We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value for the level of service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lancaster
Ranked #1 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Excellent Value for the level of service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a find, I frequent Houston monthly and have stayed everywhere, the Woodlands, Katy, Clear Lake, Kingwood, and downtown, best bang for the buck by far! As others have said, immaculate rooms, great restroom finishes, most comfy bed and exceptional service! I have found my home away from home.

Room Tip: I had a corner room, facing West, no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review - we can't wait to have you back again the next time you are traveling to downtown Houston!
Best regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    182
    34
    21
    31
See reviews for
168
560
87
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Multiple Cities, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Lancaster Hotel's restaurant, Bistro, is beautifully appointed and has an extensive menu with wonderful and creative selections for either pre-Matinee Breakfast/Lunch or post-Matinee Dinner after seeing a theatre play at the Alley Theatre located right across the street.

Consequently, we've been coming to Bistro for years, especially on Saturdays when we have driven in from North Central Texas bringing one of our Snobby Tours, Inc. tour groups to attend a Matinee stage production at "The Alley". It's the perfect place to have a leisurely late breakfast or early lunch prior to walking across the street to the theatre, or for a light Supper prior to heading back home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CustomTourBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of The Bistro! You will have to come back soon as our new executive chef will be debuting a new menu in the coming months!
Best regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I recently was trying to travel back to Boston. Unfortunately United Airlines is a mess and I stayed at the Houston Airport for over 8 hours. My friend's wife recommended I stay at the Lancaster to recharge my battery. I arrived at this luxury hotel and was immediately in awe. The decor, the smell, the building were absolutely beautiful. From top to bottom the hotel was spotless and impeccably designed. I then went to the front desk where I met the most amazing person I have ever met in this life, Russel Casanova. Not only was he pleasant and beyond helpful, he was hysterical and an absolute delight. For days I have been miserable due to my airport experience, and finally (after hanging out with Russell) a smile was forever stuck on my face.

Now to the room. My God, this hotel is a true work of art. Russell put me in one of the best suites the hotel had to offer, the Digiorgio Suite. The room (or rooms) were a huge living room/dining room, exquisite bedroom and fabulous bathroom. And to add, an impeccable view of the city as well as beautiful decor in every room. I honestly felt like I was undeserving of such a spectacular room.

And after staying at the Lancaster I should add that the bed was beyond comfortable, the shower was perfect pressure, beautiful tile, and had the smoothest of towels, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. Furthermore, the dinner at the hotel was fabulous! I loved the old Texas prints in the restaurant!

If you stay at the Lancaster, prepare to be wowed; wowed by the staff, the food, the amenities, the beautifully-crafted rooms and the sensational overall treatment.

Room Tip: Honestly.. no room is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dani7856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Wow, what a wonderful review, thank you so much! Russell is our unofficial ambassador - we can always count on him to bring a smile to our guests' faces. I am glad we were able to turn a terrible experience into a memorable one. Please come back to see us the next time you are in Houston!
Warm regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My ideal hotel is spotless without a trace of dust. The Lancaster fit the bill. The staff was friendly, polite, and accommodating. The room was small but ideal for the overnight stay and the bed was extraordinarily comfortable. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Surprisingly,I don't think I have ever tasted scrambled eggs done that perfectly. The downside was that there was no gym on premises; however, the free pass to the local gym was sufficient.Overall, I was pleased with the hotel and will likely stay at the Lancaster the next time I return to Houston on business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We only stayed one night but would fully recommend the hotel for the quality and service. Diane on the desk was well informed and helped us deciding what to see etc.

We arrived about 10am and there was no problem getting into our room. No pleading required. Unknown to us downtown is really a business centre and at night the area was very quiet. It was a Monday and the theatres etc were not running so perhaps this was a factor.

If you are staying downtown this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky0138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review! Downtown is fairly quiet on Monday nights but you should come back on the weekend and see how it comes alive! The Market Square Park area only a few blocks from the hotel is an employee favorite,
Best regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
178 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

For me a hotel must provide a good nights sleep and the Lancaster Hotel certainly managed that - best nights sleep ever! Very comfortable beds and the standard room had all the necessary amenities. The Bistro Restaurant however must get mixed reviews - the food is very good but it is small, gets very busy in the evenings and extremely noisy, not the place for a romantic dinner for two or a business meeting. Such a pity they could not make the present restaurant area a bar and renovate one of the floors (2nd) to accommodate a new restaurant?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we really do have the best beds in Houston!
Best regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

From Houston and stayed here for one night to be in the downtown area. Loved this place. Rooms were clean and well displayed. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and included in our rate. We had lunch on check in and enjoyed that as well. They offer a free ride within 5 miles. It was a Friday night and there was a bit of a wait for this so we didn't get to use it. Also, we had a bit of a hiccup with our car. A light was left on in the car during valet parking but that was resolved quickly with help from the valets. Such a unique place! We really enjoyed our stay and this will be our go to spot if ever we're downtown again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best regards,
Sarah D.
Sales & Catering Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster

Property: The Lancaster
Address: 701 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-2712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lancaster 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently accepted into the Historic Hotels of America with Stately elegance and Outstanding service in a Historic Downtown location with Luxurious accommodations. These are the hallmarks of The Lancaster hotel. Here at The Lancaster Hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, classic luxury and a grand tradition of hospitality blend perfectly with modern technology and warm, personalized service. Our stylish boutique hotel combines classic modern design, pampering services, amenities and superior comfort to exceed the expectations of the discriminating business or leisure traveler. The Lancaster is perfectly situated in Houston’s theater district near all the entertainment in downtown Houston, including Houston’s finest culinary, cultural and entertainment destinations. Experience luxurious comfort in our 93 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites designed with the amenities and ambiance you have come to expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Unwind in the plush comfort of down duvets and feather pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, plush bathrobes; complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary courtesy car service to nearby attractions and businesses and much more. Relax with the knowledge that we are completely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing