We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lancaster
Ranked #1 of 497 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Makes you feel you are part of the family. Lovely room, impeccably clean. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Excellent bistro restaurant - good value with great atmosphere and choice of menu - no need to look outside to eat. Good location in theatre district. It was recommended to us by a family member who had lived in Houston and boy were they right!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart and Caro... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    174
    33
    21
    30
See reviews for
153
505
83
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Was only in town one day, but the Lancaster made me wish I had some extra time to spend in Houston. We only left the Hotel for our appointed off site activities. Dinner and breakfast were outstanding and we entertained ourselves with our own roving cocktail party exploring the Hotel and it's history.
Rooms are very comfortable as are the beds.
I won't stay anywhere else in Houston from now on.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I've stayed at The Lancaster several times now. The location for the Theater District is beyond compare. You can walk to any of the venues and local restaurants if desired. The Bistro in the Lancaster is quite nice as well. They have recently remodeled the whole hotel and it is better than ever. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanFTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thanks for the feedback. We value your loyalty! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed at the Lancaster for a week on business and staff from my office also rented a conference room on the mezzanine level. The hotel is generally nice, food is good, but front desk service was awful, and the shabby chic needs to be redone. My room was nice, except for the loud buzzing noise coming from the bathroom. I called the front desk which unconcernedly told me there was nothing they could do as maintenance staff had gone home. The noise kept me up all night. I had to remind the front desk the next day to fix it as they had already forgotten about it. Later in the week I wanted to check out 3 hours late so I could complete business. I was promptly told "not possible" by front desk staff because my room "needed work." No kidding. This was the middle of December, yet the hotel hallways were not heated and freezing. Elevators are "charmingly" old, but hold 2-3 passengers at a time, and wait time was often more than 5 minutes. We could not find our conference room on mezzanine level as none are marked with names. Front desk staff twice told us to find it ourselves and they couldn't be bothered to help us. Imagine our surprise when our card key opened every single conference room. We just went from room to room until we found ours. Not very safe or secure as we had lots of electronic equipment and computers in our conference room. The bathrooms on the mezzanine level also were not heated. The staff other than the front desk were very helpful and nice. The food is good but room service menu is extremely limited, and the food is way overpriced, ($40 for a steak), higher than most 5 star hotels I have stayed at. The hotel is trying for a shabby chic London look, but I am afraid that most London hotels do that look much better. This one just looks old and tired, and needs to be redone. Other hotels accommodate business travelers better, but this one is charming in some respects. I wanted to like this hotel, but they made it difficult.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We truly apologize for your less than favorable experience. I would love the opportunity to discuss this with you directly: 713-237-2753. Again, our sincerest apologies. -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

After first booking a room at a neighboring hotel, it was recommended that I change my reservation to the Lancaster. I am glad I did. They were beyond professional. The room was excellent and had a decent view of downtown. I, generally, cannot sleep in hotel beds, but I almost purchased the bedding they provide. I had a problem with my key, but it was fixed immediately. It was a fantastic experience. Cheers to the Lancaster!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We are so happy to have converted you! We hope to see you again and again! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Recently we hosted a party at the Lancaster for about 65 people. All the preparations were handled professionally and everyone on the staff was courteous and welcoming to our guests. We took over the lobby area which proved to be a very comfortable setting for real conversation. Drinks were served from the bar and we chose to have eight different passed hors d'oeuvres. The food was outstanding! Every one of our guests commented on how good the food was and how beautifully it was presented. We cannot say enough good things about our experience of entertaining a group there. We highly recommend The Lancaster for a gathering any time of the year.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MelissaBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We are thrilled that your event was a success! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Luz, New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stay at the Lancaster 6-10 times/year. I love this hotel, but my recent visit was the best EVER. Russell is my favorite front-desk clerk. He was on hand when we checked in so the stay started out great. We had never eaten at the Bistro (Lancaster's restaurant), figuring it was like most hotel restaurants (overpriced, underwhelming). Boy were we wrong. I have eaten at most of the walking-distance restaurants in the area trying to find a special one. It was right under our feet the whole time. The steak was incredible, the service was outstanding. The price was reasonable for the quality. We didn't have a reservation, the restaurant was booked but the manager set us up a wonderful table in the alcove of the lobby. It was quiet and very special. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. The beds are the best. You can even buy a bed set up if you'd like to take one home with you. I highly highly recommend this hotel. It is probably my favorite of all I stay around the country!

Room Tip: There are just a few rooms per floor so every room is quiet, every bed is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEHMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
I stay at the Lancaster 6-10 times/year. I love this hotel, but my recent visit was the best EVER.
What great comments about our Bistro! So many patrons from both the hotel and outside the hotel love this Houston favorite! What an honor to be called your favorite hotel from across the country! Thank you! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#3 of 497 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 497 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#21 of 497 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster

Property: The Lancaster
Address: 701 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-2712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lancaster 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently accepted into the Historic Hotels of America with Stately elegance and Outstanding service in a Historic Downtown location with Luxurious accommodations. These are the hallmarks of The Lancaster hotel. Here at The Lancaster Hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, classic luxury and a grand tradition of hospitality blend perfectly with modern technology and warm, personalized service. Our stylish boutique hotel combines classic modern design, pampering services, amenities and superior comfort to exceed the expectations of the discriminating business or leisure traveler. The Lancaster is perfectly situated in Houston’s theater district near all the entertainment in downtown Houston, including Houston’s finest culinary, cultural and entertainment destinations. Experience luxurious comfort in our 93 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites designed with the amenities and ambiance you have come to expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Unwind in the plush comfort of down duvets and feather pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, plush bathrobes; complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary courtesy car service to nearby attractions and businesses and much more. Relax with the knowledge that we are completely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing