We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with a Caveat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a really nice Residence Inn. The staff was terrific, extremely helpful and friendly after a diverted flight and unexpected overnight in Dallas. Rooms are updated, standard Residence Inn fare, just newer than most. My only hesitation is for those who go to sleep early or wake up late and are sensitive to noise: at least on the night I stayed, there was substantial aircraft noise as planes were taking off (or landing?). Unless I was there on an atypical flight track day, you WILL hear plane noise. I stopped noticing it as much after 10 or so, but it picked up again promptly at 6 a.m. Otherwise, great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiMark5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent service. Knowledgeable staff. Spotless room and accommodations. Super convenient to the airport, nearby restaurants and shopping. Will stay hear again when in need of overnight accommodations close to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63TimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Brought my goddaughters to Dallas from Kansas so we could sightsee and hang out, and this place had a two-bedroom suite so I decided to try it. We were thrilled with this hotel!
First, it has a full kitchen with dishes, silverware and pots/pans, and they even provide a dishwasher soap cube in case you need it. But they encourage you to leave your dishes in the sink and the maid cleans everything up and turns the dishwasher on for you each day... as well as cleaning the room. We were greeted very warmly when we checked in and asked if we needed help unloading the car. This hotel is literally five minutes from DFW Airport, and I saw a shuttle bus that goes with the hotel, in case you need it.
Breakfast is included with the room each day. We had fun making our own waffles and putting whipped cream and nuts and berries on them. We also ate eggs, sausage, potatoes, English muffins, muffins, yogurt with granola, biscuits and gravy, and fruit throughout our stay. The food choices change up a little each day.
The suite itself was very clean and had a great set-up. The girls' room was on the opposite side of the living room so I couldn't hear them giggling at night and they couldn't hear me. Of course, they have the firm, comfy Marriott beds in each room. I gave them the king sized bed and stayed in the room with the queen.
Besides a tiny kitchen, there is a table with two comfy chairs, a desk with a swivel chair, and a couch that apparently folds out to make a bed. Seats two easily, three if you like each other. All three rooms had flat screen TV's in them.
We used this hotel as a jumping off place to go to the Dallas Zoo and the Aquarium (A MUST!), as well as the JFK Museum. They were all about thirty minutes away. There are also restaurants and the big Irving Mall nearby, with a movie theater.
The girls also tried both the indoor pool at our hotel (saltwater) and the outdoor pool at the sister Courtyard Marriott next door. Both were smallish, but not many people were swimming. The air conditioner worked really well. We felt very comfortable the whole time we were there, and safe.

Now for a few negatives. There was road noise, as you are on a big highway. I always bring a sound machine with me, so not a problem for me. And the girls didn't notice it at all. I'm a light sleeper. Which is why the blinking light in the smoke detector above the bed drove me nuts each night. I learned to cover my head with the sheets. We did hear airplanes, but not until Sunday.
There were no paper towels in the room, but when I called the front desk, they suggested we come get napkins from the coffee area. They are the big fancy serviettes you usually save for parties. We took plenty.
There is fancy Paul Mitchell shampoo (3) and conditioner for the shower, but no shower cap or lotion, so bring your own.
Both bathrooms in this suite had railings and seats in the tub for handicapped accessibility. My seat was stuck in a 45 degree angle and wouldn't go up or down. Not a problem for me because I only take showers and it was on the last half of the tub. There is a phone in each bathroom, too, in case someone gets into trouble. I did see several people who looked like they were patients coming to Dallas to get medical care.
All in all, a fabulous hotel! I asked what the longest is that anyone has stayed there and the front desk staff said 380 days. I can see why. Very comfortable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the highway and see if it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank optique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful room. For the price of a regular hotel you get double the amenities. Staff was extra helpful and breakfast was exactly what I was looking for with my family. Quiet, clean, spacious, free wifi what more can you ask for. Oh and they also have a printer and computer to help with printing your airline boarding pass right in lobby. This place goes above and beyond.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed there for two weeks in March while in town for training. A deciding factor in choosing this hotel was the great rating it had here on Trip Advisor. The hotel is in great shape overall and the rooms are better than I had hoped.

I had a King Studio suite and loved it. This is the first time I have had a room look exactly like the picture on the website. The room was spacious and well lit in all areas. The bathroom area is not very big but I still found it to be very functional. Decent closet and drawer space. The desk area provided for a workspace was perfect for my needs and had several, conveniently placed power outlets and ethernet ports. I had no problems with the free wifi signal. I was very impressed with the well-stocked kitchen in the room (flatware, dishes, pots & pans, etc) which also had a full size refrigerator with a working ice-maker.

If I have a single complaint about the room, it would only be the choice of available TV channels. Even when out of town, I like a little downtime watching TV. While certainly not a big deal, the available programming was weak at best, especially the Showtime channel.

As many others have commented, the staff at this hotel is great. Every employee I encountered at the front desk was very pleasant, professional, and helpful, right down to the young man who worked the desk after midnight during the week. These folks are getting it right when it comes to customer service.

The hotel provides free breakfast every day and free dinner Monday through Thursday. The food is nothing special but it's also not bad, especially since it's free. Set your expectations accordingly and you won't be disappointed with this nice option. The hotel also has a small coin-operated laundromat with current appliances in good working order and they give you detergent and fabric softener for free at the front desk. Another nice touch in my opinion.

Overall, I was extremely happy with my experience at this hotel and would go out of my way to stay there again on future trips.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side face the interstate and some may consider this a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for just one night in February. We changed hotels to here because of the crazy construction traffic in Fort Worth and we were worried about catching an international flight in the morning. We wish we had stayed here instead of 2 nights at another hotel. The rooms were immaculate, and the bed was very comfortable. The gym area was nice with more equipment than I expected. The front desk staff was very helpful, and referred us to a nice restaurant nearby. The shuttle service was very prompt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FuninthesunOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Same owner owns both the Residence and Courtyard. What a fantastic job on pre-planning on his part between the two (almost share a parking lot). Everything about the stay was great from breakfast, staff and sleep. The only thing I would say is that the Courtyard is more for business (which I was on) and Residence Inn had a mix. Not a bad complaint at all, just could have a mix of young kids to infants (harder when trying to conduct interviews/lobby meetings). Well worth an extended trip into the city for sure

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Dallas-Las Colinas Area
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites DFW Airport South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn DFW Airport South
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas - Las Colinas
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, DFW Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving

Address: 2200 Valley View Ln, Irving, TX 75062-1730
Region: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Price Range: £83 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving offers a convenient and contemporary home base from which to explore Irving and the surrounding area. Our hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers on extended stays in the DFW region, as we offer spacious guest rooms with full kitchens and pullout sofas for additional space. Plus, our accommodations are ideally close to top destinations like AT&T Stadium, Irving Mall and Lone Star Park at Grand Prairie. Our Irving, Texas hotel's public spaces include many desirable amenities, including an indoor heated pool and free daily hot breakfast. Choose to stay with us and you'll also receive complimentary shuttle to DFW Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing