We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas Treasure”

Garrison Brothers Distillery
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Hye
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garrison Brothers Distillery is Texas' first and oldest bourbon distillery. Our bourbon is hand-made from corn to cork right here on our little ranch. Tours are Thursday through Sunday @ 10am, noon, 2pm & 4pm. We'll teach you the entire process on how great bourbon is made. You'll taste our sweet mash, sample our white dog & end your visit with a taste of our fine bourbon. We strongly encourage that you call ahead so we can place you on our tour schedule.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Texas Treasure”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

From the moment we drove on the property, we felt welcome. When we arrived at the cabin, we were warmly welcomed by a gentleman, who we later found out was Dan Garrison. The distillery is small, but we could tell that the employees all had a passion for what they are doing. This passion shows through into the product the distillery produces. This is a must see tour, especially if you enjoy bourbon!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tjanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    27
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
“FABULOUS VISIT”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

the tour is informative and the bourbon outstanding. who knows....you may even win the bourbon barrel like I did....empty of course!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Went for the tour on a saturday. Very informative tour - they walk you through each step in the process. Great flavors! Plus its all made here in Texas.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wrangler_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awesome tour”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This bourbon distillery tour was part of a "wine tour" we booked. Though we're not bourbon drinkers, the tour was very interesting and it was fun to taste test. The Garrison Brothers employees we met were all friendly, informative and you could really sense their enthusiasm and fondness for their jobs. Our stop here was one of the highlights of the wine tour!
(We got lucky and were offered to sample bourbon-filled chocolates made with GB bourbon by a local chocolatier - bonus!!!)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunshineallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

From the welcome area onward there was no doubt this is a first class operation. We arrived 40 minutes before tour time and relaxed around the fire pit with a glass of wine and beer from the honor bar and watched as people arrived and made small talk. The group is shuttled to the distillery via open benches on a trailer. The staff show pride in a quality product and made the tour a delight. 1 suggestion. You can reserve on line and do that even as you are waiting if you see the crowd building and what to ensure your spot on the tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank janetn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garrison Brothers Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Garrison Brothers Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing