We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close your eyes and your at any Marriott” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Irving
charlotte
Level Contributor
122 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Close your eyes and your at any Marriott”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is your classic Marriott. The hotel itself is older but they have updated the rooms. They are larger than average and boast comfortable beds and LCD TV's. The shower had great water pressure and customer service at the property was fine.

I can't say anything was over the top, but for what it is...very nice. The food was typical as well...had both snacks and breakfast. I would leverage UBER for transportation because it's inexpensive and always close because of the airport. There are a couple of malls with food choices very close.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianparsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    192
    84
    22
    12
See reviews for
55
84
37
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this marriott for a week on business not my first time here but will never stay at this property again. 1st off the hotel rooms need a major update very old looking. 2nd the staff is up and down some were great but others completely rude which made u forget that some were nice. The restaurant downstairs is the same way good food and service on day 2 but so bad the next day didn't go back also let's be honest the food is way overpriced. Overall I'm just not happy with this location anymore I've stayed at many Marriott properties including the Ritz Carlton and JW Marriott and the vacation clubs and even the courtyard and Fairfield Inn and this was most definitely the worst service I had received at any of these properties

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Armymedic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review.

I apologize for your less than satisfactory stay and am disappointed to hear that we did not provide consistently good service that you have come to expect from Marriott Hotels and Resorts.

If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, I’d love to hear from you. You can reach me through the hotel main telephone number, 972-929-8800.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel! The rooms were well appointed and clean. Everyone was very professional and pleasant. The pool, hot tub and gym were nice and well kept (with fresh lemon water and apples). When we departed, we forgot a back back with some valuable items. We called and the staff quickly located the items and made arrangements to have them sent to us. Thanks for a great and relaxing week.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 505Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Airport shuttle pickup is inefficient. I was told no more than 20 mins and it was 30. Another guy told me he waited over an hour. Rooms are decent size but phone wasn't working and wifi is incredibly slow everywhere throughout the building. Even the one dedicated to our conference was poor. Gym is decent sized and sufficient and food was good though a bit expensive for room service (expect a $20-30 minimum bill).

Aside from my co worker getting hassled about getting the corporate rate while checking in, the staff was helpful but overall this hotel needs to do a better job catering to business travelers who are the hulk of their guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dconthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. I certainly appreciate your feedback regarding your shuttle pickup experience. We strive to provide our guests with an excellent arrival experience and I apologize we did not achieve this for you. Please also accept my apologies for the slow internet. We are currently in the process of completely replacing our system infrastructure as well as upgrading the circuit for additional bandwidth. I am confident this will provide our guests with a much improved internet experience.

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed our gym facilities and our dining options.

We appreciate you being a loyal Marriott guest and hope if you travel back to the Dallas area you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here because it was close to the airport and we had a very early morning flight. Since we were hungry I was delighted that there were many nearby restaurants if you have a car. WE wanted Italian food and the front desk recommended a place nearby that was very good. Beds were awesome. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: They put us on an "all-women's" floor which I've never seen before but it does giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen180857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were able to get a good night’s rest. Our front office staff will be happy to know that you enjoyed their dining recommendation.

We look forward to having you back as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This has to be among the worst run properties in the chain.

The internet clocks in at speeds of less than half a megabit per second… for hours on end… and then times out. I tried to send one email for over a hour and fifteen minutes before giving up. When you speak to the MOD about it, she says, “Yes, we know, that always happens at this time [meaning peak hours of usage between 6 and 10 PM]. We’re trying to get a new provider.” Well, good luck with that, as Marriott has service from Ibahn at every property I’ve ever stayed in. And they deliver a terrible product at every single property.

Her solution? Try again after 11 PM.

I did. And it wasn’t any better.

It should be noted that in response to complaints about the internet, the GM of this hotel commented on a review in February of this year that the DFW Airport Marriott North was embarking on a capital improvement project "that will completely replace our system infrastructure as well as upgrade the circuit for additional bandwidth. We expect this to be implemented in either April or May of this year.”

it’s now mid-June and the project hasn’t begun.

There are many other things wrong with the DFW North Marriott (including the quality of the room service food), but there are also some very nice things, too. Unfortunately, I won’t be telling you about any of those. Why? Because it’s 2014. And if you don’t have reliable high speed internet service to offer your guests, you don’t have a viable lodging product. Shame on Marriott for allowing this travesty of a hotel to continue operating. And charging $12.95 to unsuspecting guests for “premium” internet that the hotel knows doesn’t work properly is downright criminal.

Even though I have an office within walking distance of the hotel, and a negotiated corporate rate, I won’t be staying here again… I can’t afford to! It’s not the price of the room, which is relatively reasonable. It’s that I can’t afford to lose contact with the outside world for days on end.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKstages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent experience at our hotel.

I understand how important the internet is in today’s business world as well as for personal communication. Please accept my sincere apology for the poor connectivity you experienced.

Unfortunately the high speed upgrade project that I had mentioned in a posting back in February had been delayed due to some issues that were out of our control. The good news is that I have personally met with the installer this week and they are scheduled to be on property June 30th to start implementation, with a completion date of towards the end of July. I am confident that upgrading the entire infrastructure along with increasing the bandwidth will give our guests a much improved internet experience. Our new vendor is Swisscom who I understand is very well received by our guests.

I am very sorry about the inconvenience and do hope you will give us the opportunity to be your host again later on this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel was very noisy the night we stayed here, in a hotel this large and on the higher end price wise, i expected a bit more. Drink machines only took debit cards which i do not like. They did allow us early check in which is the only reason I gave an average review. Parking was horrible too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share your feedback after your recent visit to the hotel.

I am glad we were able to accommodate you with an early check in, but I was disappointed that overall you did not enjoy your visit. I believe you may have our guest during one of the busiest weekends of the month; we had several large groups in-house for the George Strait concert, IRL Racing and a private function. With so many guests, our parking lot which can hold approximately 750 cars, was unusually full. This may have been why the hotel appeared noisy as well.

We strive to deliver an excellent experience to all our guests, and I am sorry that we did not achieve this during your visit. I do hope you will consider being our guest again if travel brings you back to the Dallas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irving
0.8 mi away
The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency DFW
Hyatt Regency DFW
#22 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irving - DFW Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS DFW Airport Suites
2.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt DFW
Grand Hyatt DFW
#2 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Irving / DFW Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott

Property: Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott
Address: 8440 Freeport Pkwy, Irving, TX 75063-2521
Region: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Irving
#24 Business Hotel in Irving
#25 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North Hotel Irving
Marriott Hotel Irving
Marriott Irving
Irving Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing