We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The most beautiful, accommodating, and fantastic hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Ranked #94 of 497 Hotels in Houston
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“The most beautiful, accommodating, and fantastic hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

This was the most beautiful hotel! The room was perfect and the staff was incredible! The manager, Jackie Bohr, was the most amazing host and went above and beyond to make our family feel welcome and comfortable. Every detail was taken care of and then some! We would recommend this hotel to everyone we know and will most definitely return! There are not enough wonderful things we can say about our stay here! Also, the food in the restaurants was great and we had a great experience with the room service as well. Jackie and her team were superb in every way and we are grateful for such a wonderful experience. It really made our trip even better!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbcreech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    315
    198
    87
    43
See reviews for
175
121
50
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I have stayed at the Westin Galleria a few times. The pros include the location, size and cleanliness of rooms, and good service. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have a concierge lounge which is a big con for business travelers. The valet and on-site rental car company take up all the parking spots close to the hotel which forces other customers to park far away.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripReviewer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leon, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

As you can see from the title, I'm not sure I'd stay here. My husband's 40th class reunion was this past Sat. and was held in a conf. room of the Westin. The room was nicely set up and hors d'oeuvres had been referred to as "heavy" in the invitation. I guess you could say that because there was pasta, salad (I think it was a caesar - it had set out entirely too long) and a cutting station of prime rib roast and sliders. Here begins the problem. I asked for a slice or two of meat, which I received. I realized, after putting the food on the table, that I needed a knife and went back to get one. Nothing set out but forks. I asked the server if he could get some knives. He sent someone to do that. I stood there waiting for almost 5 minutes before the person sent returned, whispered to the server, who then told me that there were no knives. "You have no knives here?" "No, no knives." Amazing ... does this hotel not have room service? Did all of the nearly 60-yr. old people there look dangerous enough to where we couldn't get a knife to cut the meat? My husband proceeded to use his pocket knife. My husband had previously bought both of us a drink and had informed me that the cost was $7.50 each! On top of that, the liquor was Jim Beam as opposed to Crown, Jack Daniels, etc. For $7.50, I'd expect a bit better liquor! I then went back to get a coke. Tickets for "coke" were $4.00 (on a good day at Kroger, we could have purchased a 12-pack for that). I got the ticket and presented it to the lady at the bar and asked for a coke, only to be told they only have Pepsi. Who mixes a drink with Pepsi!?!? I asked if they had Sprite. She showed me a bottle of something that was clear but not Sprite. I then said I want a coke - a classic, full strength coke. This is a hotel, please get me a coke! She said she would and again, I waited, nearly 10 minutes this time. While the party was great (obviously not put on by the hotel) and the food really was not bad, the fact that I could not get a knife and had to beg for a coke would prevent me from ever chosing this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRTMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
763 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

I believe the title of my review explains exactly how I feel. The Galleria is what it is, an overpriced, stale and boring part of Texas, let alone Houston. I feel that the "service" end of the hotel is reletively well run here. Though when I asked the front desk about distances to what I believed well known destinations (e.g. Johnson Space Center), it seemed like it was a bother to tell me the info I requested. I had to request my fridge three times. I had to request my crib twice. The "Green initiative" was inadquately explained. The $25 valet, well $25 is alot if you ask me. The free parking that you can utilize in the mall was not explained to me, I found out through a blog. The guy tried to get me on the valet, then told me to park in the $12 self-park option. Just felt kind of ripped-off. I would go elsewhere before I would go here, and I got a deal off of Priceline. If I had paid full frieght, I think I would have left in tears.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

I like the fact that the Htoel in in the mall. You don't have to travel far to go shopping especially when Houston Traffic is very hectic.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

its location is wonderful, close to all the tourism atractions for visit, for shopping is the best, we have a mall just by the elevators, fun for teens dance competitions.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormaPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
NormaPatricia,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We truly appreciate you taking a moment to share your delightful experience with us. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Staff at front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious enough for the two of us and the beds are comfortable; everything was very clean. I wish there had been more complementary drinks in the room, such as sodas like in other hotels; there were only two 18 oz water bottles. I think you have to pay extra for other drinks.

We did not order room service. There are several restaurants in the first floor of the Galleria, where we had lunch and dinner. What better location could you possibly ask for? The hotel connects to the Galleria, so once you step off the elevator in the first floor of the hotel, you can walk inside the Galleria.

We were not able to get some sleep until 3 AM because there were about 10 college-aged guys and girls in the opposite room drinking and making a lot of noise. I know this is one of those unlucky circumstances, so I am not blaming it on the hotel. We would have been able to sleep perfectly had it not been for these people ruining our experience and the ice machine adjacent to our room which made a lot of noise when used. However, we were awakened by the maid opening our door at around 9 am.

Valet parking is excellent and highly recommended. We could not find free parking anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert0981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#31 of 497 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Property: Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Address: 5060 W Alabama St, Houston, TX 77056-5801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#125 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Starwood, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing