We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful Airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Birmingham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Useful Airport hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

First things first - if you are intolerant of noise then this hotel is not for you as it is close to the perimeter fence of one of the worlds largest airports. To be honest I found the noise of the planes less annoying than that of the air conditioning fan.

The room was a suite i think. It was large with sink, microwave and fridge fitted. Very clean and comfortable.

All the staff I had contact with were cheerful and pleasant.

There is free wireless or cabled internet available.

I didn't use the pool but there is a small pool which is 3'6deep at each end and 4' in the middle so ideal if you have children with you.

There is also a fitness room with free weights, treadmills, exercise bikes etc.

Overall I was very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMC137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    108
    57
    23
    11
See reviews for
78
57
42
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
663 reviews
441 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Not sure why - but they gave me a suite. It was a long way from the front desk. The hotel is a maze. Clearly it's older without the modern design. But you know...it worked. It was clean, fresh, and not a bad little place. It's as good if not better than the Fairfield next door. It was a bit hard to find in my navi....but that's not their fault.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelManSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had a wonderful reception. It's a very busy place but the guy at the front desk was friendly & helpful. He was working at high speed but we were made to feel like we were the only ones there. He got us checked in with record speed - a very cool guy!
Only problem was the toilet kept running & my husband took the lid off the tank & giggled the handle & unkinked the chain. Still it would run so we called for maintance. A guy came up & did the same thing & said - "There, it's fixed!" It happened again but we were checking out so we figered we'd tried. On the night before our flight out we checked into this same hotel & got the same room!! Surprise, surprise - the toilet had the same problem. Hope maintance will someday get around to fixing the plumbing in this suite.
Other than that - this is an excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holley-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
155 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We initially thought that we would be staying at HIE at 333 W John Carpenter Freeway (114), much higher rated hotel on TA (#10 when I wrote this review) than this hotel (#59).

The hotel is old, very close to DFW and the planes are very noisy, especially when you getting your belongings from the car. Seems like the plane will land right on top of you. Inside you can still hear the planes, but it much better and quieter.

The room is spacious with small kitchen, but our had not offensive, but unusual odor. The room seemed clean, the beds and the pillows (choice of firm or soft) were nice. The bath has separate shower and tub. Nice touch, though the toilet space is a bit tight. The old TV had limited channel selection and Starz as premium channel and is next to the bed, not facing it. Seems like an afterthought.

Denny’s is nearby, but there are any kind of shopping / restaurants 10 min away. Just beware that construction is going on at 114 and 121 (Grapevine) and the traffic is heavy in the afternoon.

The breakfast bar is copy of and the same as every other place. It is OK for a day or two, but it gets old very quickly after that. Not much to look forward with breads, eggs, yogurt, etc. and almost no fresh fruit (apple or two, that’s it).

This place is on southwest frontage road of 114 populated with many other hotel chains. If you need to be close to DFW you can check them out, though they will have the same landing planes issue, but if you prefer HIE I suggest the 5 mile or so drive south to what we thought was our original stay. Much nicer (even just looking from outside) and quieter place than this Holiday Inn Excuse.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barron, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

All flights from DFW were cancelled around midnight due to weather and the lines were long and slow waiting to be rescheduled for the following day. I'd had knee surgery 6 weeks earlier and was in great pain. The shuttle from the airline's discounted hotel didn't show after 2 hours so I called Holiday Inn Express and reserved a room for $89. They sent a shuttle within 15 minutes and gave me a beautiful 2 room suite. I used the computer in the lobby to schedule an earlier flight than the airline gave me saving 6 hours of waiting. I was pleasantly surprised when I checked out to only be charged $55+tax. I will definitely be back, wonderful place and great people!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkp123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I stayed at this Holiday Inn on a brief overnight, and believe you me, one night would have been more than enough (due to the 1980's decor), but keep reading! At around 4:30 AM the power went out, and did not come back on. Showering and packing by the light of a Blackerry is not what I expect when I pay for a night in a hotel. Nor do I expect to have to find my way to the hotel lobby by following the walls because there is NO (zero) safety lightening in the entire hotel. When I reached the lobby I advised the desk associated I was unable to find my phone charger in the room, and was told they could not let me back in to my room. Five phone calls to the hotel manager later, and two emails to the parent hotel chain, and still no return of my phone calls or possessions, say nothing about customer satisfaction. I do find it funny however, that Holiday Inn was able to make sure that my bill was emailed to me within 24 hours of the power being turned back on....

Room Tip: Don't book here.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveLSouth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed nearly five weeks (with a seven day split in the middle of visit), which is standard as we visit family. Being our visits are for long stays, our search for a hotel includes convenience to the airport w/shuttle, proximity to restaurants, room accommodations, and price. In this case, we generally stayed at the HIE on Airport Frwy, but decided to change primarily, as rooms there do not provide the privacy for the dressing/vanity. Nor do they have separate (door separating them) living and bedrooms.

Sadly, our first introduction to this HIE was the contracted shuttle. Though the young man was personable, the van was dirty and beat-up and he offered no help to get our luggage into the hotel. Not a good first impression.

Then, upon our return to complete the final leg of our trip, we were met at the desk by a less than cordial greeting. The young lady couldn't even raise her head to make eye contact. This behaviour continued from she and most of the evening staff for the remainder of our stay.

There was only one clerk, the maintenance man, and weekday dining room staff that made a sincere effort to make our stay comfortable. The rest of the staff could learn customer service from them.

It has to be said though, when I reported these concerns and frustrations to the manager he was very apologetic and show genuine concern.

All in all, our stay was in a clean comfortable room which included a typical HIE breakfast. The beds were very comfortable and the room, though in need of updating, adequate and comfortable. Though I find it a shame they chose to switch to disposable dishes and cutlery in the suites.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d-ann-moulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW Airport
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas DFW Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas DFW Airport North/Irving
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Irving / DFW Airport North
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irving - DFW Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North
Address: 4550 W John Carpenter Fwy, Irving, TX 75063-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Irving
#22 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dallas/Fort Worth hotel is in an ideal location. You'll receive superior accommodations in Dallas/Ft Worth (DFW) when you choose the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW North. Ideally located one mile from DFW Airport, our Dallas hotel offers several convenient services like a free shuttle to and from the airport. Short-term travelers and long-term visitors will both enjoy staying in our hotel in the DFW Metroplex. Visitors will find our DFW hotel the ultimate in convenience due to the area's business attractions. Situated among more than 8,000 companies, including 4 global headquarters for Fortune 500s, our DFW accommodations, multiple meeting rooms, and 24-hour business center fit the ambitious mindset of our local businesses. Travelers looking for hotels near DFW airport will be happy to find that we are only 12 miles from Six Flags and Wet 'n Wild Water World. The Galleria Mall, Grapevine Mills Mall, and Ft. Worth Stockyards have Texas treasures and souvenirs for you to remember your DFW vacation. Because every room is a newly renovated suite filled with new amenities, guests will feel at home throughout their DFW stay. Escape for a relaxing dip in our outdoor pool, and stay connected throughout your trip with free high-speed Internet access available in every room. Whether you're enjoying a Texas family vacation or business trip, our Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites near DFW is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites-Dfw North
Holiday Inn Irving
Irving Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing