We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria
Ranked #131 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel during a business trip and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and clean. Service from the start was very good. Loved the fact that for $5 dollars - total - I was able to get New Balance work-out gear (top, pants, shoes and socks). Not $5 dollars a day; but in total. So I didn't have to take up extra room in my suitcase for work-out gear. Awesome. Then the hotel cafe had fresh green goddess juice each morning. Yes, it was too expensive; but it was delicous and I enjoyed it both mornings of my stay after working out. The hotel is attached to the Galleria Mall which was pretty neat. The Mall is very nice and had some very high-end stores, so I just window shopped. Enjoyed my stay very much. Would consider staying here again; but do know that the hotel is not in the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Analia C, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear KMD41,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Westin Oaks. We are very appreciative for your 4-star review. We are thrilled to know that our staff and our large heavenly Westin room assisted you in providing with a memorable stay with us. It is exhilarating to hear that we were able to aid you with our Westin Gear Lending and that you enjoyed our fresh juice each morning after working out.

We are glad that our location was advantageous to your visit and hope to continue being able to provide you with a rejuvenating place to stay on any future visits to the Houston Galleria area.

With kindest regards,

Analia Croatto
Guest Relations Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    261
    157
    68
    43
See reviews for
151
118
58
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

There are two Westin properties at the Houston Galleria, which can be confusing. The Westin Oaks is conveniently located in the Galleria mall with good access to shops, restaurants, and nearby attractions. The rooms are a standard Westin experience, yet the rooms are much more spacious than other Westin properties I've stayed in. Request a room on the side of the hotel that doesn't not face busy Westheimer Rd to avoid issues with vehicle noises and freeway noises,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Analia C, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear l0vebug,

We thank you for your four-star review at our Westin Oaks. We are thrilled to hear that our room and location assisted in providing you with an excellent stay with us. We hope to continue being able to provide you with a rejuvenating place to stay on any future visits to the Houston Galleria area.

With kindest regards,
Analia Croatto
Guest Relations Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weslaco, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been coming here for years and ALWAYS this hotel stands above the rest! Miquel was so nice and helpful at check- in and went above and beyond. Thanks also to Michael who was helpful and courteous and clearly wanted to make our stay the best! I am still amazed at the size of the rooms and all the little extras! Cheesecake Factory next door is a must!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Analia C, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sherri1950,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are very appreciative for your five-star review at the Westin Oaks. It is exhilarating to hear that our staff assisted in providing you with a memorable stay with us. Thank you for your recognition to Miguel and Michael, we are lucky to have them on our team and will make sure your praises are shared throughout the hotel. We look forward to having the honor of hosting you in your future travel to the Houston Galleria area.

With kindest regards,

Analia Croatto
Guest Relations Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Free parking at the Galleria is a plus if you stay at this Hotel.
The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and a good place to retreat to in between shopping excursions.
Our family gives one another gift certificates and money for Christmas and we book this hotel for Jan.2 for two days of shopping which is a good way to simplify gift purchases as well as enjoy a beautiful hotel and stress free shopping at Christmas.
The rates are good at this time and we look forward to this tradition.
There are great views of the city from the higher floors.

Room Tip: Become a member and get benefits like a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Analia C, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear frank v,

We are very thankful for your 4-star review at the Westin Oaks! Your continue patronage is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled to know that everyone in your family enjoyed our large modern Westin rooms and that our convenient location assisted in providing you an exhilarating visit with us. We hope to continue being able to provide you with instinctive memories!

With kindest regards,

Analia Croatto
Guest Relations Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at the Westin at Westheimer for business for one night. Overall a very pleasant experience. Rooms top notch with plenty of space and updated interiors. Large TV with good channel selection. The 2 queen beds were well done with high thread linen. Parking valet very courteous and prompt. There is a free parking lot as well if you would like. The parking valet fee of 20 or so dollars allows unlimited drive in and outs per 24 hours period and well worth it. Location cannot be beat. Smack in the galleria, its next to great restaurants including some nice steakhouses and all the shopping you want. Would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKSurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear HKSurgeon,

We greatly appreciate the kind review of your recent stay at the Westin Oaks. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the Heavenly bedding. We strive in providing our guests with an atmosphere where they are able to recharge and renew and are pleased to hear that we fulfilled our commitment to you. We hope to have the opportunity to continue hosting your during any future travels to the Houston Galleria area.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I chose this hotel for its location attached to The Galleria, which was great for the shopping we had planned for a girls/rodeo weekend. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The restaurant, unlike a lot of hotel restaurants, was really good. Clean, comfortable room with nice amenities. My only real complaint would be with Westin's "green" program - I thought I would just be foregoing new sheets/towels during our weekend stay. Turns out, it's declining housekeeping altogether. It was disappointing to return to our room late after a long day out to find a still-unmade bed and no replenished coffee service. Otherwise a very pleasant weekend in Houston.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Missgrl,

We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy a girls weekend at our hotel! We regret that we did not thoroughly explain our Make a Green Choice Program and that this caused a disruption in your stay. With the Make a Green Choice program we do not enter the room, however we will replenish any amenities upon request. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again continue providing you with a comfortable retreat for the weekend.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was in Houston to on business purposes and want to share impressions about my week stay at Westin Oaks Hotel. The apartment was booked in advance by the company I work for that is why I did not pay for it.
The room as well as my queen-size bed was really huge (especially in comparison with normal rooms in most European hotels). It was well-furnished and fully equipped with everything necessary (personal care facilities, safe box, and bathrobe). I was pleased to find a hair-dryer, a coffee-machine and an iron together with the ironing board (the last one was especially helpful taking into account that in order to use electric staff taken from Russia I needed an adaptor) in my room. But nothing is ideal: polyester bed linen was very uncomfortable to sleep on.
Internet access is worth mentioning. The cost of wireless access was extraordinary there: almost 10 dollars per day. What is more, unfortunately I had a problem connecting it. Even though I asked IT-specialist in the hotel for help due to the fact that Internet Explorer on my tablet could not open Westin Oaks web page correctly I failed to connect to their Wi-Fi in my room. However, free Wi-Fi was available in the lobby of the hotel.
The administrators (receptionists) were corteous and helpful. One of them helped me to measure the weight of my suitcases in order to check whether I am within the limit set by the airline. Taxi drivers are also always on spot (just in front of the hotel) so it takes just a few minutes to find a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Maria C,

We appreciate your kind review of the Westin Oaks. We regret that we were not able to assist you further in getting your tablet to connect to our wifi. It is great to hear that our staff was helpful though in assisting you during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and provide you with another memorable visit to the Houston Galleria area.

Be well,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#32 of 517 in Houston
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

Property: Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria
Address: 5011 Westheimer Rd., Houston, TX 77056-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#112 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria is located in the Uptown Galleria District and offers the perfect setting for those who are seeking the ultimate in leisure, dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Oaks Houston At The Galleria Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Oaks
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing