We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious and inconvenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NYLO Irving / Las Colinas
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretentious and inconvenient”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I have stayed in some 5 star hotels and some Red Roof type hotels-I travel a lot. This hotel is so self concious about being "the hip hotel" that it's painful to see. Everything in the hotel is designed to slap you in the face with how "cool" it is without doing what nice hotels are supposed to do-make your travels a little easier and smoother. The desk staff was completely oblivious about anything to do with the hotel. I asked what kind of food the restaurant served. They didn't know. I asked where to get ice. They didn't know. Finally I asked if anyplace just delivered pizza to that hotel. They said absolutely not. Well, I called a Papa Johns that was only 2 miles away. They definately delivered. In the bathroom, for instance, the sink is a pedastal-there is not a strip of counter space to put the things ALL TRAVELERS HAVE. You end up working out of a bag on the floor. Ladies, there is no tub-only a shower stall with tiles sharp enough that you feel like they could cut your feet. Also, the walls of the shower are straight up and down-there is no ledge to put your foot on to shave your legs. How do you shave without this? These are only a few examples of how far this hotel is from being a nice place to stay. All of these little ways in which this hotel puts appearance above the comfort and convenience of their guests add up to major irritation and a great desire to stay somewhere authenticly nice. Thank heavens we were only there one night. My husband also detested the fakery of this pretender.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Irving / Las Colinas, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Greetings Sherry R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. First I would like to apologize for the experience you had while staying at our hotel. Our team does their best to satisfy every guests request and in any case, not matter what the cause – we did not do enough to prevent it from ruining your stay. Your feedback on the design and layout of the hotel is noted and please be assured that we have forward your comments to the design team.

We hope you give us a second change to show you our true service culture.

All the best,
Maegan Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    194
    81
    42
    30
See reviews for
78
243
53
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel has to be one of the most fun, laid back, sexiest boutique hotels in the Las Colinas/Irving area of Dallas. They never fail to impress with their service, drinks by the pool and food. Although, family friendly, I tend to think this hotel is more for the single set.

Room Tip: The rooms are very contemporary and storage is at a minimum. So be prepared to live out of your suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirebrandFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Irving / Las Colinas, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Good Day FirebrandFire,

Thank you for staying at NYLO Dallas/Las Colinas and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments and please be assured that we have shared them with the team!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, and always feel free to contact us directly if we can ever be of future service.

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Everything was great. We especially enjoyed the bar area which is a cool hangout with plenty of things to do from board games to pool, or just hangin by the pool listening to the live entertainment.
Chris, our bartender was awesome!!
He had great tasting drink suggestions when I was unsure of what I wanted. Yum!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granola27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Irving / Las Colinas, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Good Day Granola27,

Thank you for staying at NYLO Dallas/Las Colinas and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments regarding Chris at the Loft bar, please be assured that we have shared them with the team!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, and always feel free to contact us directly if we can ever be of future service.

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is perfect location for when I am in Irving on business. I only wish they had more in other cities I travel to for work throughout Texas. Gloria at the front desk is super and always accommodating. The staff is awesome and love the bar for connecting with old friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan_NYLO, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Irving / Las Colinas, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Greetings Melanie L.,

Thank you for your loyalty to NYLO Hotels and thank you for posting your comments with us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to learn that your stay with us was delightful. Please stay tuned for future locations as our brand is looking to expand to different cities. In fact, we have a new location in South Dallas near the Arts District.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, and always feel free to contact us should you need future service.

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Social Media Manager
NYLO Hotels LLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I was recommended this hotel by a client simply for close proximity to their site. From check in to check out I found this hotel more than adequate.. I loved the industrial style of exposed pipe work and concrete. The rooms although not huge are a good size and well laid out. The pool is rather a nice feature but rather useless for anything other than a paddle, owing to its size, but it does make the courtyard a nicer place to be. The outdoor bar is great for an after work drink and the inside/restaurant bar is great for after dark. I would recommend Chris the bartender for a promotion. I found breakfast a little disorganised which let the hotel down slightly as I like to start the day out in a relaxed environment hence 4 and not 5 on my rating .. And I am being really picky if I am honest.. I would certainly recommend for a business traveller.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginnerfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan_NYLO, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Irving / Las Colinas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Greetings Ginnerfreak,

Thank you for choosing NYLO Dallas/Las Colinas to host your recent stay. Moreover, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding the Breakfast layout - please be assured that we have shared and discussed this with our team.

We hope to see you again in the near future, and always feel free to contact us directly if we can ever be of future service.

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

When we arrived for our 3 year anniversary getaway weekend, we were told that the pool/outdoor bar would be unavailable until later that evening due to a wedding. The commons areas in this hotel are tiny and definitely not big enough to house a wedding plus additional hotel guests. We were then told the pool would be closed the following day for maintenance. We were not notified of any of this prior to arrival or we would have simply changed our reservation. Due to the wedding, we could not get drinks at the indoor bar either and the wait/bar staff were extremely overloaded. We had vouchers for 2 appetizers and did not get to use them until 9:30that night, at which point we were told that the kitchen would be closing at 10. After a disappointing night, I will say we crawled into the most comfortable bed I have slept in ever. However, the next morning, we were awakened by loud banging and could not determine where it was coming from. When we looked in the hall, all of our neighbors were also peeking out, dis-oriented and disheveled, having been awakened from a dead sleep. When we called reception, we were told that "maintenance is necessary from time to time" and that they "thought" maybe they were installing tiles in the women's bathroom. After a half hour, we were assured it was done, but by this point everyone was wide awake. The staff was not helpful and quite frankly acted a little snobbish, which caught us off guard given the unexpected circumstances we walked into. We spoke to many of the guests over the weekend and we were all in agreement that we will not be returning, nor will we be recommending to others. Very disappointed, we were really excited about this.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindygee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYLOManagement, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Irving / Las Colinas, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Greetings mindygee10,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We would like to apologize for the experience you had while at the hotel. We strive very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful and delightful experience. I am disappointed to learn that we fell short on this goal during your last stay. As you know, we had several guest in the hotel for the wedding that took place in our courtyard and banquet spaces. We tried every attempt to contact our guests that provided their contact information prior to their arrival to inform them about the closure of our pool and public spaces due to special events and routine pool maintenance. Unfortunately, not all guests provide contact information when booking reservations. In any case, no matter what the cause – we did not do enough to prevent it from ruining your stay.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Again, thank you for your comments – we can only get better if we receive honest feedback from guests like yourself.

All the best,
Maegan Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Me and My wife were extremely satisfied with this hotel. Upon arrival and checking in the Staff was very friendly, the lobby was quiet and the contemporary furniture was really nice and elegant. Our Room had such a cozy feeling. The bathroom with the round sink and the Rain shower head shower. The way it was set up with the Bed in front of the window with the hanging dim lights and the Contemporary love seat and table. The restaurant was excellent. The food was great, the one man Band was great. It was just so Nice and Cozy and not to crowded. The outdoor area where the pool was located was great. It was nice and spacious and located where the restaurant was. The next Morning we had Breakfast and it was also good. We also Took a ride around the surrounding area and enjoyed it. It wasn't to congested and the stores and restaurant's were not to far away. Overall the hotel and the area was very pleasing and affordable. Actually me and my wife Had a deal for our stay. It was upon arrival, Chocolate covered strawberries, a bottle of Champagne, 2 Vouchers for 2 cocktails, 2 vouchers for 2 appetizers, and 2 breakfast vouchers for 2 all for under $180...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan_NYLO, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Irving / Las Colinas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Good Day James M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with NYLO Dallas/Las Colinas on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read you and your wife had a wonderful and delightful stay with us. It's great to see your wife found us on LivingSocial and were able to enjoy all of our wonderful ammenities!

We hope to see you again in the near future, and always feel free to contact us directly if we can ever be of assistance.

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irving
2.5 mi away
Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas
0.3 mi away
HYATT House Dallas/Las Colinas
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Las Colinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Omni Dallas Hotel at Park West
0.9 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Las Colinas
3.0 mi away
The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO Irving / Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO Irving / Las Colinas

Property: NYLO Irving / Las Colinas
Address: 1001 W Royal Ln, Irving, TX 75039-4127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Irving
#10 Business Hotel in Irving
#18 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NYLO Irving / Las Colinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing a unique alternative to the traditional, uninspiring hotel experience, NYLO Irving/Las Colinas is an elegant and sophisticated boutique style hotel that is also comfortable, casual and fun. Business and leisure travelers will find no better or exciting place to stay in the Las Colinas area than the NYLO Las Colinas with its chic loft-style accommodations, two outdoor heated swimming pools, a state of the art gym, ample meeting and event space, and the Manhattan ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NYLO Irving / Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nylo Dallas Las Colinas Hotel Irving

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing