We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value with minor drawbacks”
Review of Woodland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodland Inn
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Humble
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Considering the daily and weekly rates, Daxa's Inn is an very good choice. The rooms are very clean and look reasonably modern. Breakfast is included in the daily rates, and a shuttle to IAH airport is provided as well. However, there are some smaller drawbacks. The first one is signage: while the hotel is called Daxa's Inn, the old Knights Inn signage is still everywhere. This can be a bit confusing on arrival. Also, while conveniently located off I-69, there is not much in the immediate neighborhood, just a Quizno's and two gas stations. No grocery stores (apart from the gas station), fast food places, or better restaurants within walking distance. Also, as elsewhere, a location close to a freeway means the surrounding neighborhood seems somewhat run-down. Breakfast is below-average, with two choices of cereals, toast, butter and jam. Two or three additional choices would be great. Finally, the rooms are a bit noisy, but then again what does a traveler expect from a hotel close to the airport and a major interchange? The noise level is absolutely bareable considering the great rates and helpful service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT87_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

I have been using another facility closer to I45 all these years. i decided to make a change to Daxa's inn Humble on Sept 08, 2012. World of Difference. Nice, friendly service. Clean comfortable room. We didn't stay long enough for the free breakfast. Efficient transportation was provided to and fro to the Bush Intercontinental Airport. It is located very close to highways and our car was parked for 15 days. Very safe place for the car and people. The room came with a mini fridge and a mircowave. No odor of any sort in the room. I would recommend this place to one and all for their stay and parking. I am not able to rate the swimming pool and the breakfast place, since i never got around to use it.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, inspite of being close to highways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

The location and price of rooms are good.They advertise 24hr shuttle and its not. You have to make a1-week advance notice but they dont tell you that until you are trying to get to airport to catch flight. Smelled like cigarettes in the a/c everyday.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1flyassdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel offers a parking package which includes 10 days of parking and an overnight stay in the hotel for around $75.00. Perfect if you have a very early flight like I had.

My room had a comfortable king bed w/fridge and microwave. Its a typical simple hotel room, nothing fancy. The hotel offers free wireless and airport transportation.

It appears that they have made some improvements i.e. painting - but they should've taken the time to clean up the paint splatters or drops of paint for a cleaner appearance. Also, my wall mounted hairdryer was laying on the bathroom vanity. Neither of these items impared my stay in any way and are all cosmetic. I would just hope thst at some point they fix these small issues.

The negatives:
1. The elevator was not working, so I had to lug my suitcase up 2 flights of stairs. They did warn me of this when I made my reservation however; It would've been nice if they put "Out of Order" signs on it. Since I didnt see any I had assumed it had been fixed.

2. The sheets were pilly and navy blue! How many times have you stayed in a hotel with colored sheets? Nice touch, but a better quality sheet would not pill.

3. More towels or thicker towels would be nice.

4. The hotel (formally a Knights Inn) sits directly next too and under highways - so if you are a light sleeper, you may want to bring ear plugs. I couldn't sleep to save my life but it was still nice to not have to get up at 2am to drive to the airport.

All in all I would use them again if I have an early flight and plan to be out of town for 10 days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocnsunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knights-Inn-IAH, Guest Relations Manager at Woodland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

We're so glad to hear that our Park & Fly + Hotel Package was an affordable and convenient fit for your needs! And thank you for your review! I appreciate that it highlights our strengths and still promotes transparency for other travelers. We'll work hard to address the points to mentioned. When you call to set up your reservation, please mention your previous experience with the noise and so can do our best to accommodate you accordingly. We certainly hope you come back and stay with us for your next trip out of IAH!
Regards,
Tulsi P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Friendly, professional service, well equipped, clean rooms at a good rate, close to airport. We only stayed one night, and only there in the dark. Proximity and shuttle to airport a real bonus!
Office staff and shuttle driver were very friendly and courteous

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott10966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

First night $15 pet fee then changed to $40 for nights 2 & 3. Our dogs are crate trained and very well behaved they just decided to change the price. Daxa is rude and does not care about her customers at all. She made us wait a half hour to talk to her about the fee change.
Also worth noting, the bath rugs are cleaner than the towels. The towels are gray and filthy with dirt and age.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carpedeum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knights-Inn-IAH, Guest Relations Manager at Woodland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We took the matter to heart and immediately modified our pet policy sign to be more clear in stating that the pet fee is per pet. The incorrect charges on the first night was clearly an oversight on our part, and that too has been discussed with our staff. Providing our guests with quality service is crucial to our success as a small business, and we are always working hard to further improve that.

Respectfully,
Tulsi P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I missed my plane due to weather and had to stay in Houston. I was hungry and tired and had my 4 year old with me. My husband called for the shuttle to pick me up which happened to be Daxa. I couldn't find her and she stayed on the phone with me and so very patient until we met and found each other. She was so friendly and treats her staff with the utmost respect and kindness. I slept very well and was grateful that she didn't raise her prices when she well could have with people having to stay a night due to the weather. If I ever have to stay for a quick trip to Houston, I will stay at this place. The free shuttle was nice but meeting Daxa was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42DanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knights-Inn-IAH, Public Relations Manager at Woodland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you stay with us again next time you're in Houston (hopefully it will a planned layover though).

Best,
Tulsi P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humble
3 mi away
Ramada Houston Intercontinental Airport East
0.4 mi away
Winchester Inn & Suites Humble/IAH/North Houston
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush Intl Airport E
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Humble
Rodeway Inn Humble
#20 of 38 in Humble
26 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush IAH South
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Humble/Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Inn

Address: 15319 Highway 59 N, Humble, TX 77396-2134 (Formerly Knights Inn Houston - Bush Intercontinental Airport)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Humble
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Humble
Price Range: £44 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Woodland Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodland Inn IAH 69 North Humble, Texas, is 5 miles from Bush Intercontinental Airport. Downtown Houston is 17 miles from Bush Airport Woodland Inn. RedStone Golf Club and Humble Civic Center & Arena Complex are 4 miles away. Flact screen Cable T.v. with HBO,Espn, & many more premium hd channel, Microwave, Refrigerator, Wifi internet, Free local phone call ,hair dryer & air condition available in all rooms. Iron & board available on request at front desk. Guest Laundry & Snacks & beverage vending machine on property. Convinent location on I-69 North & Sam houston parkway East Intersection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Woodland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Houston - Bush Intercontinental Airport Hotel Humble
Humble Knights Inn
Knights Inn Humble

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing