We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at the Houstonian”
Review of The Houstonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Houstonian
Ranked #11 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the years. I am never disappointed. This time we attended a wedding and stayed over. The hotel is very nice. Service is excellent and comfortable beds. The location is excellent, very convenient to shopping and get walking/jogging trail at memorial park. Also enjoyed services at their excellent spa.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TxAppaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
There are newer reviews for The Houstonian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at Houstonian for a business meeting. Hotel was very nice. Service great. breakfast and lunch meals were tasty with good variety on the menu. Sleeping accommodations comfortable. Gym huge and fantastic

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I really enjoyed this class. Melody is an excellent instructor, she really gets you moving with the great music and choreograph. This is a unique class and I have only found it here, ...I wish there was one in my area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Quite and civilized. In this day and age when loud and obnoxious people are everywhere- this place stands out as a haven of quite relaxation.

The facilities, notably the gym and spa- are second to none

The lobby is beautiful, the staff is extremely helpful and the little bar by the lobby is wonderful- with a great view of the greenery outside

So, if your tastes run to the civilized old European luxury ethos- this is the place for you…..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The view in my king corner room was as if I was in a beautiful treehouse. From the moment of my arrival until my departure I was treated so very well at every turn. The valet was efficient and courteous each time I requested my car. The bell captain was beyond helpful upon my arrival. After only a day I was called by name by various staff members. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was so very fluffy and soft. The evening turndown service was excellent. My experience in the hotel was wonderful. The grounds were beautiful at every turn. The Spa was so very well done and I was very impressed with each of the services I received. I highly recommend this hotel in the heart of Houston.

Room Tip: King Corner Room was wonderful and spacious.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed at the Houstonian more then once for weddings and special occasions. It has always been a positive and most relaxing experience. The environment, staff, food and accommodations are top notch. Whether it be for a weekend getaway, a wedding, or the holiday season, or just because, you can always count on an outstanding time here. My husband recommends the golf....I recommend the Spa and a leisurely breakfast on the weekend. You will feel like you are away in the Woods and not the heart of one of the best shopping districts in Houston.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Here on business for a really short stay. Facilities are amazing if you like sports and activities. From squash, through climbing walls to inside and outside running tracks. There was even a game of indoor volley ball being played. The gym is exceedingly well equipped - would take a month to use all the equipment (although some pieces showing their age. It clearly attracts the good and the fit from the local community as I doubt I've seen so many fit bodies outside of a Sydney gym!!

The rooms are ok, the bathrooms are small bit the beds are great - best nights sleep in weeks

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Selltech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#3 of 517 in Houston
814 reviews
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#25 of 517 in Houston
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houstonian

Address: 111 N Post Oak Ln, Houston, TX 77024-7703
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Houston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#21 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £143 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Houstonian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Houston’s historic gems, this property is known for its grace, comfort and unparalleled guest experience. Located in the heart of Houston, The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star, 18-acre retreat that defines authentic Texas luxury. The floor-to-ceiling wooded views envelop guests in a natural environment while offering the modern amenities and luxuries of home. Local areas of interest such as Downtown Houston, Memorial Park and The Galleria are just minutes away, offering guests the opportunity to escape into the city – not from it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Houstonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Resort Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing