We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ec Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lancaster
Ranked #1 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
“ec Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Completely remodeled, historic hotel. Conveniently located for business, arts, entertainment, restaurants, etc. Courteous, professional, genuinely friendly staff that proved guest satisfaction and comfort are a priority to the extent that they went out of their way to provide a Bible for me as I didn't bring one with me. Limo service to and from airport is a huge plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for the detailed review. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Lancaster!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,193
    187
    34
    21
    31
See reviews for
181
600
90
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I live here in Houston and we use the Lancaster as the primary hotel for our out of town coworkers. We recently had an event we needed to host here and due to lack of office space needed requested to use the meeting facilities here at the Lancaster. I was blown away at the amount of professionalism Jena and Sarah provided to our group. The entire staff was so pleasant and willing to help it felt like any questions or requests we had were of upmost priority to them. The lunches were delicious and layout of the amenities made for a very pleasant 3 day meeting venue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
It was our pleasure to host your group. Thank you for the keen comments to our catering managers. Our chef and kitchen staff take pride in preparing the most tasteful dishes for various meetings and events. We hope to see you again and thank you for the review! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portals Nous, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice old worlde style hotel with some history and part of Historic Hotels of America situated downtown Houston business district.

The hotel decor and rooms are all very good, BUT management of this hotel is clearly lacking experience in how to run a star rated hotel.

The restaurant is mediocre and the breakfast very basic, this pulls the overall rating of the hotel down, which is a pity as it could so easily be sorted with a bit of imagination and training of staff.

Room Tip: There are no spectacular views from any of the rooms, but a corner room will give the best view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are the only hotel in Houston to be a member of Historic Hotels of America and we are so glad that you noted this. We are constantly working to improve our amenities, including the breakfast buffet. I invite you to contact me directly to provide more details regarding your comments above: 713-237-2753 -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I've stayed at the Lancaster many times over the years, it's my favorite location in downtown Houston! The rooms are elegant, provide great comfort & have a classic flair that you just don't see these days. Their customer service is exceptional, I think it stems from the Hotel being owned by a family & not a chain.

They've never ceased to amaze me on the service.... From the time the night valet accidently took home my car keys home (they gave me a lift to & from my meeting that day), to the recent conference I attended on site where they surprised us with fresh cookies & milk in the afternoon.

The staff makes you feel at home, the restaurant offers great food, the room are quiet, and customer service is outstanding. If you haven't stayed at The Lancaster, I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atravelingman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
What an honor to complemented on our customer service. We are always striving to provide the best customer service in the industry. There is a nice charm that comes with an independent, boutique property and we are so glad that you choose The Lancaster every time! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My teenagers and I were in Houston to deal with rather unpleasant family business. We were booked in to the Lancaster by our attorney. We looked at it as a convenience thing because we would be only a block away from where our meeting would be. What a surprise we got! We loved the place! Russell at the front desk was priceless. He made my kids laugh more than they have laughed in a long time. The room was so comfortable dinner ended up coming from room service and the only thing that got us out of that comfy room was a couple of trips to the lions den for Bluebell ice cream.
Now we look forward to going back to Houston just so we can stay at the Lancaster. I would have thought it wouldn't be the best place to stay with teens, but mine loved the place as much as I did. Five stars across the board!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Wow we are so glad to have made your stay enjoyable while tending to business in Houston. Our front desk agents are one of a kind and do an excellent job connecting with guests, while providing outstanding customer service. What better way to end your day than grabbing a Blue Bell treat at the Lion's Den! Thank you for the wonderful review. -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We made multiple visits to Houston this summer, and stayed at the Lancaster each time. Ongoing terrific service by Diana, Russell and the rest of the staff, including the valet staff. We are very appreciative of the courtesy and service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABPHX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
What an honor to be your 1st choice hotel when visiting Houston. Thank you for the admirable comments towards our staff. It makes our day to receive this kind of feedback from our guests. We can't wait to see you again! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I arrived in Houston long before check-in time and went in to ask if we could leave our luggage until check-in time allowing us time to explore Downtown. Not only did the staff securely store our luggage but, also had a room ready for us within an hour. We were able to see some of the many tourist sights within walking distance of The Lancaster and return to our room to relax before walking to Minute Maid park to catch an Astro's game. The concierge and housekeeping staff were great, customer focused and top notch. The location, parking, breakfast, and great staff made us feel like we were in a hotel that typically charges three times what we paid.

The next time I visit Houston The Lancaster is my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! Cleanliness and customer service is of utmost importance to us and we are glad that you particularly complimented our concierge and housekeeping departments. It is so nice to hear that you were able to enjoy a nice weekend downtown and that we were able to accommodate your early arrival. We hope to see you again! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 511 in Houston
422 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 511 in Houston
790 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 511 in Houston
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster

Property: The Lancaster
Address: 701 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-2712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lancaster 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently accepted into the Historic Hotels of America with Stately elegance and Outstanding service in a Historic Downtown location with Luxurious accommodations. These are the hallmarks of The Lancaster hotel. Here at The Lancaster Hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, classic luxury and a grand tradition of hospitality blend perfectly with modern technology and warm, personalized service. Our stylish boutique hotel combines classic modern design, pampering services, amenities and superior comfort to exceed the expectations of the discriminating business or leisure traveler. The Lancaster is perfectly situated in Houston’s theater district near all the entertainment in downtown Houston, including Houston’s finest culinary, cultural and entertainment destinations. Experience luxurious comfort in our 93 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites designed with the amenities and ambiance you have come to expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Unwind in the plush comfort of down duvets and feather pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, plush bathrobes; complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary courtesy car service to nearby attractions and businesses and much more. Relax with the knowledge that we are completely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing