We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay, wonderful service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Ranked #122 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Giddings
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, wonderful service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Enjoyed the Westin Hotel --what can I say? from the aroma the strikes you as you step-in the door to the farewell as you leave. What I love about Westins is the consistency and service without question. Always professional-that's a Westin. You can count on the location and to be surprised by instant tech or maintenance service without delay to extras like FREE parking and outstanding locations. Loved my stay. I'll stay again.

Room Tip: My room did not have much of a view. I'd book higher up if you can control that. I was part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CASGiddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    320
    205
    88
    46
See reviews for
180
125
50
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed here for a recent convention. Even though I only booked a Standard room, it was very nice, had everything I needed. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in in a hotel, with clean sheets and pillows. Plus I got a $5 coupon each day I waived housekeeping, as an eco-friendly measure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricegnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Service is slow.
No spa on site even if Westin put this in his chart to its customers.
The location is perfect and they know it. Everything is average at best.
You must exit the hotel to get breakfast.
The concierge is not guiding you we'll for restaurants. Thanks for trip advisor for their help on this!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjacobsvanmerlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Very quiet rooms and nice. Comfy beds and great workout room. No free wifi, no free breakfast. No sample shampoo or conditioner or vanity set in the room.
Quick access to the mall. Great view of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenAngel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I spent four days at this hotel attending a conference. Like all Westin's, it has a more modern feel, but this hotel was built 50 years ago, and even though I'm sure it's been upgraded, it's showing its age. And not having an in-house restaurant and/or bar is very strange. (One can wander into the huge mall and find places to eat and drink.) The hotel has a connection with The Daily Grill, which is a fine restaurant and bar, but don't expect to find a place with a relaxing atmosphere.

And now about the commode. As I noted above, this is an old hotel. And it has attempted to go "green" in some areas, but I, who am conscious about environmental issues without being in any way extreme, was aghast at the old commode in the bathroom. It must use 5+ gallons every flush, and often one would need more than one flush for the smallest of "deposits."

This is an OK hotel if you're into shopping, not much interested in fine dining unless you leave the area, and don't mind standing around flushing a toilet watching a heck of a lot of water go down the drain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livin_in_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent 1 night here back in July this year and it was a good chance to catch up on shopping due to the location. The gym had sufficient equipment and the room was clean and a reasonable size. The bathtub/shower may need a bit of updating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugGecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Westin Galleria Hotel had superb facilities for the 2-day conference I attended. The audio-visual systems were top-notch, and the food provided (breakfast, lunch, after-conference appetizers and drinks) for a group of over 100 attendees was excellent. This hotel has an attentive staff who are friendly, helpful and who genuinely appreciate a customer’s business. Self-parking is free if you use the Galleria parking garages which are an easy, 5-minute or less walk to the hotel. The garages keep you out of any bad weather and connect to various areas of indoor Galleria shopping. The Yellow garage was very close to the hotel.

Since I live in the Houston area, I did not stay overnight, so I cannot comment on the room accommodations.

While the hotel’s facilities were excellent, the traffic situation is horrid in the Houston Galleria area. There is nothing the hotel can do about this --- the sole reason is the lack of any sensible planning by the City of Houston. If you plan to attend a conference or any other purpose takes you to the Houston Galleria area, be prepared for complete traffic gridlock on weekdays between 7 AM and 10 AM and between 3 PM and 7 PM. For business travelers, the freeway one would use for either airport (I-610) essentially is a “parking lot” at the hours mentioned. Getting to that freeway might take you 15-20 minutes to go less than 2 miles during those times. This is extremely important for those with airline reservations. Make sure you do not cut the time too close --- Galleria area traffic easily could cause you to miss your flight, whether you are departing Houston Intercontinental or Houston Hobby airports.

Room Tip: I did not stay overnight so cannot rate the rooms, spa or sleep quality. From the standpoint of bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#37 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Property: Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Address: 5060 W Alabama St, Houston, TX 77056-5801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#125 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing