We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising find”
Review of Cavalli Pizza

Cavalli Pizza
Ranked #10 of 578 Restaurants in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Pizzeria Napoletana
Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A surprising find”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were saddled with an unexpected overnight in the DFW airport area and happened upon Cavalli's after getting checked in a nearby hotel. We had a pizza and a salad and were extremely satisfied. Super quick service and delicious food. The wood-fired pizza is a very thin crust with quality topping ingredients. The salad had fresh vegetables and was plenty large for a satisfying meal on its own.
The idea of a BYOB pizza place is cool and had we had our own drinks, we would have brought them. Instead, we purchased sodas. But the cashier did suggest there are two nearby options for purchasing beer/wine so we could have done that to really complete the meal.
Very friendly staff too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    57
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deux-Montagnes, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza in Irving, Texas”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I went there with my two good friends for dinner for the first time on Saturday.

Cavalli is definitely the BEST pizza I have tasted so far in Texas.

900 degrees Fahrenheit wood fired oven! Do I need to say anything else?

And it is a BYOB place! Yeah!

Great food, great staff, great prices and and a fun place to have a great pizza dinner with the people you LUV.

And don't forget their really good fries! You can't have pizza without fries from where I come from.

It was our first time, we WILL be back!

You are in the Las Colinas area, make sure you stop by Cavalli Pizza, you won't regret it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, casual atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Cavalli's in Irving, TX is a great find, thanks to a friend of mine from the area. It is a smallish restaurant in a shopping center at I-635 and Belt Line Road (behind the McDonald's). The owner is from Naples, Italy and the food is authentic Italian, featuring wood fired pizza. We shared a large salad and small pizza for dinner and it was plenty for both of us. Order at the counter and then pick your seat. They bring the food out to you with "real" plates and utensils. The salad was good (a bit too much onion for my taste), but the pizza was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Death by salty pizza”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Reviewed this in January, it was great then, I had the white chicken pizza. But returned and found I was served the saltiest food item I have ever eaten, the 3 meat pizza. Ate most of it, but it swelled me up, could not finish. I thought it was pretty pricey ($13.25 plus tax) for an individual pizza, but ordered it up. It had ham, bacon and sopressata (a salami). When I told the manager it was salty, he said it was my fault for ordering it, as those are all salty meats. He actually remembered my compliment from my last visit and even what I ordered. Was surprised I got this attitude of it is my fault instead of some type apology. True, these are generally salty meats... but cheaper bacon and ham are always very salty, same with salami. So my conclusion is they use cheap quality meats. I've had plenty of other meat pizzas not this super-salty. So I will reward them with non-attendance in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Overpriced, burnt pizza...I don't get it. How is this place the best in this area? Granted the pizza was quickly delivered to the table after ordering.

Helpful?
Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cavalli Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing