We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Ranked #117 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I go to Houston for work about 4 times a year. This is my first stay at the Westin Galleria.

Pros:
- great beds, as with all Westins.
- direct access to Galleria Mall, which offers a lot of eating options. you can eat on a budget at the food court or step up and dine at one of the better restaurants located inside the mall.
- spacious fitness center with up to date machinery and also has some free weights.
- Starbucks is located a few steps away inside the mall.
- free parking at the mall garage lot. but kind of a hard to find the nearest entrance at first.
- Galleria area is the best and only place to stay in Houston.

Cons:
- front desk staff and concierge weren't the friendliest. service in general was pedestrian.
- the hotel is supposed to be non-smoking, but my floor had distinct cigarette odor in its hallway.
- business center charges an arm and a leg to print documents. better off to go to the kinko's across the street on Westheimer and get them printed there, if you have the time.

I would stay here again, if the price was right.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevators. map out where the closest mall garage lot entrance is beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    320
    205
    88
    46
See reviews for
180
125
50
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

The location attached to the Galleria Mall is wonderful, and the rooms are quite nice. My issues with housekeeping and the front desk were horrible, however. I was asked when I checked in if I wanted to participate in their "green" program, and I said yes. I did not understand that this means you will NEVER have your room serviced, even if you ask housekeeping, front desk managers, and so on. It took days and many, many requests to get anything done, even just getting additional shampoo. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Ok, I will start off by saying I am SPG Platinum and have stayed in MANY Westin Hotels, W's, Sheratons etc. This in one of the worst values for the money you can get by Westin. The positives first.

1. Free parking at the mall
2. One of the front desk guys (new guy) was friendly
3. attached to the mall

Now the bad:

1. Asked about green rewards at check in and they looked at me like I had two heads.
2. Elevators took forever.
3. NO club lounge (even though they have a perfect space for it upstairs)
4. Hotel outdated and lobby not very nice (compared to Westin standards).

Now for the really bad. I had to print out one lousy email while I was there. Since there is no club lounge there is no business center for SPG gold and platinum AND it costs something like $7 for ten minutes in the business center for internet. In order to print one page even as SPG it would cost me $7. I brought up how dissaponted I was to the front desk who took my name and number and said the manager would call me about it. Never ever heard from anyone. I stayed at the Sheraton Suites across the street the last time and it had a very nice FREE breakfast, clean spacious modern rooms, AND a business center for less money. You make the call.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nunspeet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Great hotel in terms of location, size of room, cleanliness and service of staff. Area has many restaurants of high quality to choose from in addition to good quality hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Big room, excellent food! Great location, attached to Galleria Mall. Rooms are pricey, but worth the price. A little confused upon my arrival since there are 2 Westin hotels at the Galleria. Overall, good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

The stay at the Westin was GREAT for our event. The mall is connected to hotel for ease of shopping. As long as I visit Houston . I will stay at the Westin Galleria.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the entrance was great. Any room is a good choose. I was next to the elevators and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Excellent staff, quick check-in. This hotel is in a excellent location inside the Gallerina giving you numerous things to look at and do. The rooms were large, clean and quite. We really enjoyed our third stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor the view from the hotel located in the city is awsome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REFlll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#34 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Property: Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Address: 5060 W Alabama St, Houston, TX 77056-5801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#125 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing