We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Westin Galleria Houston Hotel ROCKS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Ranked #111 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Westin Galleria Houston Hotel ROCKS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were there for a conference. The rooms were great and comfortable. the staff were also courteous and helpful. Who knew they had an ice skating rink in hot Houston in the Mall! All the shops you could ever want to visit. Coach,Prada, Michael Kors, etc.!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita J, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Greetings Anita K,

Thank you for taking the time you share your review of the Westin Galleria! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff fully addressed your needs. Furthermore, we are glad you took advantage of our location and were able to accommodate your shopping needs! We hope your travels bring you back to our area so that you may continue experiencing a warm welcome and rejuvenating Westin stay.

Best Regards,

Anita Jain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    319
    203
    88
    44
See reviews for
178
124
50
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed there on Oct 24 thru Oct 26,2013.We were very disappointed withe the facility.From the beginning,we checked in,the agent was not very helpful.Her attitude was that is the way it is.There was no food & beverage facility on the premises,not even a coffee ship.I would except better service from Starwood operated hotels.I have been staying at Starwood hotels for several years.Never have been this disappointed.They were connected to a shopping mall,and they referred us to restaurants in the mall for breakfast and dinner.I could have stayed at amid-sacle hotel to have at least breakfast.Its not worth the name.

Room Tip: Look for another full service hotel,if you like to have at least breakfast at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita J, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Greetings MT C,

We apologize to learn your overall expectations were not met during your recent stay! The Westin team is committed to providing an instinctive level of service and we regret your experience was less than you anticipated. Please contact us at wecare@westin.com referencing your review with your reservation details. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your check-in experience. You may be interested to know that our restaurant, The Daily Grill, is located on the second floor of the Westin Galleria which is accessible through the mall. I apologize if this information was miscommunicated to you. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and I hope to hear from you soon with additional feedback!

Kind Regards,

Anita Jain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had a wonderful time...cannot beat the location and convenience. Parking was accessible and easy, option to park for free for a little longer walk. Michael and other members of the staff were friendly, helpful, and accomodated our requests for adjoining rooms and late checkout. Will definitely return! Rooms were quiet as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights last week. Check-in was swift and our bags were delivered to our room promptly. The room was adequate for our needs - sadly there was no mini-bar in the room. There was sufficient wardrobe space and the bed was very comfortable. I do agree with some of the reviews on here - the rooms could do with an upgrade - the bathrooms especially! We had a problem with our loo but the maintainance guy arrived within minutes of our calling housekeeping and the issue was quickly resolved. There is no restaurant at the hotel but there are numerous ones within a few minutes walk in the mall. We did use room service and the breakfast was excellent - so no complaints there!!
All in all for a short 3 night break it suited our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petite70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleplain, NJ
Level Contributor
192 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Traveled to Houston for our anniversary and my travel agent booked this for us. So happy she did, staff very accommodating. Housekeepers and Front Desk always available. They gave us a small cork screw for our wine bottle; area maps available so we could tour this beautiful city. Only draw back was we received two beds and not the king size we ordered, Room was clean, refrigerator, safe and usual amenities. Restaurants and clean gym are within walking distance along with a Specs wines store, nail salon, shopping etc. Parking was free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylAnnRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear CherylAnnRD,

We are grateful to have shared such a special moment with you and your spouse. We are thrilled that our staff and location assisted in making this escape a memorable one! We hope to continue sharing such momentous occasions with you and providing you with exceptional service.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel lobby is nice, but the rooms are very dated and in need of remodelling. The doors have a gp all the way around so I hear everything that happens in the hall, as well as my neighbors coughing all night. It so happens that my room has lockouts on both sides, which I have never seen before. The seals on the balcony slider are also very deteriorated and the road noise is no different if open or closed. The shower fixture is nice, but the ceiling is bubbled and cracking. I asked for another room, but was told they were sold out. Pretty good for a random tuesday, so perhaps that is why they don't feel any need to improve anything. The upside is you won't need an alarm to get up north of 6 AM as room service delivering early morning breakfast to the other guests is plenty loud enough. The beds are comfortable, but the noise makes it difficult to sleep. I will be coming back down for a week in a month, but won't be staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for one without lockouts (connected to other rooms) and one on a high floor or it will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Jason E,

We appreciate you having taken the time to review your recent stay at the Westin Galleria. We regret that due to our occupancy we were unable to move your room. You may be interested to know that our last remodel was in 2009 and per Starwood standards we are nearing our next remodel time. However we would like to gather more information from you regarding your stay, please contact us at WeCare@westin.com at your earliest convenience referencing your review.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

just checked in. have stayed here before numerous occasions. hotel is not what it used to be nor what I typically see with Starwood.

AC not working properly- last trip wasn't working correctly. engineering guy mentioned chilled water supply problem.

check in was less than usual friendly- not treated as a guest at what is ranked as one of Houston's 4 star hotels.

will find other accomodations next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#32 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Property: Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Address: 5060 W Alabama St, Houston, TX 77056-5801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#125 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Starwood so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing