We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Convenient Location”
Review of The Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lancaster
Ranked #1 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
newyorkgirlintx
1 review
“Great Service, Convenient Location”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Great boutique hotel close to the baseball field, theaters, music. Expensive but excellent restaurant, reminicent of a small New York restaurant. Accommodating staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkgirlintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    188
    34
    21
    31
See reviews for
187
608
91
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We reserved a room at the Lancaster because of a Frommer's recommendation. We realized our mistake immediately by the musty smell and worn 'everything'. We even tried to give them the benefit of the doubt and look at a second room. Terrible. There were holes in the upholstery. A threadbare desk chair. Stains on the walls and floor. I have never seen anything like it. The elevator even stopped working on our way out, and we had to walk down with our luggage. The only amenity they do offer is free wireless internet, which I used to reserve the Four Seasons a few blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CitySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, TX
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I stayed at the Lancaster for one night to catch an Astros game which was within walking distance(10-12 blocks). The valet was just going through the motions when he took my car but the front desk staff were very friendly and check in was quick. With the artwork and the wood the hotel lobby has a nice older feel to it but it also had a musty odor that was noticeable as soon as you walked in. The elevators are small and and show a lot of age.
The room was spacious with a sitting area but there we too many broken, stained or worn items to ignore. The furniture was very dated and not arranged well. One arm chair was very loose and another was stained as if someone had spilled tea or coffee on it. The drain in the tub was rusted and had been for some time. The mirrored wall was cracked, the sink did not drain fast enough, the wallpaper was lightly stained and the device plate on the wall was broken. The 20" TV was probably circa 1985 and the entertainment center wasn't positioned to watch TV from the bed or the sitting area. The furniture layout could have been better probably with less furniture. The king bed was very comfortable and it was an actual wood frame bed which you don't see much anymore. The room was clean and the toiletries and towels were nice and clean.
I think the staff overall does a good job and cares about the customer but the hotel is in serious need of a renovation top to bottom. The room rate did include parking and internet and the hotel offered to provide a shuttle to the game. The price would be reasonable at $150 a night but I would not recommend this hotel until it is renovated.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nceahuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2009

If you can imagine walking into a world of the past, the Lancaster is a piece of heaven. From the bistro to the one of a kind paintings on the wall, this hotel is a part of history. We stayed here while enjoying a quiet evening at Jones Hall and just loved it. You have to expect some of the gliches that come along with staying in the Theatre District's 1920's style hotel. Just relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrao04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I came in to Houston to visit some clients. When I pulled up the door man greeted me and offered to carry my luggage. I thought he was exceptionally friendly. When I went into the lobby/ front desk area the hotel looked dated, I was a little concerned. Check in was quick, nice staff. The room again was dated, but very clean, especially the bathroom. The location was great, it was in walking distance to some great restaurants and I was a theater across the street. The food at the hotel was EXCELLENT! I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysontheroad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

The hotel valets scratched our rental car and would not take responsibility for the accident. Then, when I left my coat in the room after checking out, I called immediately, only to be told that the coat was not there. When I called repeatedly for the next couple of days, saying I was 100% sure I had left my coat on the sofa in the room, the front desk and housekeeping denied responsibility as well. Employees of this hotel must be treated badly, because customer service is not a priority.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ponysuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2008

For those that do business in Houston, Texas sometimes its hard to find quality & price at the same time. I'm usually afraid of staying in older hotels but The Lancaster pleasantly surprised me. This past November I had a 3 day business trip and I needed something downtown but I had a budget. Many of the hotels downtown will start at $300 a night, The Lancaster $130 - $150. The Lancaster staff was very nice and for the age of the hotel everything especially in the bathroom was in clean, good condition, which I judge on greatly. The bed was super soft, TV was dated and small, but I wasn't there to watch TV. The only minus is mandatory valet if you bring your own car for travel for $30 daily, but for downtown Houston, there is no such thing as a parking lot. The restraunt had excellent food but pricy, which I expected for Houston.
As I had clients to see, I recommend the hotel for family because blocks away nearby is the Aquarium, many Theatres, and Minute Maid Park within walking distance of The Lancaster.

  • Liked — Location, Price, and Bed
  • Disliked — Pricy Valet
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cnveatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 517 in Houston
810 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster

Property: The Lancaster
Address: 701 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-2712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lancaster 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently accepted into the Historic Hotels of America with Stately elegance and Outstanding service in a Historic Downtown location with Luxurious accommodations. These are the hallmarks of The Lancaster hotel. Here at The Lancaster Hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, classic luxury and a grand tradition of hospitality blend perfectly with modern technology and warm, personalized service. Our stylish boutique hotel combines classic modern design, pampering services, amenities and superior comfort to exceed the expectations of the discriminating business or leisure traveler. The Lancaster is perfectly situated in Houston’s theater district near all the entertainment in downtown Houston, including Houston’s finest culinary, cultural and entertainment destinations. Experience luxurious comfort in our 93 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites designed with the amenities and ambiance you have come to expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Unwind in the plush comfort of down duvets and feather pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, plush bathrobes; complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary courtesy car service to nearby attractions and businesses and much more. Relax with the knowledge that we are completely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing