We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Place with Worse staff”
Review of Agraharam Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirunelly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agraharam Cottages
Ranked #2 of 2 Thirunelly B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was referred here as the place I booked had some issues. Just a few reasons why no one should ever stay here:
1. Cammode leaking - water balling in the bathroom
2. Broken bathroom windows - Isnt this basic
3. Dirty and cracked walls
4. Filthy and Congested dining area
5. Pathetic Staff - On telling the manager all the issues we were facing I was told that all the others are staying under same condition and that I should not expect luxaries in the forest. Damn it for the price I paid these are basic necessaties.

Room Tip: Save yourself the hassel, just dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathannp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed with my family at agraharam with the purpose of visiting thirunelly temple.i searched tripadvisor before choosing the cottages. the cottage is situated on the left side of the road leading to thirunelly temple it is hardly 1 kms from the temple.those who wish to visit the cottages make sure that you notice the sign board of the cottage on the sharp turning which is not easily locatable.the reason for such sign board is it is within sanctuary.at the sign board take a sharp left deviation and the road is not tarred but stone laid this also because of forest .on entry on the left is restraint after that parking space with a badminton court .on the rigt is reception and after that independent villas with attached bathrooms .the room is provided with dish tv with ample storage space . the bathroom may appear to be little old fachioned but with modern amenities.only soap andshampoo is provided so take abrush and paste.and shaving kit. rooms are tidy kept clean and you feel at home.the rooms does not provide telephone. indoor games like caroms chess table tennis and outdoor game badminton is provided.since the place is within sanctuary wild elephant visits are frequent rather on daily basis so the property is provided with electric fencing which is functionable trough night.those who want spa has the facility arranged for reasonable price .those who are adventourous can take night safari in the jeep of the resort from the resort to about 15 to20 kms through jungle .in it you are sure to see the vibrant night life of jungleat close quarters.the restaurant provides very tasty food served with utmost care and dedication.you will sure cherish the taste even after you left the place.now the whole show is run by the omnipresent mr vineet who is assisted by brijesh who has thriiling stories of his experience with wild elephants make sure to get him to drive the jeep during night safari it will be a memorable experience and kiran who is in the restaurant who considers it as privilege to serve you with tasty food all during your stay .get him also for the night safari he is very adept in spotting wild animals in the dark.if you are lucky you can see the elephants by sitting in front of the cottage itself.the 6 year old kid of mr vineet revu make your stay the more memorable with her narations of every thing in and around the cottages a lovable adorable kid.it will be memorable indeed.

Room Tip: all cottages are good with privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TvmKrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

After a one day stay at Mudumalai we went towards Waynad and choose to stay in
Stayed in Agraharam Cottages.
It was a beautiful location. Each cottage provided complete privacy and good scenic view of the hills.
The staff were friendly enough and provided quick service
In the evening having tea with hot onion pakodas in the room balcony with the view of the misty hills was a memorable experience.
Morning walk to the near by stream provided opportunity to see lot of birds.
The bedding was neat and comfortable.
Well maintained resort even

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I would not recommend this one to anyone
>Pros
+Good Mattress, has a sound sleep.
>Cons
-Worst Management
-Mediocre or I would say below average food quality and insane pricing.
-Worst response from room service. Poor turn-around from the staff.
-Trust me., they gave us a cottage with no key to lock it.. Neither did they compromise on the bills for the inconvenience caused.
-Never take the Night Safari service.. Night safari is free in most other places. Hoping we get the same here we went for it and later learned they charge 1200/- for it. And you don't even expect to see a chicken.

PS: Just because you earn, it doesn't mean you can throw the money into garbage bin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VITHUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at Himagiri Homes in one of the suites during the period 3rd Oct, 2013 to 4th Oct, 2013. Our purpose was visit to the Thirunelly temple. The resort is placed at the perfect location in the lap of nature. I would recommend this to people who want to relax. The resort rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. The location is also amazing in between thick vegetation. Though my trip was too short, I would definitely want to spend 3 to 4 nights at this resort during my next visit.

Room Tip: Do go in for the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suresh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This review would be helpful for those who want to visit this area of Waynand during Monsoon. We wanted to go to some place where we could just relax and away from city crowd. So end up with Agraharam Cottages. It was mixed felling. Property is good but not maintained may be because of low session. Children's play are was not at all maintained and usable. They had recreation center but TT room was big enough just to fit table,You can't play there. Hospitality and Staff was too good and too helpful. Though room service was too slow. Irrespective you order dinner/lunch or Tea it will take same time which is around an hour.
Food is costly, though because of low session they charged 250 for buffet but Ala-carte was still costly. I think you have no option and they know that which is real reason of high prices.
Cottage is bit small but not too small and a family of 3. Outside sitting are is very small which I did't like. Staff was so helpful and they took us for a walk till a nearby stream. Passing through paddy fields was an experience in itself.
Overall property is very green and have very good view. Very close to Thirunelly temple is another advantage. On the back side of this resort KTDC Tamarind is located. If you want to try you can have food there as well. We tried one dinner there and it was extremely good. It was not very cheap compare of Agraharam as buffet there costed us 500 but dinner in Tamarind costed 400.
This part of Waynand is extremely beautiful and green. We knew that Kurva Island is closed during Monsoons but even then we end up driving till Kurva as it goes through thick forest where you can spot some wildlife (if you are lucky). One day trip to Irupu Falls, was memorable, it was one of the best falls I have ever visited where you can go till fall and take a bath.
If going in low session don't expect too much but if same thing happens during peak session then that would definitely not be acceptable.

Room Tip: All rooms/Cottages are kind of same. Try to select rooms which are towards KTDC Tamarind as they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Good location be cause you can see mountains near by.
The cottages is small but also good.
The food is only average but eatable. You have to because in the jungle you have no option to eat out.
We felt it was very rude and goonda management. Not friendly. No goodmorning nothing. Always had a stern face watching us as though we some kind of anti social elements. Other guests were openly drinking liqor in the resort common area and that gave us not so good feeling. The price is also very expensive too.
During check out also we had trouble and the bill was wrong 2 times, but finally they agreed the mistake. Not a good option, go only for mountain view. It is also near temple.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaheu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Agraharam Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agraharam Cottages

Address: Thirunnelli Temple, Thirunelly 670646, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Thirunelly
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thirunelly
Price Range: £33 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agraharam Cottages is a jungle resort at Thirunelli in Wayanad, Kerala. It is a cluster of independent villas. It is 135 kms from Calicut, 120 kms from Mysore and 250 kms from Bangalore. The beauty of the green landscape, crystalline streams, mist-clad mountains and the silent atmosphere are some of the “luxuries” that one can get at Agraharam Cottages. One can eat the most delicious food from its multi-cuisine restaurant, looking at the ravishing beauty of hills and dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing