at the Sheraton Suites Near The Galleria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Sheraton Houston
Houston Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing