We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a 'must' when in the area!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garrison Brothers Distillery

Garrison Brothers Distillery
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Hye
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garrison Brothers Distillery is Texas' first and oldest bourbon distillery. Our bourbon is hand-made from corn to cork right here on our little ranch. Tours are Thursday through Sunday @ 10am, noon, 2pm & 4pm. We'll teach you the entire process on how great bourbon is made. You'll taste our sweet mash, sample our white dog & end your visit with a taste of our fine bourbon. We strongly encourage that you call ahead so we can place you on our tour schedule.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is a 'must' when in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have been on the tour twice now - first time in 2012, second time in 2014 - and we love the tour and the people. They have a true passion and knowledge base of the business and it shows in everything they say and do on the tour. Stephanie is a great tour guide! We even had the chance to meet the owner at our last tour and he is a 'good ole boy' from Texas.

You start off with a ride up to the actual distillery. You get to experience it all from the start of the grain to the actual bottling that is all done on-sight. The barrel room is absolutely breath taking with the views.

We enjoyed everything from the beautiful venue to the tasting. Will absolutely go back again. The cost is minimal and worth every penny of it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    24
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Distillery Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

For adults this is a great tour of the Garrison Brothers Distillery in Hye Texas. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and accommodating during our tour. There is a tasting if you want and the guides along the way have the knowledge about what they are doing. The views from this place are amazing with the wild flowers. You can even hand dip a bottle of single barrel (after purchase) and number the bottle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank judy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it--and I don't even like bourbon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Such a fun and interesting tour! My boyfriend and I visited the Sunday of Memorial Day weekend and had a wonderful time.

All the employees were friendly and genuinely seem to love what they do. I'm sure it can get stale giving the same spiel several times a day, but you'd never know it!

I don't particularly like whiskeys (my boyfriend got to enjoy an extra tasting!), but that didn't take anything away from a great hour learning about the love and science that goes into this TX bourbon.

Helpful?
Thank MariAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place is a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have done the bourbon trail in KY and whiskey in TN, come to Garrison Bros and be impressed. Make reservations online and show up. Get informed on their strict process (some secrets withheld) and then sip on some TX Bourbon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Khakisnflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No, You Do NOT Need To Have A Beard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Garrison Brothers distillery tour is a delightful experience from the time you turn off of 290. You realize you are going to see something special, something out-of-the-box...and of course you already know it's the only bourbon maker in our great state! (Most of the male employees had full beards btw)
My oldest son and I were there in November 2013, were welcomed at the cabin with drinks, and then climbed aboard the wagons for a trip up the hill to where the serious business of crafting fine bourbon is done.
The process itself is fascinating: the origins of all the ingredients are carefully explained, as is preparation of mash and white dog, there are huge gleaming copper kettles, the bottling process, and then the tasting! We each purchased our very own bottle, sealed it with deer hide and wax, and pressed into the hot wax an image of the star of Texas! It goes without saying that the bottle itself is a work of art, and the contents are deliciously smooth.
We had a wonderful time and I highly recommend the Garrison Bros. tour - it is a unique Texas experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EJK5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garrison Brothers Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Garrison Brothers Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing