We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
207
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
207
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh milk chilled water perfect hosts mid wales home made cakes mach loop place to stay breakfast was delicious alternative technology morning cuppa longer stay extra touches walk in shower fabulous stay wonderful home room door comfortable lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2022

We had a fabulous time at the old Rectory. Kirsty and Gareth have created a professional but homely guest house in a peaceful setting. We stay in a lot of good quality B and Bs or Hotels and this ranks in my top three, for quality and friendly service. Beautiful room all so clean and made to feel totally at home. Breakfast options are amazing and cakes in the lounge and honesty bar are things that bring people together in the evening to chat. Perfect ten from us. Thanks so much.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gareth and Kirsty, Owner at The Old Vicarage, Corris, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2022

Nicky, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so happy you both enjoyed your stay especially given you are experienced hikers and were able to make the absolute most of your stay. The path you suggested out at Dinas was nothing short of spectacular so thank you for the recommendation! We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future, I hope you're managing to shelter from this heatwave, K & G x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2022 via mobile

A hidden gem! A beautiful B&B and Gareth and Kirsty were wonderful hosts, very knowledgeable about the history of the area and so helpful.
Our room was fresh and airy and a lovely view over the forest. Our bed was a great size and very comfy. Breakfast was delicious, one of the tastiest we’ve had and all produce sourced locally. There was so much choice our stay of 2 nights wasn’t enough to taste it all.
It was very well situated for lots of attractions and Portmeirion, Beddgellert, Dolgellau and Aberdovey all visited in one day.
We would highly recommend staying with Gareth and Kirsty if you want the nice touches in a B&B and a friendly and personal experience.
Many thanks again for making our stay very enjoyable and memorable.
Phil and Jude Bevan
Swansea.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank philb564
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gareth and Kirsty, Owner at The Old Vicarage, Corris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2022

Phil, Jude, a million thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the area, and enjoyed your breakfasts! We hope you had a safe journey back down south and we're looking forward to welcoming you both back again in the future. K&G xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2022

Kirsty & Garrett are wonderful hosts, warm, helpful and always happy to give us some advise regarding dining possibilities, hiking tours and even a motorbike route, that was stunning (thank you Garrett.
The rooms immaculate, a large bathroom with a comfortable bathtub!
Breakfasts... you would have to stay for a a month to try it all. Kirsty has really nailed it.
We will definitely be back

Room tip: All rooms (4) seem to be equivalent
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C3955DMthomasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gareth and Kirsty, Owner at The Old Vicarage, Corris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Thomas, many thanks for your fabulous review and for taking the time to write it, we are delighted you both enjoyed your stay. We really do hope you come back to try even more of the breakfast options! Hopefully the rest of your tour has gone well and you have a safe ride back home. See you again soon, K&G xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2022

Love the beautiful and quirky interior design.
Totally relaxed 'homey' welcome.
Breakfast menu to die for - imagination, creativity, skills and taste.
And as for the packed lunches....I'm sure no one else on Cadair Idris had a packed lunch quite as inviting as ours!
There's very little that Kirsty and Gareth haven't thought of (maybe bathrobes?)

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 558lynneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gareth and Kirsty, Owner at The Old Vicarage, Corris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2022

Aw Lynne! Thanks for a fabulous review!! I'm also super happy that you were able to make everyone else up Cader envious of your lunch ;-)
Bathrobes! We do have them, they were on your pillow menu! :-) We store them hygienically (wrapped) until guests request them, rather than stored in rooms. We decided it was better for the environment, as we were washing them after every stay even if guests hadn't used them. I should probably make that text more prominent on the pillow menu! Thanks for the feedback!
Can't wait to welcome you back again in the future. <3
xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2022 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights end of June early July. The accommodation is absolutely beautiful and is a credit to the owners Kirsty and Gareth.
What fantastic hosts they are and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was lovely with a nice big comfy bed and a gorgeous view of the waterfall.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the room was so peaceful.
The breakfast was outstanding and included cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, coffee, juice and a great selection of cooked meals including a wonderful full Welsh breakfast. Certainly set us up for the day.
The location is great with so many places to visit within a reasonable drive away.
We can highly recommend The Old Vicarage and will be definitely returning again.
Thank you Kirsty and Gareth for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rodders1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gareth and Kirsty, Owner at The Old Vicarage, Corris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2022

R&Y,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfasts, thank you again for bringing some nice weather after the rather poor forecasts 😂 although that bit of rain did mean you got to see the stream flowing fast! Looking forward to seeing you both again in the future, and thanks a million for taking the time to leave a review xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews