We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steeling away near DFW, again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North
Ranked #28 of 79 Hotels in Irving
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here two nights while at a steel guitar convention (next door). We were upgraded to a two-room suite (with our Priority Club status). The two rooms were nice: in the front room one could relax, read a book or watch TV, while the other went to sleep in the bedroom. The bedroom had two double beds; not my first choice but it may be fine for others. All rooms were spacious and well equipped. Each of the two rooms had a TV, but we never used either one.
The lighting in the outer room was not quite bright enough for me, as I had to move the various lamps around to get them just so to shine on the book I was reading (there was no overhead light in the ceiling). I think some brighter bulbs might be an easy solution. The free breakfast was pretty good, though it had a mass-produced appearance and taste. They had sausage that was just OK, and the omelets were some kind of machine-produced folded egg with a minimum of something in the middle. All I wanted were scramble eggs, so I simply unfolded this foldover concoction and scraped out the spoonful of mystery stuffing. As far as free breakfasts go, it was satisfactory, and certainly better than the "continental" breakfasts offered at some other competing hotel chains.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. It gives us immense pleasure to know that we have served you well. We genuinely invest on giving our guests a pleasant experience while making their stay a comfortable one to remember, and for you to commend us on that matter is truly rewarding and inspiring. Thank you for the appreciation you gave with regards to the cleanliness of the accommodation in total, we certainly hope to be of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed here one night on a business trip. Booked online at Hotwire and got a tremendous rate. Not an easy place to get to, you have to exit early and go down the access road. Other than that, it was a great place. Was surprised it was so quiet being right on the north side of the airport.

The rooms were well appointed. Large room with a couch and seating area. Nice desk for working, plus it had a refrigerator which was a nice touch. Separate shower and bath. Usually don't see that in mid-range hotels. 32" flat screens were great. Breakfast offerings were good.

Very close to Grapevine Mills Mall, Bass Pro Shops, and the Gaylord Texan. Many nice restaurants all around. Would easily stay here again. Staff was very helpful at check-in.

Room Tip: If you do go to Grapevine Mills, be careful getting back to NOT go south into a great deal of constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

It is with utmost sincerity that we extend our heartfelt gratitude for openly sharing to us your wonderful experience while staying with us. It is our ultimate goal to attend to the needs of our valued guests in the best possible way, so that we may ensure their comfort at all times. Thank you for commending us on the great service we have given you, we also wish to thank you for appreciating the hotel cleanliness and the in room amenities in total. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

I must say that some of the pictures on this review didn't do the hotel justice. The tv's are updated to flatscreens now. Room was very clean and well kept up (yeah, i inspected it). The breakfast area was nice and spacious, very accommadating for our Cowboys fan club. We had 210 come with us and the front desk staff made sure everything was in order. I will definitely stay here again if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerNew901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

The appreciation you have for your great stay in total is precisely what we are striving towards. We want you to come stay with us and leave feeling rested, relaxed and comfortable, in terms of both how you feel about your room and how you feel about the money you spent. We wish to always give you the best service there is to offer. Thank you for all your appreciation for all the hard work we do, and we sincerely look forward to a return visit from you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Unfortunately we found out that their breakfast buffet didn't begin serving until 7AM and our shuttle to the airport was at 6:50AM. A bummer! There was no restaurant in the hotel but the desk was very helpful with menus for meal delivery and recommendations. It only took 10 minutes to get a meal delivered to our door at a very reasonable price. Comfortable king size bed and well stocked bathroom and lots of room to move about including a couch, arm chair and desk with wi-fi. The hotel van took about a half hour to pick us up but did leave promptly the next AM. The elevator was fast so no waiting around.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

It is always a pleasure to receive wonderful praises from our valued guests. We seek to be consistent in terms of providing you with great service, and it inspires us more to hear that you appreciate all our hard work. Thank you for complimenting our hotel amenities and facilities and the helpful staff services during your stay. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We did a "stay, park, fly" for a recent vacation to NY and VA. The room was comfortable and the shuttle to the airport very convenient. We did have a difficult time getting through to the front desk upon our return to get the shuttle back to the hotel. Not sure what was happening but we were not getting an answer to our calls from two different phones.

We did finally get picked up by a van that wasn't very clearly marked with our hotel so we were a bit nervous whether we were going to get to the right place or not. I. The end it was the right bus and our vehicle was waiting where we parked it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CodeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Your satisfaction means a lot to us, and to be able to hear that we have served you well is more than enough to inspire us to work harder than hard to give our valued guests the best service they deserve at all times. Thank you for sharing to us your wonderful experience and it brings us great joy that you appreciated our comfortable room as well as the convenient location. We wish to let you know that the point you raised regarding our shuttle service will surely be put into consideration. Thank you for helping us to further improve by giving us your insightful feedback. We hope to serve you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here overnight from a long overseas flight. Called the hotel for the shuttle and was told he would be there in 20 minutes, if not, call back. We called back. She said he had been there, but had not seen anyone. Informed her, we were there all the time waiting and never saw the shuttle van. Saw lots of other shuttles, but not theirs. She said she would send him back. Turned out to be a shared van and had eight other people in it. Check in was very quick. There is no restaurant close by. A Whataburger is in a Shell station, but you would not want to walk there late at night. The hotel has had some renovation, but needs more. It is outdated. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. No airplane noise. Breakfast was a typical hotel breakfast. Enough to get by on. We have stayed here before and I keep saying I an not going to stay again, but they have a park and fly and it is very reasonable. Convenient to airport. We left the car for sixteen (16) days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredlady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Sometimes you think you are getting a great deal and then all of the peripheral headaches of your decision come to haunt you. Unless you want to wait an hour for the van to pick you up on a late, late weeknight, the savings are not worth it. That is, after you make 4 phone calls to get someone to answer the phone, and once they do, they hang up on you. Not great customer service. The parking was fine and the price was very good, but the service sucked.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas DFW Airport North
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irving - DFW Airport
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Irving / DFW Airport North
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn DFW Airport
Sleep Inn DFW Airport
#45 of 79 in Irving
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North

Address: 4550 W John Carpenter Fwy, Irving, TX 75063-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Irving
Price Range: £62 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have begun a full renovation. We wil have certain areas out of service but will do all we can to see the work does not interfere with any of our valued guests. Work will not start until after 9:30AM and "noisy" work will conclude by 5:00PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites-Dfw North
Holiday Inn Irving
Irving Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing