We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem”
Review of The Houstonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Houstonian
Ranked #15 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A true gem”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Houstonian is fabulous. Rooms are beautiful, hotel staff professional. Spa was over the top! Dined at Centre Court Cafe for breakfast which was terrific. The Bar is a great spot for a night cap. Concierge was wonderful in making dinner reservations. This place is a wonderful place to stay for a really relaxing time away.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guypicard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guypicard,
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that we could help in making your trip a relaxing one. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    197
    63
    17
    11
See reviews for
167
214
41
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Houstonian remains a top Houston hotel and property. The concierge level is excellent. the rooms are comfortable, but not very large. The exercise area, pool, and spa are also excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear BobG87,
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We only stayed a few days at The Houstonian but it was a good choice of hotels. The room we had was basic but very nice, clean and comfortable. All the staff were and very friendly, upbeat and nice to chat with. The grounds around the hotel are very nice and the fitness facility and outdoor running track are fantastic. Food quality and service in the restaurant and bar was on par for a hotel of this calibre. This was a nice place to take a little break, very luxurious and relaxing.

Room Tip: If you get a "preferred" room you get access to the concierge suite, a nice extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Brett C,
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad that we provided an atmosphere that made you feel comfortable and relaxed. We hope to see you back at The Houstonian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We had a room on the concierge level which we enjoyed very much. It is quiet and offered a lot of comfort after a long haul intl. flight on the night we arrived. Very clean and friendly, nice staff. We had a great breakfast, although we had to adapt to the strong airconditioning we were not used to being Europeans. The pools were quite busy but clean and looked after.

Overall a very good experience which we would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aposonnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Aposonnar,
I am glad that you had a very good experience while staying with us and that you enjoyed the amenities of the concierge level. Thank you for your feedback and your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed there for three days for a training course held by my company. There is a great deal of companies using this facility for the same purpose. The conference rooms are big, numerous, breakfast and lunch is served either in the empty rooms or in the corridors (breakfast only). The personnel is very attentive to provide always food and snacks just outside the meeting rooms. So the risk is you will eat too much, and too often. Food is good, and this is worth double because I am always difficult. Breakfast is a bit of a downside, because we did not have anything provided as part of the training, so we were forced to use the a la carte restaurant, and service was always slow, choices too elaborated, and prices very high (>25$). It would be much better to have a buffet, like any other hotel. Rooms were nice, generally not that big, but ok, the hotel is a long stretched property not tall, so I remember walking a lot to reach my room from the entrance. The hotel style (that it is not my favourite) is kind of antique but done in recent years (copies), so at the entrance there is the fireplace, all around lots of wood, and carpets to recreate the atmosphere. As every hotel in Houston, far away from the airport. I understand Galeria is not that far away. All around lots of vegetation. Very quiet and secluded area. All in all good value, more focused on the business clientele, not at all cheap. No reason for a tourist to be there. The thing that bothered me the most was breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear latakia,
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you found our property to be an ideal location for companies to conduct meetings and that you found our personnel to be very attentive. As you mentioned, our facilities were recently remodeled and we realize the traditional décor does not suit everyone. As part of the training course, your company selected a meeting package that includes a continental breakfast instead of selecting the meeting package that includes a full breakfast buffet. I would recommend passing your dissatisfaction along to the appropriate supervisor within your organization. Regarding your comments about tourists, we offer a variety of amenities for guests, including three resort pools, a 125,000 square foot fitness club with many offerings and an array of service options at Trellis, the Spa at The Houstonian. It is unfortunate that you did not have the opportunity to enjoy all that The Houstonian has to offer. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Relaxing, welcoming atmosphere. Good rates. Spa delivers on all levels.
Rooms are roomy and clean

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank committedfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear committedfoodie,
I am pleased that you had a relaxing stay. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Houstonian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angola, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

What a great hotel! Beautifully groomed, plush, scenic grounds. The interior is also superb. The room also includes access to an absolutely world class health club with three outdoor pools and everything else you can imagine in a health club. The health club is accessible to guests, but is an invitation-only, high dollar club for the elite of Houston. if you don't care for being treated like a billionaire, then stay away. I imagine the spa is the same, but we did not indulge. The pools and health club were so outstanding, that we cancelled a side trip to the Galveston area just so we could spend more time there. The beautiful Galleria mall and tons of other fine shopping and good restaurants are 10 min. Away. The staff and service were perfect. The Olivette restaurant in the hotel is very good. The informal counter-service restaurant in the health club had very good food in an informal setting. The rooms are also very nice. We will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLRollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Mr. Rollins, thank you for your very thorough review of The Houstonian. I am pleased that you found our amenities to be world-class and that you even cancelled a trip to Galveston to stay on property. Also, thank you for the comment card you submitted upon your departure. We take our guest feedback very seriously and appreciate the input you gave regarding hotel operations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 517 in Houston
810 reviews
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#25 of 517 in Houston
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houstonian

Property: The Houstonian
Address: 111 N Post Oak Ln, Houston, TX 77024-7703
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Houston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#21 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Houstonian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Houston’s historic gems, this property is known for its grace, comfort and unparalleled guest experience. Located in the heart of Houston, The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star, 18-acre retreat that defines authentic Texas luxury. The floor-to-ceiling wooded views envelop guests in a natural environment while offering the modern amenities and luxuries of home. Local areas of interest such as Downtown Houston, Memorial Park and The Galleria are just minutes away, offering guests the opportunity to escape into the city – not from it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Houstonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Resort Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing