We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #2 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My ideal hotel is spotless without a trace of dust. The Lancaster fit the bill. The staff was friendly, polite, and accommodating. The room was small but ideal for the overnight stay and the bed was extraordinarily comfortable. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Surprisingly,I don't think I have ever tasted scrambled eggs done that perfectly. The downside was that there was no gym on premises; however, the free pass to the local gym was sufficient.Overall, I was pleased with the hotel and will likely stay at the Lancaster the next time I return to Houston on business.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review! We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We only stayed one night but would fully recommend the hotel for the quality and service. Diane on the desk was well informed and helped us deciding what to see etc.

We arrived about 10am and there was no problem getting into our room. No pleading required. Unknown to us downtown is really a business centre and at night the area was very quiet. It was a Monday and the theatres etc were not running so perhaps this was a factor.

If you are staying downtown this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky0138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review! Downtown is fairly quiet on Monday nights but you should come back on the weekend and see how it comes alive! The Market Square Park area only a few blocks from the hotel is an employee favorite,
Best regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

For me a hotel must provide a good nights sleep and the Lancaster Hotel certainly managed that - best nights sleep ever! Very comfortable beds and the standard room had all the necessary amenities. The Bistro Restaurant however must get mixed reviews - the food is very good but it is small, gets very busy in the evenings and extremely noisy, not the place for a romantic dinner for two or a business meeting. Such a pity they could not make the present restaurant area a bar and renovate one of the floors (2nd) to accommodate a new restaurant?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we really do have the best beds in Houston!
Best regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

From Houston and stayed here for one night to be in the downtown area. Loved this place. Rooms were clean and well displayed. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and included in our rate. We had lunch on check in and enjoyed that as well. They offer a free ride within 5 miles. It was a Friday night and there was a bit of a wait for this so we didn't get to use it. Also, we had a bit of a hiccup with our car. A light was left on in the car during valet parking but that was resolved quickly with help from the valets. Such a unique place! We really enjoyed our stay and this will be our go to spot if ever we're downtown again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

What a delightful hotel and a wonderful place to celebrate special occasions. We we're surprised by how spacious and quiet our stay was. The Lacaster is across the street from the Alley Theater located in the heart of the theater district!

Our corner room was lovely and the staff was helpful and inviting. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2CatchAWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for your review! Our location is second-to-none for a weekend away at the theater and we LOVE taking care of our guests for their special occasions. Be sure to check out our Art We Delightful and Anniversary Packages!
Warm regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My mother and I traveled to Houston for opening night of Swan Lake. We opted for an upgrade and were booked in a two bedroom suite. It was stunning. We truly felt like royalty the entire time we were guests at this hotel. They even offer a shuttle service to places within 3 miles. Everything was so clean. Staff were always Johnny on the spot!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

The owners of The Lancaster were very meticulous when choosing decor for our new suites during the renovation and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again during your next trip to downtown Houston!
Best regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had tickets for War Horse at the Hobby Theater in downtown Houston. Since it was our 49th wedding anniversary - we wanted to also enjoy the entire day - food, lodging and easy parking.
The Lancaster was the answer to all our needs and more! The staff upgraded our room to a suite and all the staff made us feel like VIP's with their service and smiles. We had a free shuttle to the play in the evening and were greeted in the morning with a great breakfast. Even though we live in Houston, we thoroughly enjoyed our 49th at the Lancaster.....and know we will be back to celebrate many more!!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on 12th floor - what an amazing view of the Theater District and the downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#9 of 518 in Houston
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#4 of 518 in Houston
864 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Hotel

Address: 701 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-2712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#5 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £174 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lancaster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently accepted into the Historic Hotels of America with Stately elegance and Outstanding service in a Historic Downtown location with Luxurious accommodations. These are the hallmarks of The Lancaster hotel. Here at The Lancaster Hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, classic luxury and a grand tradition of hospitality blend perfectly with modern technology and warm, personalized service. Our stylish boutique hotel combines classic modern design, pampering services, amenities and superior comfort to exceed the expectations of the discriminating business or leisure traveler. The Lancaster is perfectly situated in Houston’s theater district near all the entertainment in downtown Houston, including Houston’s finest culinary, cultural and entertainment destinations. Experience luxurious comfort in our 93 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites designed with the amenities and ambiance you have come to expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Unwind in the plush comfort of down duvets and feather pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, plush bathrobes; complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary courtesy car service to nearby attractions and businesses and much more. Relax with the knowledge that we are completely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing