We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel; Amazing Location; Amazing Renovation”
Review of The Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lancaster
Ranked #1 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Lancaster Hotel in the Downtown Houston theatre district is simply amazing! My wife and I stayed there for a weekend anniversary trip recently and were beyond impressed. We had actually stayed at The Lancaster about five years ago, but that was before the recent $11 Million hotel renovation. The hotel, lobby, and rooms define luxury and at a reasonable rate. We were able to walk to dinner and the theatre, as the hotel is in close proximity to great entertainment.

I would highly recommend The Lancaster Hotel, as we will definitely be visiting again sometime soon!

Room Tip: Definitely book directly through the hotel; best rates are through The Lancaster reservations.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
There are newer reviews for The Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Lancaster once as a luck of the draw type of situation since we were going to visit some of the attractions in that area of the city. We absolutely loved it. The location is excellent and once you add in the fantastic staff and historically gorgeous hotel you can't lose. We have stayed there a number of times since that first trip. This is the first place we look to for lodging in the Houston area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMRAKKARMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I spent one night at the Lancaster for business, and also booked one of its conference rooms for meetings. We had a wonderful experience overall. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating in many ways, including always making sure the room was set up between our meetings, providing us with refreshments, and helping us post signs to direct our meeting attendees. There's also a helpful valet service that will take you around downtown for free. I really appreciated that the Lancaster does not nickle and dime you, and small, nice touches abound. They provide free Fiji waters in the rooms, along with a couple pieces of chocolate. The cable package is akin to something you might get at home, instead of just a few channels, and the TV does not reset back to the hotel channel everytime you turn it off. There's a business center with free computer access and free printing (which came in very handy for us!). There's also free breakfast, and free wifi, which is rare for hotels of this class. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable, while the lobby, restaurant and mezzanine have a more classic and historical charm - I appreciated the contrast. I would love to stay here again if my travels ever lead me to Houston.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manderific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent one night here while in the city for business. Wish we had spent a couple more nights there! The rooms were plentiful, spacious, clean, quiet, and updated. The included breakfast was a treat. We had lunch at the restaurant prior to check-in. Such a quaint dining spo.. We had one minor problem with valet parking- the attendant left the front seat lights on in the car overnight causing battery problems in the morning. The on-duty attendant did graciously help jump-start our car. We had a wonderful experience and if we stay in the city again, we will surely book our stay at The Lancaster!

Room Tip: The Lancaster offers a number of great rates and specials through their website so ditch third party...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

This landmark hotel is newly renovated with all the bells and whistles. Rooms are clean and well kept and up to date. The Lancaster is nestled in the heart of the at Theater District and a great variety of restaurants. Near the light rail now connecting to all points Houston Especially the Medical District.

Staff is incredible and friendly and
More than accommodating. I highly recommend staying at this Historical Landmark Hotel it has just been recently been on the local news and it seems all renovations are complete.

Support a family owned hotel in Downtown Houston you will not regret it. Prefect for that honeymoon suite!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have stayed here a number of times, it has always been a wonderful experience. The staff and amenities are excellent. Ryan at the front desk was totally awesome and always made sure we where taken great care of. The location is so perfect for the ballet and concerts. We will always make The Lancaster as our first choice.

Room Tip: Corner suites are Large and very comfortable. The beds are AWESOME in the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hotel was great and Sarah was awesome and truly made it an incredible one night that left us wanting to stay longer. Sarah and her staff took great care of us and gave us amazing recommendations for dinner. I see why this hotel is moving up the popularity list to number 4. Thanks so much Sarah.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
468 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 517 in Houston
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster

Address: 701 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-2712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £134 - £872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lancaster 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently accepted into the Historic Hotels of America with Stately elegance and Outstanding service in a Historic Downtown location with Luxurious accommodations. These are the hallmarks of The Lancaster hotel. Here at The Lancaster Hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, classic luxury and a grand tradition of hospitality blend perfectly with modern technology and warm, personalized service. Our stylish boutique hotel combines classic modern design, pampering services, amenities and superior comfort to exceed the expectations of the discriminating business or leisure traveler. The Lancaster is perfectly situated in Houston’s theater district near all the entertainment in downtown Houston, including Houston’s finest culinary, cultural and entertainment destinations. Experience luxurious comfort in our 93 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites designed with the amenities and ambiance you have come to expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Unwind in the plush comfort of down duvets and feather pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, plush bathrobes; complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary courtesy car service to nearby attractions and businesses and much more. Relax with the knowledge that we are completely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing