We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad and the kinda Ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Inn Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Okay, as far as choices for resorts on the river goes in Hunt, TX - this is the best you can really find. The outdoor amenities are true Texas Hill country....great river access, outdoor tables, grills, fireplace and seating, with canoes and a slide. The game room and big family room are inviting and comfortable...along with the big porch that over looks the Guad.

But, here is what you need to know:
The units are run down.
Bring your own pillows, towels, kitchen essentials (like wine openers), hair dryers, & shampoo.
Wear shoes, indoors and out.
Plan to have NO PHONE service and LIMITED free wifi service
Its a trek if you have an upstairs unit, but noisy if you have a down with people overhead.
Beds are not meant for a good night's sleep.
If you want to roast smores, bring EVERYTHING you need to do so,

I am guessing each unit is privately owned, and rented back to the resort. We had #131...a @2B/1B, and the best semi-private sitting area with a view, but....NO plugs in the bathroom, only tow TINY mirrors in the bedrooms (think hair drying since you cant in the bathroom), a kitchen sink that backed up without being used, a shower that is worse than a prison shower, bathroom walls painted so many times they would press in at the touch, DIRTY dishes and utensils put away in the kitchen, cobwebs from the 1980's and the SMALLEST fridge in the world (think dorm size)....all for $230 a night.

I think this resort has GREAT potential and is a gem...it just needs A LOT of TLC and a little attention to details. For the rate per night...I think the owners need to do MORE. Needless to say, even if they don't the Texas Camp parents and other families will still come stay there and I think they know that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ADVann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed two nights in a studio room and were very disappointed. The entire building needs to be razed and rebuilt, as it is so dated and run down. The property itself is lovely, sitting on the Guadalupe River with large oaks. The natural lake swimming area is nice, as are the canoes made available to the guests. Nevertheless, the nice location cannot make up for the the bad bed linens (foam blankets with burns, poor quality sheets, nasty old bedspread), the running toilet that was never fixed by maintenance, gross bathroom fixtures, etc. Kitchen needed additional cook wear.
If you are an AT &T customer, there is NO SERVICE, but we did get wi-fi via the resort.
It is sad that the owners have not put any money into the rooms and updated and improved them.

Room Tip: Avoid this motel/condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank traveltoes1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This, apartment-like complex consists of about 60 efficiency, one,and two bedroom units. Nothing real fancy about the units but they are all decorated slightly differently since they are individually owned and placed in a rental pool. Kind of, but not quite, like time shares. Almost all units face the Guadalupe river, which is very pretty at this location. The cool, crystal clear water is dammed in front of the resort to form a small lake suitable for swimming, fishing and canoeing. The grounds are very pretty and include a well taken care of lawn area, large trees, and flagstone paths. There is no restaurant so stop in Kerrville (18 mi. east) for your supplies and be prepared to use the apartment sized stove and/or the barbeque grills in the common areas to prepare meals. Nearest reataraunts are in the small town of Hunt 6 mi. east of the resort. Check restaurant reviews for Hunt Store and Elaine's Table. There is also a little taco stand there open until about 2 pm that is pretty good and has the biggest flour tortillas I have ever seen.
We stayed at the resort during Valentines week 2013 and the weather was cool but nice (low 25F & high 70F). It was very quiet and only about 4 or 5 units seemed to be occupied. There are quite a few summer camps for kiddies nearby and I understand it is usually at capacity during the summer so book early.

Room Tip: No elevator that I saw so if you have trouble climbing 1 flight of stairs ask for a first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Rooms are very average, but clean. Property is very fun! Great spot on the river! I would stay here again, even though I'm a hotel snob! It was all about the kids!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barkley4973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here in August of 2011 when we picked up the kids from camp! While the bedrooms are a little small, we had a blast! THe slide was used from sun up to sun down and resting in the shallow water - swimming in the deeper water - what a great experience! And while I know the hotel has no control of the people who stay there - that too was great! It seems that this place attracts people who love to relax!! Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Every room faces the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend here on a group motorcycle ride. I have stayed at several time shares or rental condos in the past, and this place was similar to the places I have stayed before. We stayed in an efficiency which was small, but O.K. for two people. It was a bit spartan, but clean. The big draw would be the location. You couldn't find a more beautiful location. The ride thru the Texas Hill Country was breathtaking.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all the rooms faced the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This past summer my son and I did an unsupported bicycle trip across America - Florida to California, which took roughly 2 months. Our blog was cycleofalifetime.blogspot.com We stayed in different hotel/motel/inn every night. We never had time to plan ahead so we were forced to stay wherever we could along our bike route. Sometimes we got lucky and got to stay at a nice place and sometimes - not so much. We arrived in Hunt Texas and called the River Inn Resort. Fortunately they had one room left. We had become skeptical of places with the word "resort", but we were pleasantly suprised by the River Inn Resort which had boats and a swimming area along the Guadalope River - a great place to relax after a day of biking. We met a gentleman while swimming in the river who had been coming back year after year for over 15 years, first with his kids and now with his grandkids. The room we stayed in was a bit dated but comfortable and had a kitchen so we could cook dinner. The staff was helpful and there is a beautiful communal room with a deck overlooking the Guadalupe River with comfortable chairs for reading. I could go on but to see pictures etc.. you can go to Day 26 of our blog cycleofalifetime.blogspot.com.

Room Tip: Book early especially if you are going during the summer, we were lucky to get the last room availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunt
13.9 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
518 reviews
17 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Escondida Resort
Escondida Resort
#1 of 1 in Medina
191 reviews
7.6 mi away
Worldmark Hunt - Stablewood Springs Resort
16.8 mi away
Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2960 Highway 39, Hunt, TX 78024-3415
Region: United States > Texas > Hunt
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunt
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
River Inn Resort And Conference Center Hunt, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing