We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center
Ranked #420 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Not a great place.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Warped floors required furniture be propped up and the dresser drawer to always open a few inches. There were no dishes or utensils in the kitchenette so that was a bust. Not enough parking and spaces were not always marked. Housekeeper washed a styrofoam cup and left it face down on the counter like I wanted to use it again! Bugs!

It was a convenient location and the bed was comfortable enough, the A/C worked well and the wi-fi was fast enough. so it was not all bad. I doubt I would stay there again by choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    7
    8
    23
See reviews for
13
1
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The pictures look different from the room we stayed in, awful smell first of all, beds are hard, bathroom does not look like the one in photo. I had to move a construction cone which was placed in front of a small room which was for cleaning equipment just to park. The air conditioner was extremely cold and would not shut off during the night. We stayed here for one night and that was too long.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

This place needs to be torn down. The beds are not actually beds. They are had made and sit on wooden platforms. The linen is stained and dirty/dingy looking. There were bed bugs, coffee spilled in the microwave, dirty floors and smelly--as in old, dusty, moldy odors--which sat in my bag for days even after using febreze and lysol.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Pros: Close to medical center, big and spacious room, working appliances in kitchen (fridge/micro/coffee maker/sink/cooktop), decently clean room
Cons: Limited parking, no utensils/plates/towels,etc in kitchen

--the neighborhood didn't seem unsafe to me at all. The hotel is kinda wedged between a residential and commercial area. There's a subway, whataburger, mcdonalds and taco bell about a block or two away and within a mile away there's a shopping center with a Randall's/Chickfila/Panera/Barnes & Noble, plus several other restaurants. I don't normally walk ANYWHERE at night so i can't judge how safe it is at night, but it's definitely safe during the day. My stays in houston are usually for multiple nights so i could see myself staying here several days if i had to without getting cabin fever.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 906dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This place wasn't bad as far as the room or the price, but the management needs to be fired. We stayed 2 nights to sell things at a festival close by (good location for us). The first night was fine, but after 14 hours of working we just wanted a good night's sleep before doing it again and then making a 5 hour drive home afterwards. This never happened. A group of young people had a party there and were making all kinds of noise. They were in the parking lot yelling and fighting and playing loud music from their cars. The front desk refused to answer their phone or call the cops. We go to this festival every year, we will not be staying here next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkT29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

This place is the WORST OF THE WORST. This hotel is obviously providing free lodging for undocumented workers. Staff is incompetent. Rooms are disgustingly dirty. Neighborhood is flat out scary. Even in desperation, sleeping in your car in a safer area of Houston would be preferable to stepping one foot into this sad excuse for a hotel. RUN!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Rooms are being renovated; beds are nice; bath is clean. I only needed a place to stay overnight as I had an appt at the medical center. Shuttle is provided between 7:00 a.m. and early evening which was nice and Wi-Fi is available. No coffee pot provided in room; no paper/plastic cups for water; no hair dryer; no hangers in closet. I had to request wash cloths and there was only cold water in shower. My impression is the owners are new at the motel business and have a LOT to learn. For someone undergoing extensive treatment at the medical center this is probably a very economical place for one to stay due to kitchen being available but they would have to furnish own utensils/dishes, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiE38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
2.3 mi away
MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park
0.7 mi away
Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center
0.7 mi away
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Medical Center North
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- near NRG Park/Medical Center
0.7 mi away
Moody Manor
Moody Manor
#336 of 504 in Houston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center
Address: 6712 Morningside Dr, Houston, TX 77030-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #420 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center hotel in Houston, TX near the Texas Medical CenterLocated within walking distance of the Texas Medical Center and Rice University, the Rodeway Inn & Suites® Medical Center is perfect for business and leisure travelers. This Houston, TX hotel's central location is convenient to the George R. Brown Convention Center, the University of Houston, Herman Park and the Houston Zoo. For entertainment and sporting events, be sure to visit nearby Reliant Park, home of Reliant Stadium, Reliant Center, Reliant Astrodome and Reliant Arena. Houston's William P. Hobby Airport is 10 miles and the George Bush Intercontinental/Houston Airport is 20 miles from the hotel. Galveston Beach is 40 miles away. The hotel is also close to downtown Houston, several museums, shopping areas and a variety of restaurants. The selection of local restaurants and cocktail lounges includes McDonald's, Taco Bell, Two Rows Brewery, KFC, Subway and various Asian restaurants. Full-service amenities and features at this Houston, TX hotel include: •Free local calls •Free shuttle to Texas Medical Center and area grocery stores •Free coffee •Access to fax service In addition to standard amenities, all guest rooms have refrigerators and cable television. Irons and ironing boards are offered. Non-smoking rooms are available. Laundry facilities are located on the property for added guest convenience. Whether traveling to Houston for business or pleasure, you'll love the friendly hospitality and great accommodations at the Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing